We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite spot on the north fork”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite spot on the north fork”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We love Shinn! We've been going there for our anniversary for the past 3 years and it never fails to impress. Beautiful rooms, stunning farm, lovely wines, delicious breakfast and charming hosts! Our favorite room is vineyard west. We love their wine so much, we served it at our wedding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czb_313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    33
    6
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
144
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Serene location and lovely accommodations. We were the only guests on a Tuesday night so it was very quiet and private. Delicious breakfast. Nice stroll through the vineyard. Beautiful chicken coop.
Fabulous wine tasting on the afternoon of our arrival. Lovely hosts and staff. I hope to return someday. (Note: off season it is hard to find restaurants for dinner. Plan accordingly.)

Room Tip: We had the patio room - large bathroom with shower (only). Views of sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our stay was an anniversary gift from our kids who know we love wine and a peaceful, natural setting, They chose wisely, This was our first trip to Long Island wine country so we took out time getting there and stopped at several wineries before arriving at the Shinn farmhouse. We were stunned by the vineyard's natural beauty and the restoration of the house. We received a warm welcome and got a taste of their delicious wines. Jamie in the tasting room was a delightful and enthusiastic ambassador and Barbara Shinn, the vineyard's proprietress was warm and welcoming. Service throughout our stay was phenomenal, both solicitous yet reserved so as not to be overbearing. Our questions and curiosity were welcomed. Even the family dog was playful and fun! Breakfast was a 4 star event not to be missed.

The world is full of new places we've not yet visited but the Shinn family vineyard is one we'll return to. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We received a weekend stay as a gift from our daughter and son-in-law, who had stayed at the Farmhouse in the middle of winter and still loved it.

We had a beautiful April weekend with interesting guests and the most gracious hosts and staff, excellent room and breakfast, with wine tasting and tour of vineyard included. Everyone should have this experience, it was a perfect weekend!

Room Tip: We got to see all the rooms and thought they were all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nstein94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nestled in the beautiful North Fork vineyard, Shinn Estate Farmhouse was the perfect weekend getaway. My husband and I have been here many times for wine tastings and three times for their Futures Dinner, but this was our first stay in the Farmhouse. The accommodations were pristine and modern yet cozy. The service was top-rate and everyone was super friendly and professional. There was a bottle of wine and cheese platter in the common room for all of the guests to enjoy upon our arrival and we made new friends with other guests as we shared afternoon food and drink! The breakfast prepared by chef and vineyard co-owner, David Page, was spectacular. The eggs were so fresh because they were from the chickens that live on the vineyard farm! The orange-cranberry scones were delicious and we loved the potato hash with duck. We received a complimentary tasting of four wines, which we enjoyed after checking out and before heading home. I highly recommend Wild Boar Doe and Nine Barrels for anyone who appreciates excellent red wine. I love that their grapes are farmed organically and biodynamically and that they respect nature in their craft. The solar panels and wind turbine are further evidence that they take caring for our planet seriously. If you have a chance to stay here during your trip to the North Fork, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the West Vineyard room and felt that it was very private (a bit farther back from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash121681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visiting the Shinn Estate Farmhouse is truly a magical experience. From a walk in the vineyard, to incredible wine in the tasting room, to accomodations that were clean, comfortable, and charming, each element of the estate is relaxing and enjoyable! Cannot wait to book our next getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in Vineyard West-Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City South, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The farmhouse is beautiful, comfortable, unpretentious. Barbara was a graceful host. he breakfast was a culinary treat and the wine superb. The surrounding farm made you really feel in the country but with a modern touch. would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
10.7 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
12.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
184 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
511 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinn Estate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Property: Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Address: 2000 Oregon Rd, Mattituck, NY 11952-1762
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinn Estate Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Shinn Estate Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinn Estate Farmhouse Mattituck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing