We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mattituck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar House on Sound B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Incredible Weekend”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Dave and Donna made our stay at Cedar House on Sound so unbelievably amazing. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were greeted warmly by Dave and Donna and their beautiful children. We were surprised to see how modern and comfortable the Bed and Breakfast was. This is definitely not your grandmother's B&B!! The rooms are so nice and very relaxing--we wanted to take the bed home as a souvenir! We loved that there was plenty of space throughout the venue--we had a chance to play pool, relax and sip wine outside at the fire pit, and then just sit and listen to music in the living room. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast created by the lovely couple and they were very accommodating when it came to any food allergies/requests. We had such a fun time and we cannot wait to come back. Everyone should always stay at Cedar House on Sound and be sure to tell Dave "Go Giants!"
Thanks for everything!
Sean & Corinne

Room Tip: Splurge on the Master Suite...it's totally worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
155
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Perrin's are terrific hosts! They were helpful, flexible and made terrific breakfasts for each morning of our stay. I already can't wait for our next stay when we are back in wine country. Dave and Lauren

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked our trip to Cedar House on Sound based on a friend's recommendation, and we're glad we took her advice! Dave warmly greeted us at check-in and within minutes we knew that we were in a very special place. As attractive as Cedar House is on the outside, it is even more so inside. It was obvious that great care and thought went into the design of the space and each room was beautifully decorated. Dave encouraged us to take advantage of all the B&B has to offer: great room with a pool table, large screen TV, comfortable furniture, books and music, refrigerator and freezer for personal use and the ability to use the bar. We enjoyed sitting on the outdoor patio at night, drinking wine by the fire pit and admiring the beautiful vineyards and full moon. Our lovely black and white toile covered bed was turned down for us with chocolates on our pillows-a sweet treat to end our perfect day touring some of the wineries that Dave had recommended. We slept soundly on a comfy bed covered in silky luxurious sheets and pillows. Another treat awaited us in the morning, Dave's gourmet breakfast. Dave had taken time to ask us about our food preferences at check-in so that he could prepare foods that we would enjoy, and enjoy we did! Dave and Donna have put a lot of heart and soul into Cedar House and it shows with their gracious hospitality and attention to detail. We look forward to visiting Cedar House again and thank you both for sharing yourselves and your home with us. Susan & Kevin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you so much to Dave, Donna and the rest of the cedar house staff for the most amazing wedding weekend. The best breakfasts, most comfortable beds, and absolutely perfect setting, the cedar house has it all! Love these guys and this place.
Meg and pete

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phuszagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our visit to Cedar House was very enjoyable and comfortable, confirming the fact that we made the right choice in where to stay while visiting the North Fork.
Dave and Donna have taken pride in their B&B and it shows from the welcoming decor, well thought out activities, comfortable bed, a delicious and hearty breakfast.
Their enthusiasm is noticeable from the time you arrive, shown to your room, served breakfast and wave good bye; their motto "arrive as guests and leave as friends" was spot on and if we could we would have taken their wonderful dog, Heidi home with us... she is the perfect mascot for Cedar House.
The kitchen/dining area is "family style" where Dave prepares breakfast while you watch (if you would like) as if you are watching a cooking show on t.v., you may sit at your own table or with friends.. it's up to you.
The Great Room is complete with a pool table, board games, large television, library and movies to select from.... soft music plays in the background. Having a fire on the back patio lit for your return from an evening out was a nice touch and the accessibility to the wine bar was an added bonus.
We look forward to another visit in the future and recommend Cedar House as a place to stay for singles, couples and families.
It is definitely not your grandma's B&B ... it is set up to entertain you and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Dave and Donna really thought things out well - if you're looking for a romantic getaway, you can find it here (even though I was with my best girlfriend, we could imagine how it could certainly be romantic). Or if you want to have a fun time with a bunch of friends, Cedar House can be that place, too. Not easy to accomplish both!

Dave is super friendly and enthusiastic about the place. Whether we asked about the wineries, a hike/walk, or restaurants, the answers and care was above and beyond. It's more than JUST a B&B. His recommendations were great!

So was the driver he hooked us up with, Dan (the Man). For a great rate, we were driven around North Fork which cleared our minds with planning. Also, Dan had fantastic suggestions of his own, and even knew of places that were open past 5pm (on a Monday).

The breakfast was delicious, the board games fun, the bed SUPER comfortable. We will return.

Oh - and the water pressure fantastic.

Room Tip: We were in the smallest room but I still loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wonderful place to stay, great breakfasts. Dave and Donna are wonderful hosts and made our stay (which was our second time) memorable. I highly recommend Cedar House to anyone who wants a place to stay on the North Fork.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
15.0 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
184 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
9.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
2.8 mi away
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Duncan Inn
The Duncan Inn
#1 of 1 in Jamesport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House on Sound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House on Sound B&B

Property: Cedar House on Sound B&B
Address: 4850 Sound Ave, Mattituck, NY 11952-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House isn’t your ordinary B&B. We’ve worked to create an environment that’s fresh and contemporary, yet totally in tune with the area’s rustic beauty. We offer relaxation and comfort in an authentic but thoroughly modern setting, with polished hardwood floors, local art, unique amenities, and furniture and fixtures that reflect the colors and forms of Tuscany.This is more than just a place to sleep and eat – although you’ll do both very well here. We aim to take simple hospitality to the next level and provide you with exactly the kind of getaway you desire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing