We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ponderosa - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ponderosa
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Small lunch buffet but food was very good and very reasonably priced..$10/person including drinks, tip and taxes. Fresh salad fixings and small dessert station. Hostess/greeter was friendly and patient for us first timers. Waitress was very friendly, helpful and efficient.
Having to reach across hot food to reach 2nd container of hot food could be a safety issue.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5Joe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nothing to Write Home About !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

As you arrive in the parking lot you cannot help but think the place is looking "a little tired" with a bunch of shingles missing from the roof. The buffet was the usual array of food - not great but filling!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hougan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average Ponderosa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is an average Ponderosa, just what you would expect. We don't have Ponderosa's near us so while in Massena decided to go. Buffet is good with a little bit of everything. The steak was good, cooked right. Really didn't need the steak though, plenty on the buffet for a complete meal

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthspin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my first and will be my only Ponderosa experience. You walk in and must immediately order you meal with the hostess/cashier. Sounds simple enough but not of you have not been to one before and there is a line up. My daughter had the buffet and ate warm buns, salad & ice cream as she found the rest of the food "yucky" - her words not mine. My husband ordered a steak and the buffet - he ate chicken wings & salad while he waited for his steak ( that came with a side of grey mushrooms). I originally ordered the buffet but quickly, on impulse, changed to the cheese burger with the buffet and was glad I did. The burger was just OK and the buffet was terrible except for the buns and salad. Most things on the buffet were processed and over cooked from sitting fro so long. Think gummy pasta, brown broccoli, instant mashed potatoes, greasy soup and cheap buffet fillers.

I will say the service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamjennybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not up to standards.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have visited other Ponderosa restaurants in NY, this is by far the worst. Very limited selection of food, worn-out wait staff. Try the one in Potsdam (just 18 miles away) it is by far much better. Cleaner, well maintained & great selections to choose from.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa also viewed

Massena, St. Lawrence County
Massena, St. Lawrence County
 
Massena, St. Lawrence County
 
Massena, St. Lawrence County
Massena, St. Lawrence County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing