We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to Spend an Afternoon”

Chautauqua Belle Steamboat
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend an Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful scenery. Belle arrives and departs promptly. Informative narrative. Relaxing, enjoyable way to spend the day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    9
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unreliable schedule, poor communication spoil a great attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Once you are on the paddlewheeler, the sightseeing tour of Chautauqua Lake is relaxing and the commentary is informative and entertaining. Getting on the boat is the problem. We tried on 3 consecutive days to board the boat. The first day, the 12, 2 or 4 pm excursions were no-shows. When we called to inquire about the schedule, the young man knew nothing about the situation. The next day, we went to the dock again, and the boat arrived, but the captain could not dock. On a sunny day on a quiet lake in NYS, so he just sailed away with about 24 of us, including families with young children standing on the dock. The third day we showed up again, and it was again a no-show. A lifeguard at the adjacent beach said it happens all the time, and phone calls are futile. Such a poor way to run a business that has great potential to be 5 stars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Giambracarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Waiting on the dock and watching her come up the shoreline was such a treat...but getting on board was the real thrill.
Views were magnificent. They run a pre recording history of the area so that you don't miss anything - Great Stuff! The captain will stop the tape and add comments or just make sure they are at the right place at the right time.

Beverages and snacks are served. Maybe sandwiches???? Didn't pay attention to that.
It was a great introduction to a great weekend on Chautauqua!

We picked up the cruise in Mayville but you can get on or off at Chautauqua for not extra charge. They also run specialty cruises - we saw them with a boatfull down at the southern end of the lake the next afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank db_victorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took our kids out for a trip on the Belle and it was a great way to spend the afternoon. This is a replica of the old steamships that used to frequent the lake years ago. We learned some interesting history about the area as well on the ride. If you are looking for fun thing to do with the family on a summer day, this is a good option.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetorelax52
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sooo Rude!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Drove like a maniac to get to Mayville on time to ride the Chautauqua Belle at 11 AM. Got there and only a few people were waiting at the dock and one lady tried to ask the guy on the boat a question and he yelled at her and was rude. Then when he got off the boat we were starting to ask him a question when a bus pulled in. We asked if we were going to get on the boat with a bus of people and he said yes, but we would have to be on the bottom deck. No thanks...it's basically a walk way on the bottom with chairs against the wall and people would walk right in front of you. So we asked when the next one would leave and he said 1 PM but there is a bus load coming for that one too. I got annoyed and said, the website said they don't take reservations. I called and got the automated response. He said for groups over 20 they do. I said it would have been nice to know and started to walk away saying I wasn't going if I had to sit on the bottom deck and he yelled "Sorry I ruined you day!" very rudely! So.......even though the Summerwind in Celeron has said you have to make reservations, we drove over there and asked and was told yes, we could get on the boat. We bought a ticket, which was cheaper than the Belle, got on the boat, on the second floor, had a wonderful friendly captain and wonderful 1 1/2 hour cruise on the lake. Never will head to Chautauqua Belle again only to be greeted by a rude, unfriendly person!!!! We are so glad we ended up on the Summerwind instead!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetorelax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chautauqua Belle Steamboat also viewed

Chautauqua, Chautauqua County
 
Bemus Point, Chautauqua County
Panama, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Chautauqua Belle Steamboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing