We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar House on Sound B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mattituck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar House on Sound B&B
Save
You added Cedar House on Sound B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Mattituck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“The perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A great place to spend the weekend with a few friends or a significant other! The B&B is conveniently located to all of the best vineyards the North Fork has to offer, and Dave and Donna are extremely gracious hosts. They are very knowledgeable about the area and gave us great suggestions for places to go. I would absolutely recommend Cedar House!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkf1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
145
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Perfect place for a fun weekend of wine tasting. Dave and Donna are wonderful hosts, very warm and welcoming and make a fantastic breakfast. The B&B is clean and cosy with all modern amenities you could possibly want. Dave did a wine tasting at night of his wines and encourages guests to socialize together. Also they are very knowledgable about the surrounding vineyards and provide tons of discounts for tastings.
Overall lovely getaway from the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEllis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Dave and his staff were extraordinarily welcoming throughout our stay, also accommodating our last minute reservation and late arrival without a blink. The place is spacious, rustic, clean, a unique blend of farm and winery, refreshingly unpretentious. Breakfast was generous, hearty and truly creative. We had a great time and certainly made the right choice for our spontaneous mid-week getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanowitsch212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Dave and Donna and the enitre staff (Heidi included) made our "Minimoon" experience unforgettable. From the quality of the rooms (modern and spacious) to helping us out with any reservations or requests, they really apply their knowledge of the hospitality business and truly love what they do. And they love applying a "Food Network" quality to breakfast, adjusting for food allergies or restrictions: multigrain french toast with berry-mint reduction, twice-baked potato with peppers, spinach, cheese, and poached eggs, and poached eggs on smokey portabello mushrooms with sweet and regular potato medley (these are just the ones we tried). Hanging out in the living room with wine and good company is a nice way of winding down after dining out. And to those concerned with the noise coming from these gatherings, we're pretty sure that's nothing that can't be dealt with by asking politely to respect your rest.
Anyway, this is NOT a fake review, we had a wonderful time and we would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upstatephysics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband received a gift certficate to Cedar House for his 60th birthday from his children. Not knowing what to expect, we headed out for a two night stay during the week. What a pleasant surprise! We were greeted by Dave and immediately felt at home. Our first afternoon there consisted of a long walk and a bottle of wine from the Cedar House vineyard. Our room was private, comfortable, clean, and perfect! We enjoyed shooting pool in the great room, the fabulous breakfasts that Dave prepared, with help from Rick the manager, and the wine tasting that turned into a party. We enjoyed being greeted by Heidi, the dog on our returns to Cedar House. All in all, it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to turning this into an annual event!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was spending a couple of days exploring the East End with my boyfriend, and I wanted to bring him somewhere special once we reached the North Fork. Everyone that I knew living nearby recommended, hands down, that we stay at Ceder House.

It was probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

The house, a renovated old barn, is absolutely stunning. But it's as functional as it is beautiful. In the common area there is a pool table, a pub table and large comfortable couches. Our room was spotless and very large, despite being only the mid-size option, with a king sized bed and brand new bathroom. Outside there is a fire pit and chairs, which apparently are open to the guests, although we didn't make use of them.

Being located on Scarola Vineyards, we had a fantastic view of the fields from our room. Included was a wine tasting and vineyard tour, and we also received a discount card for use at local wineries and other places. A delicious home-cooked breakfast was served in kitchen area.

Dave and Donna were knowledgeable, friendly and inviting. They were outstanding hosts and really made us feel at home. This is not your traditional B&B. It was an exciting and fun stay that felt more like a getaway home away from home than anything else. I can't wait to come back again.

If I could give Cedar House ten stars, I would. Don't hesitate to book here, it's an outstanding value.

Room Tip: The vineyard suites are on the distant end of the house near the outdoor area and pool table, and aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband & I enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay to celebrate our 25th anniversary in wine country. Cedar House was beyond fantastic; new, spotless, spacious, beautiful rooms, awesome woodwork, fine decor, comfortable great room with a pool table, cozy wine tasting room with an outdoor fire pit, complimentary wine tasting at 6:30, fabulous two-course breakfast, a very homey atmosphere. Donna made great suggestions of wineries to visit & helped plan our day, giving us a discount card to use almost everywhere we went. David arranged for our dinner reservations at a local restaurant, Amanos, and made one of the best breakfasts I have ever had, twice baked potatoes with a hint of sausage, baked with a medley of cheeses, topped with poached eggs.. David & Donna's hospitality was outstanding; they are warm and friendly,truly made us feel at home. We most certainly will go back to Cedar House again & again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattituck
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
15.0 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
13.2 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
11.7 mi away
Sound View Inn
Sound View Inn
#2 of 7 in Greenport
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House on Sound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House on Sound B&B

Property: Cedar House on Sound B&B
Address: 4850 Sound Ave, Mattituck, NY 11952-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Mattituck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mattituck
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House isn’t your ordinary B&B. We’ve worked to create an environment that’s fresh and contemporary, yet totally in tune with the area’s rustic beauty. We offer relaxation and comfort in an authentic but thoroughly modern setting, with polished hardwood floors, local art, unique amenities, and furniture and fixtures that reflect the colors and forms of Tuscany.This is more than just a place to sleep and eat – although you’ll do both very well here. We aim to take simple hospitality to the next level and provide you with exactly the kind of getaway you desire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing