We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anybody with kids (and a wallet) should visit in the fall”
Review of White Post Farms

White Post Farms
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: White Post Farms is the number one attraction for kids and adults on Long Island, New York! We have a one-of-a-kind animal farm and petting zoo along with two massive bird aviaries where you can feed & observe beautiful parakeets, lorikeets, budgies cockatiels & love birds. We have pony rides, train rides, bouncers, playground equipment and the list goes on and on! Make sure to stop by and take a “selfie” with our sweet baby giraffe, Patches! We also offer spectacular children’s birthday parties in beautiful, renovated party rooms. You will have a hostess run the entire party for you and each child will get a pony ride, feed the animals on the animal farm. Each guest will also get to hold & pet a baby animal and feed the goats & sheep with baby bottles. White Post Farms assures you & your family an unforgettable birthday party for your special one!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“anybody with kids (and a wallet) should visit in the fall”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The price is the only downside to visiting white Post Farms. It's a great Halloween tradition - the fun can't be beat for the kids. The lines are long and the price is prohibitive for some, but the kids smiles make it all worth while.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    68
    15
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great in fall”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Alittle bit of everythimg. Animals,pumpkin picking, hayrides, plants and flowers, pony rides, well run

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Place for Kids”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great place to take the kids and grandkids to feed the animals there. They will scream with delight and have the time of their lives. Only problem we have each time going there is trying to get the kids to leave, hahaha.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank speednuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend a day”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took my toddler niece here on a very hot day and lots of people had the same idea. Despite the crowds we had a great time and she loved the little train ride. There was plenty for her to do and we didn't even do the water slides or the bouncers. She was asleep before we even got to the car! Everyone we met was very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WayOuterBorough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Fun Day Out, Not Too Crowded but bring CASH”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

On Monday (a school holiday) we took our 6 year old twins to White Post Farms. I had seen the commercials and had heard about it but had never been as it's about 30 minutes from our house and there are other farms near us. However, this was truly a playland. Tons of baby animals to feed, include little lambs and goats that were just learning to stand. Plus even baby pigs and cows, zebras and camels.
There was a wooden play area for young children, big bouncer slides (4) and then another play area for bigger kids with a wooden pirate ship, boat, and monster truck.
We went during "Princess and Pirate" weekend so each child received a tiara and pirate hat, plus there was a Pirate show where at the end the children got to help find the treasure.
We also did the hayride (which was included) and a pony ride and train ride (which were extra).

We spent a few hours there and had a lovely time.
I did think it was a little expensive, $14 plus tax for all of us (which included access to the bouncers). Also, they only accept cash (though there is an ATM on site, it does charge $3 for a withdrawal). I would suggest bringing a cooler for lunch to save $$. There were picnic tables located throughout the farm.
One thing that I didn't like is that the bouncers are in sand and children have to take off their shoes but keep on their socks so things get a bit messy pretty quickly (my daughter didn't want to go barefoot because the sand was hot).
And the hay ride was not on actual hay though it did go through a nice corn field.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Post Farms also viewed

Old Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to White Post Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing