We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Princeton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't go anywhere else!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in several places on the North Fork, and this is hands-down the best. The farmhouse is elegantly restored, the breakfasts (by David Paige, made from local ingredients) are a delight, and the vineyard/winery are among the best on the North Fork--and biodynamic, to boot. The property is also located away from the hustle & bustle, on a serene stretch of Oregon Rd. You won't hear any noise at all out here--except for some muffled chicken vocalizing in the morning--but you're not far off the main winery route. Tours of the vineyard and winery are illuminating, and the tasting room has been beautifully expanded. There's also complimentary wine and cheese late in the afternoon. I wouldn't stay anywhere else (we've now returned 4-5 times)! Vineyard West is the most private, quietest room. Restaurants: we think the North Fork Table & Inn is the best restaurant our here. They have a lunch truck, too, in the restaurant parking lot . Be sure not to miss Bedell!

Room Tip: Vineyard West is the most private, quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    33
    6
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
144
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Everything was clean and beautiful. The rooms are sparse but that was fine with me. Our bathroom was across the hall and I was afraid of using it at night because you had to pull the door to close it and I was afraid of waking up other guests. Aside from that it was a beautiful stay. Breakfast was great and their table red wine was delicious.

Room Tip: Our room had the bathroom across the hall. Everything was clean and beautiful but I was afraid of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Spent two nights at Shinn Farmhouse and couldn't be happier with service, accommodations and food. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and different from the usual humdrum bacon and eggs, french toast, pancakes, etc. Smoothies, scones, fritattas, wonderful breakfast risotto and the wine and cheese in afternoon easily held us over until dinner. All ingredients are grown at Shinn or local farms. The eggs come from their chickens.
Tasting room staff very friendly and accommodating, not to mention the great wines, of which we're very fond.

Room Tip: The porch room is lovely but a bit dark; the floor above it is creaky,but didn't prevent us from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone Township, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I along with my parents stayed at Shinn to celebrate our anniversaries. The rooms were not clean to our standards, I myself had to clear out cobwebs and kill spiders. The owners did NOT make themselves readily available at all, we could not even find a wine opener nor were we given a contact number if we have any problems or needed anything during our stay.
As far as breakfast goes, well what a MAJOR disappointment. We had to ask more than once for coffee and when asked for dietary restrictions both my mother and I explained that we were allergic to eggs. The breakfast served was in fact eggs on Saturday am and we were not given another option. When we asked the "chef" David who is also the owner if we could possibly have something in place if the eggs Sunday am he rudely told us "this is not a restaurant".
The TV in our room did not work properly and the owner told us that she looked into it but they didn't subscribe to all the channels, which had nothing to do with the fact that we couldn't get television service for more than 5 consecutive minutes.
Needless to say during our next visit to the North Fork will we not be staying at the Shinn Estate largely in part to the aloof, non accommodating ways of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West hartford
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a great find! The home was clean and set off the beaten track! The zenlike feel you have when in any part of the home was amazing! The nook for tasting the home like feel and the breakfast were all top sellers! We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The wines are great... the reds and whites all have character... the ambiance of the seating area is intimate and the staff is super-friendly... the appetizers are amazing... the salami was worth it and help cleanse the palettes well... service was the best and the sunset are amazing... or so I have been told... Great place... a must visit for wine lovers

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alucard827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Great B&B and Winery. Special place and talented owners. Ditto on all the 5 star reviews. Just surprised we were told the self guided tour was not permitted on weekends!
Must be some conflict between the wine business on weekends and the B&B guests.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
12.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
188 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
547 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
11.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
5.3 mi away
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinn Estate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Property: Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Address: 2000 Oregon Rd, Mattituck, NY 11952-1762
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinn Estate Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Shinn Estate Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinn Estate Farmhouse Mattituck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing