We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine grown sustainably”

Shinn Estate Vineyards
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Mattituck
Attraction details
Exeter, RI
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great wine grown sustainably”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Top local producers of great wines in the North Fork area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Horlbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    4
    6
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much more than a tasting!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Barbara Shinn gives a wonderful winemakers walk, once a day every Saturday. Suffice to say she is lovely, knowledgeable and gives a great tour. Includes the price of the tasting and is well worth every cent!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garytwnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really good wine and beautiful tasting room here.”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This vineyard's tasting room stands out and their wines are well worth the small detour up North from the main road. I would especially recommend this stop if you are coming on a day with poor weather as their tasting room is exceptionally nice. Their 2009 Pinot Blanc was one of our two favorite wines.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adventures0fAandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We got a tasting because we stayed over. Really good wines, we ended up buying the 2008 Estate Merlot and the 2010 Chardonay. Try the Shinn Shine, just don't smell it first

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cruise the vineyards of the North Fork of Long Island!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Our son goes to university on Long Island, and for 4 years, I've been telling my husband, 'we've gotta visit some of the vineyards before he graduates!' Well, senior year is here and we finally did some research, got a map and started our treasure hunt.
Just pick a fair weather weekend-- it doesn't have to be fall or warm, and discover some new vintages.. In general, we found the NYT reviews reliable, but at the end of the day, it depends on what you are looking for. Some vineyards go for groups, limos & DJ's [perhaps to offset the mediocre wine], whereas others - notably the VERY understated Waters Crest in a tiny strip mall [Cutchogue] not only has several 'best in class' wines, but sells to the St. Regis [NYC] - outstanding!
Some vineyards have the most lovely interiors, high beamed ceilings, natural wood western-style construction [Martha Clara] selling all manner of wine-related products. This vineyard has a wide selection of wines of moderate quality.
Lenz Winery [Peconic] is worth a look - beautiful setting and relaxing environment.
We were disappointed in Vineyard 48, but perhaps the media hype ramped our expectations unfairly.
Shinn Estate [Mattituck], on the other hand, has a gorgeous fermenting room with huge brushed metal vats and long tables where you can taste amongst the equipment looking out onto the regimented rows of grapevines. Shinn has several delightful wines across the spectrum - Red, Rose & White. Their most unique offering is 'Coalescence' , a white wine made of red grapes. It is delightful not only as a cold, crisp summer wine, but also as an aperitif - not very sweet, but crisp and slightly soft at the same time.
Perhaps the opposite end of the spectrum in terms of scale of operation and geography is One Woman Winery [Southold] not far from the Orient Pt Ferry. Tastings are held in a simple [kind of intimate] red cabin, and in fine weather under a scrap of a canopy or out on the lawn. Charming and rustic, but not a huge selection. Go for the reds, and try to pay cash as the wireless coverage is spotty at best.
We spent about 45 -90 min at each vineyard and had no trouble hitting six places in one day!
If you're looking to give someone a unique holiday gift, take them for a weekend ride to a few of the Long Island Vineyards. There are a couple on the South Fork that looked interesting, but we ran out of time - and the designated driver was getting woozy....
If you can't make the trip visit them online and assemble a special selection of wines for a family member or friend and you will be the toast of the party!
Cheers!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinn Estate Vineyards also viewed

 
Cutchogue, North Fork
Southold, North Fork
 

Been to Shinn Estate Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing