We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Hotel Inside and Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Marriott Long Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Many times when you visit a hotel little things are wrong with the room. At this hotel everything was perfect we asked for a firm mattress and we got one. The room where spacious and modern. The glass sliding door serves as a window to the inside of the hotel which is covered by a glass roof that gives you the feeling of being outside while being inside. You can walk along the inside walkway and outside hallway of your room. Really cool. Pool is on the main floor around the side complete with walls for privacy. The food was good also. The lighting was too bright in the dining room for dinner but that was a small point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringChicken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 773 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for a night for a business meeting. Very much a business location, but worked well as such. Staff was over the top friendly, in a good way. Room was spotless, if not fancy. Dinner at the small restaurant was very good. Parking was easy. As Marriott gold, WiFi was free, and there was a good free breakfast in the concierge lounge.

If I'm in Melville on business again I'll stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTheL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at the Melville Mariott one night for business. My company rented out salons for business purposes the next day. The room I stayed in looked nice, and the king size bed was very comfortable. But the bathroom shower faucet fell off when I was taking a shower. It took 3 calls for someone to come. Water was flowing. They were apologetic and offered me a room discount. I was surprised that this would happen at a Mariott brand hotel. I also love swimming and the pool was not at all like the photo. BUT, the food was excellent! The food that was catered for my event was well done, and tasted great. I ordered a dinner that was terrific. The waiter that night, who I want to acknowledge was great. His name is Carlos Ramirez and he was courteous and friendly. Thank you Carlos. You made up for the bathroom at the Mariott!! Would I stay there again? Yes, I would just check my faucet in the bathroom first!

Room Tip: For a quiet room avoid any room near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FemaleProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Good Day FemaleProfessor,

Thank you for your kind words about Carlos, he is truly an asset and we are lucky to have him. I am glad to see we met all your needs for your business meeting. I am very sorry you had trouble with the shower in your guest room, I am glad we were able to accommodate you.

Looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is not worth for the price we paid. There was no breakfast and no free wifi. Food was very expensive. Staff were very nice. Location is calm and quite. High priced rooms. I stayed there for 1 day for business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Sydney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Greetings Mr. Sydney,

I am certainly disappointed that we did not meet your expectations while staying with us for business travel. As a full service Marriott there is a charge for internet but it is complimentary for our Gold and Platinum Elite members. We do have a wonderful breakfast buffet with all the trimmings available in our Bistro daily for a fee.
We understand you have preferences when you travel and we would like you to continue to stay with the Marriott brand, some of our limited service options offer the free wifi and complimentary breakfast that are more inline with your preferences while staying on business.
We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed one night for a club event.This is the third year for this event at this hotel.Hotel is clean and has a good business location. But overall hotel needs a renovation. Elevators doors bathtubs etc show lots of wear and tear. We have a group lunch and dinner dance the food is terrible.They need a chef. Most Long Islanders our foodies, this hotel not on y list.

Room Tip: Ok for a overnight stay.Find restaurants in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threesecons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Good Day threesecons,

We thank you for taking the time to submit feedback of our hotel. We have taken your feedback for the hotel and are looking into ways we can improve the overall experience.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great staff, really fantastic staff.
Rooms are tired, but clean and spacious, did I mention the great staff.
Fun bar area.
Awful food, pretty consistently bad, breakfast is worse than dinner.
Not my first or last stay here, but the food has not been good.
Would rate the hotel lower, but the staff really are good

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Vapochilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Good Day Vapochilled,

What wonderful comments you have made about our staff. It is great to see where we excel and where we have room for improvements. We have share your concerns with our Executive Chef and are looking into ideas that will create a better food and dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have been staying on and off at this property for the past 5 years. They had a complete staff change about 2 years ago and the new staff is awesome. Everyone has a smile and everyone is very helpful. If you can get on the 4th floor and have access to concierge lounge you will pleasantly surprised as it the best one I have ever been to at a Marriott. There is a young lady that runs it in the morning and she is the best of the best. If you need more juice or coffee she gets it for you. The rooms are very clean but you need to hunt for plug-ins at the desk for phones or computers etc.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Greetings Louis320,

As a seasoned traveler it is great to hear that we are among the best you have experienced in terms of service. Karina and Patrick in the Concierge Lounge, in the morning make a great team and we are lucky to have them.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.4 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
13.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
855 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Marriott Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Marriott Long Island

Address: 1350 Walt Whitman Road, Melville, NY 11747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range: $187 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melville Marriott Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Marriott Long Island offers sophisticated accommodations and thoughtful amenities, for business and leisure travel in the Huntington area. Our Melville hotel's location is close to several major airports, making us a perfect destinations for weddings and meetings. Near us, you'll find many things to do in Huntington and Woodbury, including attending a concert at NYCB Theatre at Westbury and visiting the Long Island Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Melville Marriott Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Marriott Long Island Hotel Melville
Marriott Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing