We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My stay at Shinn exceeded my expectations. The estate is well groomed, Barbara's staff is very courteous and accommodating. The room we stayed in was well appointed, the breakfast AMAZING, especially with Barbara herself serving it and describing the local ingredients she used to prepare it!

Make time for the tasting and do the vineyard walk, too. Barbara has constant energy and passion in describing the sustainability of the farm. As a city person, it's important to reconnect with the land and I am more educated for the experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    33
    6
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I visted Shinn last week for one night- an Anniversary getaway. It was really wonderful and we can't wait to return. We started our visit with a tasting in the barn- which was really lovely, then we were personally brought to our room and given a tour of the farmhouse/B&B. The room was clean, well decorated and serene (Tree House Room). We enjoyed the homemade cookies left for us and the wine and cheese reception on the front porch. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful- it started with fruit, granola and yogurt, then we were served griddles banana bread, fresh fruit smoothies, and and egg,veggie and goat cheese frittata. Everything was really great- the staff and owner were gracious and welcoming, as well as their dog Panda. My only complaint is that the chickens woke me up in the morning with their clucking- but we should have shut the window and turnied the A/C on. We can't wait to return!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Shinn Estate Farmhouse Inn for two nights in June. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, with a clean, warm feel. The Inn felt very private as well, with the guest rooms in a separate wing of the house. The setting was excellent, away from the main auto arteries on the North Fork (thus quiet) and very rural and calming. The towns, farms and wineries on the North Fork were in easy driving/biking distance. My only complaint would be the room rates, but I would not say they are significantly overpriced taking into account other equivalent options, location and quality/comfort level.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at Shinn and were very impressed. They pay great attention to all of the details that many B & Bs overlook. Everything from the homemade cookies to the cheese and crackers to the delicious breakfast, was perfect. Also, the price was very reasonable for the East End, and the setting was beautiful. The perfect spot for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcauleys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We went on Sunday & Monday nights for basically a getaway for a couple of days. It was as quiet and relaxing as can be! The room was fine with a great bathroom. The only things that were negative was the cable did not work on all the channels and the room on our floor that didn't have bathroom in it. The people staying there had a tendacy to use the bathroom together and we heard everything! The wine at Shinn was great as usual and the wine tasting at other wineries was almost as good.

Room Tip: no bad choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

By the time we arrived at Shinn Estate we had already spent a whirlwind 13 days in Manhattan and Washington DC (and had drived from JFK!) so by the time we arrived we were ready to relax and slow down. We found the right place.
From the moment you walk in the farmhouse feels friendly and inviting.
We stayed in the treehouse room with a great view of the chickens - which do provide for hours of amusement!
David's breakfasts were absolutely divine, and meant we never needed lunch! Barbara was really friendly and kind, always offering up interesting suggestions for places to see. Barbara very helpfully organised us onto a winery tour the next day, which was wonderful. She is also a really interesting person to talk to if you're interested in the vineyard and their practices. We really appreciated the time she took to take us on a tour of the vineyard, what they have done and created at Shinn is very special indeed.
There is nothing I could fault with Shinn Estate, the room was lovely and always immaculately serviced, and surprisingly considering it is a farmhouse the rooms were warm and cozy - which considering the -2 degree celcius weather was needed!
It is a farmhouse and there are only 4 rooms, so when people are coming and going there is some noise, but we found everyone we met at Shinn Estate were friendly and considerate. If you're not keen on having to talk to strangers over wine and cheese in the evening or breakfast in the morning then perhaps its not the place for you, but we actually really enjoyed meeting new people and we got some good tips off the other guests on places to see as well.
We absolutely loved our stay at Shinn Estate and we look forward to coming back! Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisslisOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I like to visit the Northfork a few times a year but this was the first time we were able to stay at Shinn Estate. The staff was friendly, the rooms beautiful and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area. My one and only critique is that the breakfast is served at only one specific time. I would be nice to have a time frame in which to come down to breakfast rather than being told the one time it will be served. I know that this is a small establishment where everyone works on the farm, vineyard or tasting room but taking a vacation should allow for a little leisure. But that is only a small criticism. I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
10.7 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
12.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
183 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
487 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
11.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinn Estate Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinn Estate Farmhouse

Property: Shinn Estate Farmhouse
Address: 2000 Oregon Rd, Mattituck, NY 11952-1762
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinn Estate Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Shinn Estate Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinn Estate Farmhouse Mattituck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing