We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway”
Review of Super 8 Massena NY

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Massena NY
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Massena
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    94
    75
    17
    11
See reviews for
119
41
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JEFFERSONVILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We found the motel to be friendly, clean, quiet very accessable. The staff were very friendly and helpful . I would definately stay at one again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank MARGUERITE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUEENSBURY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fine visit -Internet was troublesome getting on. Breakfast could have more choices. Staff was very helpful and room was clean and quite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank johnkeithh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was a quick overnight family trip. We'd never been to Massena before but found it to be a lovely city with friendly people and will return to see more of the sights. The hotel was easy to find, right off the main route into town and across the street from a small mall with grocery and clothing stores and near a drug stores. The room was clean, did not smell of smoke, bedding in good condition, bathroom small but adequate and very clean with lots of hot water for showers in the morning. The staff was very friendly both at the desk and those working in the morning. There is a small breakfast room and it was adequate with coffee, juice, yogurt, bagels and cereal. There were no tables so we brought our breakfast back to our room. It was better than we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We needed a one night stay for a cross border shopping trip and in this area there arent a lot of hotels -- lots of camping type places though.
First issue was with the website. When searching for rates there is a box you can click for "senior " "AARP" " military " etc but what happened was when you clicked on one of these rates the display changed from super 8 Massena to another completely different hotel. Then when we actually had a one night rate at the hotel we wanted and clicked on " book " we got a page that said we had a 8 night booking starting that very day. Easy to end up with a non-ref booking at a incorrect hotel if you are not fully attentive. So we booked by phone with a man on another continent and the e mail confirmation we asked for never came. So, we e mailed customer service and they e mailed a confirmation -- but the price quote was wrong.
Super 8 has all this hype about being super friendly. It was a cheap, poor lobby with an OK checkin person. Our room was clean and neat. Problem however was that when anyone along our corridor closed their door the bed and whole room shook like we'd had a earthquake. Then people checked in the room above us. From 11pm on as they walked around it sounded like a load of elephants banging broomhandles on the floor. Oh, I nearly forgot --- 11.18 pm train noises as if it was coming through the room. More train horns in the morning too.
Bathroom was clean but there was an issue with the toilet === somehow it wasn't completely secured to the floor --- when you flushed water ran out between the toilet and floor tiles.
Breakfast had a make your own waffle machine, yoghurt, cereal , and usual coloured jelly that never saw fruit to spread on bread.
By checkout we'd decided that it had served it's purpose as a clean place to sleep but we'd go somewhere else next time so we said nothing to the person on checkout --- not that he had time to do anything . He was checking people out , answering the phone and putting people on hold all at the same time as he had too much to do and no-one to assist.
As far as location this place is fine --- on Rte 37 , close to downtown, the Walmart Superstore, a giant Home Depot, Walgreens and a restaurant I haven't seen in years -- Ponderosa Steak House.
Oh, we had a frig and microwave which was useful till bedtime --- the frig was so noisy we unplugged it overnight

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Massena hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
358 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Check-in was friendly and fast.

All hallways smelled of smoke however our smoke free room was indeed smoke free.

The rooms were clean, small but functional.

Motel is getting a bit rough around the edges.

We went to the Coaches Corner sports bar for dinner - great food at very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massena
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Massena
97 reviews
12.4 mi away
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Potsdam Inn
Potsdam Inn
#3 of 5 in Potsdam
56 reviews
10.3 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
169 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Massena NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Massena NY

Property: Super 8 Massena NY
Address: 84 Grove St, Massena, NY 13662-2167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Massena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Massena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Massena NY 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Massena NY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Massena Hotel Massena
Super Eight Massena
Massena Super 8
Massena Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing