We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Forks Premier B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar House on Sound B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“North Forks Premier B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you so much to Dave, Donna and the rest of the cedar house staff for the most amazing wedding weekend. The best breakfasts, most comfortable beds, and absolutely perfect setting, the cedar house has it all! Love these guys and this place.
Meg and pete

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phuszagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
152
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our visit to Cedar House was very enjoyable and comfortable, confirming the fact that we made the right choice in where to stay while visiting the North Fork.
Dave and Donna have taken pride in their B&B and it shows from the welcoming decor, well thought out activities, comfortable bed, a delicious and hearty breakfast.
Their enthusiasm is noticeable from the time you arrive, shown to your room, served breakfast and wave good bye; their motto "arrive as guests and leave as friends" was spot on and if we could we would have taken their wonderful dog, Heidi home with us... she is the perfect mascot for Cedar House.
The kitchen/dining area is "family style" where Dave prepares breakfast while you watch (if you would like) as if you are watching a cooking show on t.v., you may sit at your own table or with friends.. it's up to you.
The Great Room is complete with a pool table, board games, large television, library and movies to select from.... soft music plays in the background. Having a fire on the back patio lit for your return from an evening out was a nice touch and the accessibility to the wine bar was an added bonus.
We look forward to another visit in the future and recommend Cedar House as a place to stay for singles, couples and families.
It is definitely not your grandma's B&B ... it is set up to entertain you and make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Dave and Donna really thought things out well - if you're looking for a romantic getaway, you can find it here (even though I was with my best girlfriend, we could imagine how it could certainly be romantic). Or if you want to have a fun time with a bunch of friends, Cedar House can be that place, too. Not easy to accomplish both!

Dave is super friendly and enthusiastic about the place. Whether we asked about the wineries, a hike/walk, or restaurants, the answers and care was above and beyond. It's more than JUST a B&B. His recommendations were great!

So was the driver he hooked us up with, Dan (the Man). For a great rate, we were driven around North Fork which cleared our minds with planning. Also, Dan had fantastic suggestions of his own, and even knew of places that were open past 5pm (on a Monday).

The breakfast was delicious, the board games fun, the bed SUPER comfortable. We will return.

Oh - and the water pressure fantastic.

Room Tip: We were in the smallest room but I still loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wonderful place to stay, great breakfasts. Dave and Donna are wonderful hosts and made our stay (which was our second time) memorable. I highly recommend Cedar House to anyone who wants a place to stay on the North Fork.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My daughter and I had a wonderful visit. The Cedar House is a wonderful place for a wine tasting weekend. Dave (our host) helped us with recommendations to get the most out of the limited time we had. The beach is close and the pool table in the common room is great fun. This B&B would be a great location for a family reunion or a girls getaway. Outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 214Vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is beautiful! The house is spotless, new everything and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I will definitely stay here again. The owners were awesome, nicest people ever. It felt like we were visiting a relatives house. I would recommend this place to anyone! We had a great time and will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nlevin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham Manor, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This lovely B & B was immaculate. The place is beautiful, quiet and very charming. WE had an amazing breakfast and our hosts could not have been more friendly. My husband and I jhad a wonderful night sleep in the comfortable bed and we loved sitting in the yard drinking wine overlooking the vineyard. Each room has its own unique decor with a shared lving space with a pool table, tv and sitting area. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineB914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
9.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
13.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Duncan Inn
The Duncan Inn
#1 of 1 in Jamesport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.7 mi away
North Fork Guest House
North Fork Guest House
#1 of 8 in Cutchogue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House on Sound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House on Sound B&B

Property: Cedar House on Sound B&B
Address: 4850 Sound Ave, Mattituck, NY 11952-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House isn’t your ordinary B&B. We’ve worked to create an environment that’s fresh and contemporary, yet totally in tune with the area’s rustic beauty. We offer relaxation and comfort in an authentic but thoroughly modern setting, with polished hardwood floors, local art, unique amenities, and furniture and fixtures that reflect the colors and forms of Tuscany.This is more than just a place to sleep and eat – although you’ll do both very well here. We aim to take simple hospitality to the next level and provide you with exactly the kind of getaway you desire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing