We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corner Galley

Corner Galley
Ranked #20 of 111 Restaurants in Massapequa
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Corner Galley has been serving Massapequa and the surrounding area for over 30 years. People that know us know that we work hard to make things nice and fresh. We are well known for good food, great value and great atmosphere. Some of our proven customer favorites are our burgers and chicken and steak melts, six different styles of mussels and our Galley Wings. We still offer free soda and salad with every lunch and dinner entree'. For those 21 and over we offer a free pitcher of beer or carafe of wine with refills costing $1 with every lunch and dinner entree'. We welcome families and large groups and we have several different party plans for any occasion.
massapequa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and I went to this restaurant for mine and my husbands anniversary. It was extremely disappointing and sad. The service wasn't great and the food had no flavor. Everything was either to greasy or very bland. The bathroom situation was just sad. This restaurant has been here for years and I guess they don't understand how to age gracefully. Will not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornerGalley, Owner at Corner Galley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Corner Galley on Trip Advisor. It gives us an opportunity to focus on areas that may be overlooked. We are currently working on a program to monitor bathroom cleanliness during busy operating times. We are always working on ways to improve our food quality. Many of our regular customers speak highly of menu selsctions. we are very concerned that you had a bad experience and appreciate that you brought it to our attention. Once again thank you for your input. Gerry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver , CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

You can not go wrong with this place, and can do much worse. We stopped in for a drink tonight to check it out. They had 4 good micro's on tap in addition to the standards. My wife had a cosmo that suited her finicky taste. We looked at the menu and at first thought that the prices were a tad high until we saw all that was included. Not only do you get a large portion, fully included meal with all the trimmings, but you get a free caraf of wine or a small pitcher of beer per entree. Beer refills are only $1. Quite the deal. While we did not eat, we did check out the meals that other were having. Good looking and large. I shall return. 2 for 1 apps and beers for happy hour, here I come.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Service ~~~ Delicious Entrees Includes Salad, Beer, Wine, or Soda Included”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Always happy with the Corner Galley. Great food, Seafood. Service is Top notch~~ Glad to be a Customer for over 15. years. Great owners with Superb customer service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELTEAMWITHIRENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Massapequa, New York, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Aging Well”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This restaurant has been here for years. It's a popular spot that, years ago, offered unlimited pitchers of beer and wine and unlimited salad with your meal. We went this past weekend, with friends, for the first time in years. The place was crowded, with many people at the hostess counter waiting for tables. We had a 6:15 PM reservation, which was honored on time. Things went a little downhill from there. We were seated at a table for 4 which was packed tightly against nearby tables and which wobbled on an uneven base. We asked to be relocated and were seated at a second table in a high traffic spot, but which at least didn't wobble. Pitchers of beer and wine were served, but times have changed. The pitchers were small (maybe holding two glass fulls) and only the first is free. The free salad consisted of chopped iceburg lettuce, with a few shavings of red cabbage and some sliced cucumbers. Paper cups of dressing and a bowl of croutons were on the side. The entrees were disappointing. My wife ordered the seafood platter, which arrived no better than warm. I ordered the veal cordon bleu. Instead of a dish where the ham and cheese are rolled inside of the veal, I got an overcooked veal cutlet with a slice of deli ham on the top covered in melted, soon to be congealed, swiss cheese. When you have to cut your melted cheese with a knife, it's never a good sign. On the plus side, our waitress was very good and responded quickly whenever we asked for something. The fact that the restaurant was so crowded probably speaks more to it's proximity to nearby neighbor hoods than food quality. Parking is a problem, with a tiny lot. You need to park at curbside on the commercial main drag.

We came here on short notice and because reservations were accepted. Having been away from here for a long time, the return was disappointing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love the GALLEY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We love the Corner Galley. Fresh Tasty Food at reasonable prices. BISON Burger Love it~~.

Super Chef!!! Nice Staff and Pleasant atmosphere. Been a regular for years. Seafood is Fresh and well Prepared.
Owners are awesome.
Early Bird specials ~~~ Great Deal~~~
Includes Wine or Beer or soda +++ Salad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELTEAMWITHIRENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Galley also viewed

Massapequa, Long Island
Massapequa, Long Island
 
Massapequa, Long Island
Massapequa, Long Island
 

Been to Corner Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing