We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, in need of some updates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Marriott Long Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, in need of some updates”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

From the moment you drive up to the hotel, the employees greet you and are very helpful. The people working the front desk greeted us every time we went by. They offer free shuttle service around the area, which can be helpful due to the major road construction taking place nearby.
After almost a week there, I had forgotten which way I parked the car. The young man at the door offered to drive me around to find the car, which I thought was very nice.
The rooms were a bit small, especially the bathroom. There were no ventilation fans in the bathroom either. Our room was clean though, and the housekeeping staff was very good about replacing toiletries and towels. The rooms did not block out the noises in the hallways, unfortunately. Some people were yelling in the halls in the middle of the night, which is rude in itself, but the doors did nothing to keep the noise out.
I did notice in some of the outside areas, where the smokers go, were very messy. There were ashtrays overflowing and glasses and bottles left behind. I don't smoke, but wanted to sit outside to read since the weather was beautiful. The only 2 benches were in that smokers area. What a shame it was so uncared for.
Did not dine in the restaurant or bar, but did go to the concierge lounge. The woman working there was very pleasant and did an excellent job of filling things in and replacing coffee urns, etc.
The central location and proximity to the highways make this hotel very convenient. I hope Marriott will spend some money updating this hotel, it has potential.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces outside as opposed to facing the atrium, which can be very echoey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
ivyw,

It is great to hear wonderful comments about our staff service! Thank you for taking the time to recognize our front desk, housekeeping and concierge lounge staff, it means the world to us to know that we are making a difference!

You have pointed out some great areas of improvement that we are looking into.
We look forward to your return with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    200
    113
    47
    29
See reviews for
198
82
32
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place when I am in Melville, NY - close to all of my accounts. Hallways need some freshening up - Concierge Lounge needs help - snacks tast like them came from Costco. Room Service needs better food; you are better off going to the bar - sandwiches were tasteless and not as described.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsabatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear JSabatini,

Welcome Back to the Melville Marriott! We are thankful you have chosen to stay and review our hotel again. We continually try and improve our product to create a better experience for our guests. Thank you for your feedback of your food experiences, we are looking for ways to provide a better product for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent 10 days at this property for business. Keep in mind that it was in the peak of wedding season (April-June) so the reader has to consider this when reading my review.

Overall the staff is EXCELLENT! Marriot always strives to provide exceptional service and this hotel definitely lives up to Marriott’s reputation. From a formal greeting to a genuine concern for your comfort, this property’s staff gets HIGHEST marks for hospitality.

The property itself is in need of a face-lift. The property is a bit dated, although I have to say I saw a number of maintenance staff working hard on improvements and general upkeep.

I have read several comments about small bathroom and such, but I think overall my room was well maintained and I found the bathroom to be more than adequate.

The greatest drawback to this property is the open foyer that stretches the entire length of the building. It is glass enclosed, includes the pool area, and is VERY loud when there are parties or events. If you are a light sleeper, request a room in the back section of the building, but beware the serenade of slamming doors. I can’t say this is an issue with the property, more of the clientele. Again, if you are a light sleeper, you may wish to consider another hotel. At this Marriott you will hear each and every door as the occupant enters or exits the room because all the doors slam shut. If this is not a concern, you will LOVE this property.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room in the back section of the building. If slamming doors b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good Day Dave L,

We certainly welcome your feedback of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to provide your review and thank you for the very kind words about our staff service. We strive to ensure our guests are well taken care of and I am glad we were able to provide you with such great service. Your suggestions for our future guests will be most beneficial. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Always seemed that someone from staff was in the lobby to greet and be helpful. Hotel overrun with teen boy for a sports competition. The elevators were fast and always available. Grounds well maintained and romm was clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Greetings nrktraveler,

We thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is great to know that our staff service has exceeded your expectations and were available to help when needed.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at Melville Marriott on business for a week and I must say I was very impressed by the service the entire staff - everyone from concierge, front desk, room service, and bar gave above and beyond customer service which is why I rated a 4-star. The room and hotel though is very dated. I would only recommend this hotel if you do not mind a dated hotel.

PROS:
- Great Customer Service.
- Beds are Super Comfortable.
- Shuttle will take you virtually anywhere. (within reason, of course)
- Nearby train to take you into the city. Cab ride is only $8 back to the hotel if you come back late.
- Mall nearby.

CONS:
- Incredibly dated rooms.
- Had to switch rooms because of a leaky AC but was quickly accommodated.
- WiFi was not free.
- Rooms had very limited cell service. I could only get service if I held my phone in a certain area of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room. You do not want a room facing inside courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Linda H,
We are grateful you chose the Melville Marriott as your home away from home while conducting business on Long Island. We know you have many choices and we appreciate the opportunity to serve you.
We will be sure to share your comments of our great staff service in the Bar, Room Service, Concierge Lounge and Front Desk with our team. Your tips and pros and cons will be very useful to our future travelers.
We welcome to opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding and it was a pretty typical Marriott stay. The staff was friendly in our limited interaction with them. The rooms were clean, and the lobby was friendly and lively for most of the hours.

The bedding was quite comfortable and the showers had very strong water pressure. However, there were 2 negatives during our stay. The first being parking...it can be limited if there is an event (or multiple events) going on at the hotel, so you should be aware of that. However, there is parking in the back of the hotel and a second entrance in the rear of the building that requires a room key card to enter.

The second being, when we requested a roll of toilet paper, the front desk didn't have any and they said housekeeping would bring it. Unfortunately, housekeeping never provided it after a few hours and I was forced to just grab one off of one housekeepers cart. That is something that shouldn't happen at a Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Greetings GNRMatt,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Melville Marriott Long Island. We appreciate you for taking the time to provide your feedback of our hotel.

I am glad the staff and rooms met the expectations you have of the Marriott Brand. I certainly apologize for the issues you experienced with the housekeeping staff and I am grateful you were able to provide some tidbits for future guests in regards to our parking.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good location just off the LIE in Melville. Like most Marriotts, it is well-kept. The rooms are good sized and clean, plenty of pillows. The hotel staff regarding the rooms are excellent.

Important note: WiFi is $12.95 a day, if you need it. If traveling on business, who doesn't?

One oddity,as shown in the photo, is that the control panel in the elevator is on the left hand side. Everyone went to the right first.

Since there were no eating establishments in walking distance, unless you wanted to take the shuttle or had a car, you pretty much just had the hotel. Lunch and dinner were pretty good, albeit a tad overpriced, as is typical for a hotel. Breakfast was below par. They really want you to opt for the breakfast buffet, which had a reasonable amount of selections, but was, at best, average, but cost $17. The coffee was about three out of five stars, I might have a second cup, but wasn't all that good. Service was minimal.

Overall, it was a pretty good experience, I will stay there again, but there are limitations.

Room Tip: Have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Manager at Melville Marriott Long Island, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the comments you have made about our hotel and staff, lhraffe. It was our pleasure to host you on your trip to Long Island. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and insight into our hotel. We look forward to making your next stay with us even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.4 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Long Island - Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
3.9 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Marriott Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Marriott Long Island

Property: Melville Marriott Long Island
Address: 1350 Walt Whitman Road, Melville, NY 11747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melville Marriott Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Marriott Long Island offers sophisticated accommodations and thoughtful amenities, for business and leisure travel in the Huntington area. Our Melville hotel's location is close to several major airports, making us a perfect destinations for weddings and meetings. Near us, you'll find many things to do in Huntington and Woodbury, including attending a concert at NYCB Theatre at Westbury and visiting the Long Island Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Marriott Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Marriott Long Island Hotel Melville
Marriott Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing