We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go To Place for Family Celebrations”

Lanzi's On The Lake
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Mayfield
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Lanzi Family Welcomes you to Lanzi's on the Lake!The best waterfront view on the Great Sacandaga Lake - Lanzi's is successfully run by three generations of the Lanzi Family. A warm ambiance greets diners as they enter the primary dining area boasting high ceilings and natural wood with an outstanding vista of the Great Sacandaga Lake. The bank of dining room windows leads to an outdoor deck which seats 135 guests - affording them all a spectacular view of the Sacandaga.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Go To Place for Family Celebrations”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for 12 on a Sunday afternoon to celebrate my dad's birthday. We were able to get a table on the deck. The views of the lake were awesome. Our waitress was excellent! We chose items from the light menu and food was fresh and reasonable priced. We had little ones with us and they enjoyed playing on the lawn before and after dinner. We visit Lanzi's at least once a year for large family celebrations and are never disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth E, Public Relations Manager at Lanzi's On The Lake, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank-you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We go every summer to Lanzi's and have a good time, but always come away hoping for better food the next time...The salads are mediocre, the main dishes...better, but not great. For example, the prime rib, kind of gray and fatty, but definitely edible. The salmon, ok. Get the picture? It's a lovely location, on the lake. Sit inside or out. Great bar. We'll be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigershark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Summer or Winter”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Panoramic location on Great Sacandaga Lake. In the winter you can sit by the cozy fireplace and watch the snowmobiles race by. In summer you can dine on the deck observing the boats cruise. Every time we are west of Saratoga, we stop at Lanzi's. Great menu for lunch or Dinner, and service is extremely friendly. We always feel welcome by owner and staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth E, Public Relations Manager at Lanzi's On The Lake, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank-you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Flawed, but better than expected”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were so leery of trying Lanzi's, which had been recommended to us by a restaurant guy, that we opted to pop in for cocktails and apps only and see for ourselves. Our leeriness was from too many mediocre and worse reviews found on this very web site. While not exactly outstanding, we had an enjoyable experience, and would definitely return. Our Tuesday evening, mid-summer visit found the place only 1/3 full, with most everyone enjoying al fresco dining on a cool summer's evening.

We paid very close attention to the waitress service, and while our server was just fine, we noticed that overall service was a bit slow and a bit uneven. One couple sitting across from us had to push their waitress to speed things up a bit as they had arrive via watercraft, and needed to be on their way before total darkness set in. They weren't being fussy; they just weren't being attended to very well.

We enjoyed a summer seasonal beer, a cocktail, and shared the Firecracker Shrimp and Lanzi's version of nachos (San Antonio Chips, I believe they were called). Both were good, with the shrimp especially good (and spicy).

So, I imagine we'll be back next summer (we have a Camp on a nearby lake), and may even be brave enough to try a burger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkyKingBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A fantastic late summer afternoon”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We often go to Lanzi's when we are in the area. We knew we would have a crowd on this particular day so we called a couple of days ahead. We had a perfect table with a serene view of the docks and lake beyond. As expected on a perfect summer evening, the place was hopping, but our service and food did not suffer for it. Wait staff were pleasant, knowledgable, prompt. Drinks and menus appeared quickly. Appetizers were hot and well prepared. Dinner portions were large and obviously made to order. There were 10 of us and our entrees ran the gamut of the menu, but no one was unhappy and many brought home leftovers. Desserts were varied, my tiramisu was excellent. We spent about 2.5 hours at a prime table and never felt rushed. I love this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth E, Public Relations Manager at Lanzi's On The Lake, responded to this review, July 31, 2015
Thank-you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanzi's On The Lake also viewed

 

Been to Lanzi's On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing