We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People are at Big Daddy's”
Review of Big Daddys

Big Daddys
Ranked #6 of 115 Restaurants in Massapequa
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
160 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great People are at Big Daddy's”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On Friday (07/12) I called Big Daddy's last minute right after attending a funeral for a close friends mother to see if they could serve lunch to ten people who attended the funeral which included some family members of the person that passed away. A young women by the name Danielle answered the phone and I explained the situation, With no hesitation Danielle said come right over and we will take care of you. When we arrived Danielle had a table already set up for us and went out of her way to take care of us. Bernie and Tommy who were also there helped make a very difficult day as pleasant as possible. The service was great and the food was excellent, everyone in the group enjoyed themselves. We can not thank them enough for going out of there way and making us all feel at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjgangone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Daddy's”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the best restaurant around..hands down!
Every appetizer is great...every entree is great...
Gotta try the Baton Rouge broiled oysters,Lucifers mussels,3 types of wings...Pretty Meg's,Jefferson Parish and on occasion the Ghost pepper wings(my wife and my personal favorite)...the staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the food they serve.Theres been times where I've been stumped on what to get but you just can't go wrong with a grilled or blackened shrimp poboy...
This place is the best we have introduced it to a lot of family and friends and when we are leaving everyone is already making plans to come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrooveTube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food and atmosphere is like Mardi Gras everyday! Come here for lunch before 4 and enjoy a cosy time to talk and take your time. It gets really hopping any night of the week for dinner and is a ton of fun on weekend nights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meet the friends”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to Big Daddy to meet some friends for some drinks and atmosphere on a Thurday night and we had a great time

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau County, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, but needs some attention...”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Big Daddy's in Massapequa is a trip into New Orleans that might be just a little more gritty than necessary. If you've been to the Big Easy, you know the town has a great pulse all its own, and a strong tradition. Big Daddy's captures that essence really well. The vibe and the food are terrific. The place was packed with revelers. the wait was long for a table, but we were told accurately. That's acceptable. We were walked through the kitchen to get to our table - that was surprising, and afforded a look around. The kitchen was spotless. The food was delicious. Andouille sausage with a cooling slaw app, chicken fried steak with incredible goat cheese grits. Yummy. Service was a little rushed, due to the crowd waiting no doubt. I hate when folks try to take my plate away while I'm literally still in it, fork in hand. The place is fun though - here's the personal rub for me: it's filthy. Not the kitchen, to be fair. But the public space. Sticky bar, dirty floor, downright disgusting ladies room. For that reason alone, I might not return. What a shame.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperMom213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Daddys also viewed

Massapequa Park, Long Island
Massapequa Park, Long Island
 
Wantagh, Long Island
 

Been to Big Daddys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing