We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Docks

Docks
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Mayville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Strongsville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Keeping in mind this is a small town with limited restaurant choices, I would still say the food was very good. The service was great and the menu items are not too expensive. It was under
$ 50 for two people to eat dinner, tip included. I had some of the best breaded shrimp I have ever eaten. They have an all you can eat crab legs special for $ 29 but this was too pricy for us. Tip: Don't confuse The Docks with the diner/bar next door by the same owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Perch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Four of us meet in Mayville every September and try the restaurants in the area. We were not disappointed this week with Docks - all of us had fresh perch for the main course and it was magnificent, lightly pan fried with very little batter. Lots of fish and baked potato which was very tasty indeed. Our server was very accommodating and keen to make sure we all enjoyed ourselves. Apparently the perch is delivered whole and the chef fillets and de ones it. If you like perch this is the restaurant for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boffin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“That Down Home Feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Docks has a good variety of fresh seafood and fresh water fish. I had the trout and my husband had the garlic and ginger haddock. Both were cooked perfectly and very tasty. My trout featured their special rub with crispy skin a succulent flesh. My husband greatly enjoyed the haddock, though I didn't taste it. The salad was a bit watery with large pieces of iceberg lettuce, crispy, razor thin carrot slices, cucumber and tomatoes. I would have preferred less lettuce and a few more of the locally grown cherry tomatoes, but that's me. The waitress was wonderful even though she was taking care of a large party as well as at least two other tables which all seemed to be at the same meal stage. We did not avail ourselves of the "all you can eat crab legs" but it was tempting. Docks has a great view of Lake Chautauqua across the street. And has locally made folk art items for sale.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An Must Stop While in the Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Kinda funky, usually with music playing, this is a must stop for us because of the "all the king crab you can eat" on the menu. And while my wife is diligently cracking crabs, I have a pretty good (not great) steak. It's fun sitting on the porch, overlooking Lake Chautauqua.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
163 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Most AMAZING Seafood & waitresses at Chautauqua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I had lemon pepper haddock and I had scallops. It was the best we had ever had! Connie was our waitress - the most polite, warm, efficient and attentive I've ever had.

We were so impressed we told our friends about it and the "all you can eat" crab legs sign on the road as we left. My party of 9 returned the next day at lunch for all you can eat crab legs only to be told it was dinner only! we left but came back at dinner. Our waitress this time was Bonnie (Connie's twin sister) and she was equally outstanding. As a Road Warrior, I have developed high restaurant standards and both the waitresses (Bonnie AND Connie) and the food was EXCEPTIONAL!!! Only problem was the slow kitchen that produced the legs every 15 not every 8 minutes. GREAT TIME was had by all!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank By C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Docks also viewed

Mayville, Chautauqua County
 
Mayville, Chautauqua County
Mayville, Chautauqua County
 
Mayville, Chautauqua County
Mayville, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Docks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing