We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melville Marriott Long Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melville Marriott Long Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
singsongs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

I was hesitant to stay here after reading the other reviews. However, choice is limited in Melville. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were big, in good condition and clean. The lobby area was nice. The temperature of the pool as indicated by others was too hot (but the kids loved it). Of note, the pool area is locked up unless you specifically ask them to open it. The front desk staff were not as friendly as I have come to expect from Marriott. However, they were not rude. The other staff were very nice. The parking seemed a little far until we found a back door entrance. Then not too bad. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    188
    106
    44
    25
See reviews for
185
79
31
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

I've come to expect a lot from the Marriott name, and this facility did not meet my expectations. As many other people have indicated, this is a big facility, which means the majority of the rooms are a long distance from the lobby / parking facilities. The facility has a foul odor, somewhat of a cross between chlorine and a musty basement. I was "fortunate" enough to have a room on the indoor atrium side, and suffered from the noise and odors that others have described.
On the flip side, I cannot complain about the service. The food was definitely passable, although I have become immune to Marriott's high priced menus. The service staff were all friendly.
As someone else wrote, internet access wsa $10+/ day, which seems excessive.
I only wish I had read the reviews prior to booking / arriving at this Marriott. I would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

It's a very clean hotel and my room was very clean - typical of Marriott. The staff were very friendly and helpful - typical of Marriott. However, the hotel was having air conditioning and ventilation problems during my visit. The hallways were uncomforably warm and parts of the Atrium/Lobby area were very warm and humid. The ventilation system in the Atrium/Lobby was very noisy and not typical for a hotel lobby. Fortunately, my room was comfortable and pleasant. The fitness center and indoor swimming pool were excellent and the staff will give you recommended outside walking and jogging paths. The hotel is ready for some updating and some needed maintenance. The nightly coporate rate I paid was was excessive for the value I received. I've paid much less for hotels with a better experience. This had the most negative effect on my rating. I can recommend this hotel, but with caution.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomanydaysontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

They gave away all our reserved & confirmed rooms, made us stay away from our friends, Prevented us from having a celebratory party, Ruined our family's evening & ruined at least 2 bride's wedding nights. The stupidity of the Marriot system allows overbooking even when block rooms are reserved. This is at Marriot's corporate level, that allows overbooking. Some management wiseguy got a raise for this policy and we all got the shaft. Never book any Marriott for a serious affair like a wedding or professional meeting. When you arrive late, your rooms will be given away. Can't say anything positive about a Marriot establishment that tossed us out for no reason except greed! What an insult to the parents and grandparents of the bride. Our family booked this hotel so they could be together afterwards, most of them are 20 minutes away and wasted their money. What a disgrace to be embarrassed in front of family and friends by the Marriot.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DisgustedDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

The desk clerk advised us we had no room and that several other parties that evening were being told the same thing. She sent us to a nearby Hilton and told the Marriott would pay the bill and would throw in breakfast as well for our trouble. Of course when we got to Hilton the desk clerk informed us that the Marriott had been sending people to him all night despite his insistence that there was no account arrangement between the Hilto and the Marriott. We would be on our own for the fee. It became very clear at this point that all the desk clerk at the Marriott wanted to do for us was to get us out their lobby and out of their hair. A horrible experience......never again!!! PS The Hilton was great...they even threw in breakfast

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank electroguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed here to attend a family wedding in the area and it was recommended by the bride. Because of the design of the hotel, with the open atrium over the swimming pool and open concept lobby, etc. all the way up to the 4th floor, the smell of pool chemical was omnipresent. We were given a double room facing onto the atrium, which meant we had no window to the outside, consequently the air smelled canned and there was a constant roar from the atrium's ventilation system. It was actually louder than the hotel we spent a few nights in in Manhattan prior to the wedding. The room was nice enough in an impersonal hotel-chain way, and clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful enough, but I just felt unhealthy from the air quality after a few nights there. Also, internet costs $13 dollars a day! I'm self-employed and had to keep in touch via email and felt this was a horrible gouge as I travel frequently and have never had to pay this much for 'net access. We had trouble with the phone and a staff member attempted to walk into our room at 10:30 pm when we were all in bed - problem had been reported at 9:00 that morning. They gave us two bath towels for 4 people, and we wound up having to smuggle more up from the pool. We enquired about staying another night as our flights had been changed and found that their rate jumped $70 from the pre-paid in advance rate. We didn't stay. If you are going to stay there, at the very least request a room on the other side of the hall from the atrium.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24fps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

Terrible terrible terrible.

That is really the only way I can describe what they did. My sister blocked a set of rooms for all of her wedding guests here. My family reserved rooms 11 months in advance.

At midnight, after a fabulous wedding, we arrived to check in only to find out they gave our rooms away. What is worse, is that the night manager, Hayley Blazley, refused to accept responsibility. She kept saying it wasn't her fault becaue the shift before her did it. Imagine my sister in her wedding dress in tears after finding out her parents, the groom's parents, and my 83 year old grandmother no longer had rooms. We all had confirmation numbers and received e-mails 3 days before the wedding confirming the reservations. Several people in our party checked in early (at 6pm) which is why some of us were lucky enough to have rooms. But the parents were busy with all the wedding duties and they never imagined their rooms would be given away.

The situation was bad, but made so much worse by the night manager's attitude. She kept saying it wasn't her fault. She yelled at my sister and told us, when we were rightfully upset, that if we didn't talk nice to her she wouldn't help us. She then made reservations at a hotel a few miles away, but got those wrong as well and put my parents and grandma in a smoking room with 1 bed.

I went back later that night to get her name, and when I told her that her attitude was inacceptable, she told me she was not going to talk to me and walked away from the counter, leaving my parents there with no one to help them get a cab to the other hotel.

The manager on duty in the morning tried to blame it all on the computer booking system. I told her that we all understand things can go wrong, but that the attitude of the night manager was UNACCEPTABLE no matter what the reason. I explained that as someone who works in customer service, it is the job of the person in charge to take responsibility and make things right. She actually told me "that is your opinion" and went on -again- to say that none of it was her fault and I shouldn't be mad at her. I told her that she should have been apologetic to my sister, told her to go to her room and enjoy the rest of the night while she took care of everything. What she SHOULD NOT have done was give my sister and the rest of my family an attitude.

I should also mention, right after my sister left, another bride came in. All 9 of the rooms she had reserved were also unavailable - including hers. Can you imagine the suite the bride and groom had reserved being taken away on their wedding night?

I will never give this establishment any business again. A bad situation was made so much worse by the incompetence and unprofessionalism of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
7.2 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton
Four Points by Sheraton
#3 of 6 in Plainview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Marriott Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Marriott Long Island

Property: Melville Marriott Long Island
Address: 1350 Walt Whitman Rd, Melville, NY 11747-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melville Marriott Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melville Marriott Long Island greets you with sophisticated hotel accommodations and thoughtful amenities, designed to make you feel at home while you're in the Huntington area. Whether you're here for business or on vacation, you'll love our atrium lobby and our renovated Great Room and M-Club Lounge. Stylish hotel rooms and suites boast enhanced high-speed Internet, plush bedding, and premium THANN bath products. Other perks for your Woodbury-area hotel stay include an indoor pool, a fitness center, and delicious on-site dining at Bistro 49 restaurant. Follow your dinner with a nightcap at the striking Great Room Lounge, or order room service. Those planning events here in Melville will be delighted with our 20,000 square feet of meeting space; we offer professional planning and catering services, as well as close proximity to several airports, making us an ideal hotel location for meetings and wedding receptions. Let the Melville Marriott Long Island make your Huntington visit an unparalleled success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Melville Marriott Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Marriott Long Island Hotel Melville
Marriott Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing