We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Good Life

The Good Life
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Once again, I am glad I went. I have ordered something different every time I've been here, and have yet to be disappointed. The ever changing draft choices are fantastic. Our waitress was great, very attentive and sweet. Fun atmosphere, friendly service. The Good Life is Good Times!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drknite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent beer selection, with a menu that doesn't disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been here several times, most recently just this past weekend with a group of girlfriends for dinner/drinks. The wait for our table was just about 2 hours on Friday night. Good thing the beers that they have on tap are really awesome.... As mentioned by others, it does get very crowded but I think that's just testimony to how good the place is. In addition to the fantastic beer selection, the menu is simple yet varied enough to satisfy when you are looking for gastro pub style food. They tput a unique spin on familiar dishes so the choices are comfortable yet different at the same time. Good for groups of friends or a casual night out. The bar was just as packed at 12:00am as it was at 8:00pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TPalm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“You could do much better elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Food was poor. Ordered sheperds' pie which was served in a soup bowl. In the bowl were a few small pieces of beef swimming in a watery gravy with small diced potatoes and some vegetables with cheese on top. 100% Awful!. Wife's burger was fine. The drinks are overpriced for a casual pub.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great local meeting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Good Life is a local bar/restaurant that has an amazing assortment of beers and affordable meals that are very good. Having moved back to the Massapequa Park area, my daughter and I looked for a place where the dining was good and the prices reasonable. The Good Life met that criteria very well. The menu is varied and the sandwich /burger options are inexpensive and delicious. For example, the Good Life burger comes with bacon jam which is a concoction of chopped bacon that is absolutely yummy. Each of these selections comes with a choice of a house salad ( delicious with balsamic vinaigrette, Gorgonzola cheese, and chopped walnuts on field greens), sweet potato tots or french fries. The Asian burger is a turkey burger with an Asian twist and is very popular. The beverage selection is varied, and the house wines are quite good. The restaurant has outdoor dining in the warmer weather but you must come early to get a seat there. On weekends, the bar and restaurant are very crowded and you may have a longish wait. The wait staff is friendly and the service is prompt and attentive. A great local eatery!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susangill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Piece of The Isles on The Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I and my husband ate there recently. I have to say the the was just OK, but maybe we just missed with our selection. Make sure to come after 4pm, otherwise you won't be able to order some of the main entrees. The atmosphere was great and the decor made us feel like we were back in Great Britain all over again. One last though: parking can be a problem, since I do not believe they have their own parking lot, and you'll have to park either on a street or the nearby municipal parking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karo_Bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Good Life also viewed

Massapequa Park, Long Island
Massapequa Park, Long Island
 
Massapequa Park, Long Island
Wantagh, Long Island
 
Massapequa Park, Long Island
Massapequa Park, Long Island
 

Been to The Good Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing