We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Marriott Long Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I've come to expect a lot from the Marriott name, and this facility did not meet my expectations. As many other people have indicated, this is a big facility, which means the majority of the rooms are a long distance from the lobby / parking facilities. The facility has a foul odor, somewhat of a cross between chlorine and a musty basement. I was "fortunate" enough to have a room on the indoor atrium side, and suffered from the noise and odors that others have described.
On the flip side, I cannot complain about the service. The food was definitely passable, although I have become immune to Marriott's high priced menus. The service staff were all friendly.
As someone else wrote, internet access wsa $10+/ day, which seems excessive.
I only wish I had read the reviews prior to booking / arriving at this Marriott. I would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    201
    114
    47
    30
See reviews for
200
83
32
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

It's a very clean hotel and my room was very clean - typical of Marriott. The staff were very friendly and helpful - typical of Marriott. However, the hotel was having air conditioning and ventilation problems during my visit. The hallways were uncomforably warm and parts of the Atrium/Lobby area were very warm and humid. The ventilation system in the Atrium/Lobby was very noisy and not typical for a hotel lobby. Fortunately, my room was comfortable and pleasant. The fitness center and indoor swimming pool were excellent and the staff will give you recommended outside walking and jogging paths. The hotel is ready for some updating and some needed maintenance. The nightly coporate rate I paid was was excessive for the value I received. I've paid much less for hotels with a better experience. This had the most negative effect on my rating. I can recommend this hotel, but with caution.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomanydaysontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

They gave away all our reserved & confirmed rooms, made us stay away from our friends, Prevented us from having a celebratory party, Ruined our family's evening & ruined at least 2 bride's wedding nights. The stupidity of the Marriot system allows overbooking even when block rooms are reserved. This is at Marriot's corporate level, that allows overbooking. Some management wiseguy got a raise for this policy and we all got the shaft. Never book any Marriott for a serious affair like a wedding or professional meeting. When you arrive late, your rooms will be given away. Can't say anything positive about a Marriot establishment that tossed us out for no reason except greed! What an insult to the parents and grandparents of the bride. Our family booked this hotel so they could be together afterwards, most of them are 20 minutes away and wasted their money. What a disgrace to be embarrassed in front of family and friends by the Marriot.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DisgustedDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The desk clerk advised us we had no room and that several other parties that evening were being told the same thing. She sent us to a nearby Hilton and told the Marriott would pay the bill and would throw in breakfast as well for our trouble. Of course when we got to Hilton the desk clerk informed us that the Marriott had been sending people to him all night despite his insistence that there was no account arrangement between the Hilto and the Marriott. We would be on our own for the fee. It became very clear at this point that all the desk clerk at the Marriott wanted to do for us was to get us out their lobby and out of their hair. A horrible experience......never again!!! PS The Hilton was great...they even threw in breakfast

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank electroguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed here to attend a family wedding in the area and it was recommended by the bride. Because of the design of the hotel, with the open atrium over the swimming pool and open concept lobby, etc. all the way up to the 4th floor, the smell of pool chemical was omnipresent. We were given a double room facing onto the atrium, which meant we had no window to the outside, consequently the air smelled canned and there was a constant roar from the atrium's ventilation system. It was actually louder than the hotel we spent a few nights in in Manhattan prior to the wedding. The room was nice enough in an impersonal hotel-chain way, and clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful enough, but I just felt unhealthy from the air quality after a few nights there. Also, internet costs $13 dollars a day! I'm self-employed and had to keep in touch via email and felt this was a horrible gouge as I travel frequently and have never had to pay this much for 'net access. We had trouble with the phone and a staff member attempted to walk into our room at 10:30 pm when we were all in bed - problem had been reported at 9:00 that morning. They gave us two bath towels for 4 people, and we wound up having to smuggle more up from the pool. We enquired about staying another night as our flights had been changed and found that their rate jumped $70 from the pre-paid in advance rate. We didn't stay. If you are going to stay there, at the very least request a room on the other side of the hall from the atrium.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24fps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Terrible terrible terrible.

That is really the only way I can describe what they did. My sister blocked a set of rooms for all of her wedding guests here. My family reserved rooms 11 months in advance.

At midnight, after a fabulous wedding, we arrived to check in only to find out they gave our rooms away. What is worse, is that the night manager, Hayley Blazley, refused to accept responsibility. She kept saying it wasn't her fault becaue the shift before her did it. Imagine my sister in her wedding dress in tears after finding out her parents, the groom's parents, and my 83 year old grandmother no longer had rooms. We all had confirmation numbers and received e-mails 3 days before the wedding confirming the reservations. Several people in our party checked in early (at 6pm) which is why some of us were lucky enough to have rooms. But the parents were busy with all the wedding duties and they never imagined their rooms would be given away.

The situation was bad, but made so much worse by the night manager's attitude. She kept saying it wasn't her fault. She yelled at my sister and told us, when we were rightfully upset, that if we didn't talk nice to her she wouldn't help us. She then made reservations at a hotel a few miles away, but got those wrong as well and put my parents and grandma in a smoking room with 1 bed.

I went back later that night to get her name, and when I told her that her attitude was inacceptable, she told me she was not going to talk to me and walked away from the counter, leaving my parents there with no one to help them get a cab to the other hotel.

The manager on duty in the morning tried to blame it all on the computer booking system. I told her that we all understand things can go wrong, but that the attitude of the night manager was UNACCEPTABLE no matter what the reason. I explained that as someone who works in customer service, it is the job of the person in charge to take responsibility and make things right. She actually told me "that is your opinion" and went on -again- to say that none of it was her fault and I shouldn't be mad at her. I told her that she should have been apologetic to my sister, told her to go to her room and enjoy the rest of the night while she took care of everything. What she SHOULD NOT have done was give my sister and the rest of my family an attitude.

I should also mention, right after my sister left, another bride came in. All 9 of the rooms she had reserved were also unavailable - including hers. Can you imagine the suite the bride and groom had reserved being taken away on their wedding night?

I will never give this establishment any business again. A bad situation was made so much worse by the incompetence and unprofessionalism of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pa.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This hotel is very nice and I would recommend it for everyone. After reading the other reviews, I came to the realization that some people just complain for the sake of complaining. Check in was a breeze, the room was clean and decorated nicely. The bathroom had granite vanity top and extra wide shower curtain that extends out a little for extra room and both were very clean. Room service was quick and we received exactly what we ordered and expected. The price of the hotel and cost of food is typical of other hotels, no more/no less. I think our bill came to 150.00 for the night, w/food. The pool area was nice, our kids had fun.....And ahhhh the bed. I loved their bed and bedding. It was comfortable, had soft linens that were so white they looked new. The comforter was soft and plush. The bed was absolutely the highlight of the room. My only complaint is that we couldn't find the hotel at first. There were no signs for it up on the main road. Our GPS was saying that we were on top of it, but still couldn't find it. We called the hotel and they weren't very good at telling us how to get there which I thought was odd. But we found it and yes we were right on top of it, just on the other side of the office complex. Had to laugh because we were looking for a stand alone hotel, not one located in an office park.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynch162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.4 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
13.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Marriott Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Marriott Long Island

Property: Melville Marriott Long Island
Address: 1350 Walt Whitman Road, Melville, NY 11747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melville Marriott Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Marriott Long Island offers sophisticated accommodations and thoughtful amenities, for business and leisure travel in the Huntington area. Our Melville hotel's location is close to several major airports, making us a perfect destinations for weddings and meetings. Near us, you'll find many things to do in Huntington and Woodbury, including attending a concert at NYCB Theatre at Westbury and visiting the Long Island Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Marriott Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Marriott Long Island Hotel Melville
Marriott Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing