We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Shinny Place To Stay...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Shinny Place To Stay...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Wouldn't recommend this place at all. We were down for a wedding and the bride was also staying with us. The owner made us feel like we were not welcome at all. I will say the place is beautiful and food was good, but beware of the owner...we actually left early on our second day without eating breakfast because he made us feel totally uncomfortable. Please do your research...Owners, please wake up...you have great potential, but maybe need meds to chill out? Try not yelling at the bride to be next time...isn't it really here weekend to be made special? Enough said...hoping people will trust this review...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    31
    6
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
141
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

This was the last stop on a 4 winery tour that consisted of a wonderful tasting at Roanoke Vineyards, and two nightmares at Castello di Borghese & Macari. I make mention of this because when we arrived we were a frustrated group of 14 and everyone decided it would be better to buy bottles and sit down and have a drink.
We got there, they had a place for our group to sit (+1), they were friendly (+1), they accomadated us past the 5 PM closing time (+1), and the wine was good (+2). This was actually the highlight of the trip even though everyone loved the barrel tasting at Roanoke (we couldn't buy their futures). The net result was that Shinn sold us a few extra cases of wine.

The only negative was that they told me to park out on the road when there was space for us and later they allowed a few limos were in their lot (-1).

I cannot say anything about the B&B because we didn't have anything to do with it. The owners are a little wierd but not in a bad way, they just have a passion for what they do (NYC restaurant, LI B&B, LI Winery) and not much time for anything else.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvivona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

I would recommend going to the vineyard here, but not staying at the hotel. (I would suggest the Greenporter hotel instead). The owners are not very nice- it feels like you are intruding in their house - just a vibe I got there. It seemed like they were not so thrilled to have us around. There are better hotels in better locations for the $$$.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTrav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

a nice one night getaway......hassle free............a super tie-in to the wine tasting.... and the farm atmosphere........and all that's generally tranquil

thank you

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aries2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

We stayed here for a long early fall weekend and really enjoyed ourselves despite the gruff nature of the owners. Actually, Barbara is very pleasant but David seems to regard the inn portion of their business as a necessary evil to help keep the grapes growing. Nevertheless, the man is a helluva cook and puts together some great breakfasts, including something along the lines of a duck hash with chopped pork belly/bacon, topped with a duck egg. My wife and I still talk about it a year and a half later. Afternoon wine and cheese is a nice touch, the location of the inn is very relaxing and close enough to the other vineyards. Rooms are nicely appointed, bathrooms are very clean and modern. Price is definitely high, so not sure the value is there, but it doesn't seem to be overpriced compared to similar accomodations in the area.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

First it took us 20 minutes to check in because the owners were working in their tasting room. When we went in to say we were checked in we were curtly told to wait outside and someone would be with us shortly. Next breakfast is served at 9 or 9:30 - I can't remember which - we asked if we could eat earlier as we were sailing w/ friends and told absolutely not. I would say for a mediocre place (great location though) the owners step up the service because it just is not worth the money. We stayed there last summer but I was just searching for a new place to stay this summer out there and decided to write of my experience.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisak1Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

Do agree with other reviews that Page is not the most welcoming host but the wines and location are well worth the visit. Walls in the rooms are very thin though and our rooms "private" bathroom was not en-suite but across the public hall.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billem63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
11.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
10.7 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Duncan Inn
The Duncan Inn
#1 of 1 in Jamesport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
11.1 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinn Estate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Property: Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Address: 2000 Oregon Rd, Mattituck, NY 11952-1762
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinn Estate Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Shinn Estate Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinn Estate Farmhouse Mattituck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing