We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Near Laguardia, good enough for our purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maspeth
Wappingers Falls, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Near Laguardia, good enough for our purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The HIE in Maspeth is about a 10 minute drive from Laguardia Airport, which is why we stayed there. The hotel is situated in a warehouse-type of neighborhood. Parking lot was small but safe (chain link fence). Room was small but clean. Beds were okay. Unfortunately our room faced I-495 with traffic noise all night ... especially the hole or bump in the road that many of the trucks seemed to hit. But the place served its purpose, as we needed to drop someone off at LGA very early in the morning, and someone else at JFK later in the morning. If you like McDonalds, there's one next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not facing the interstate. Close to Laguardia airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    71
    40
    12
    25
See reviews for
72
32
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Inexpensive for NYC area. Pleasant staff. Water pressure terrible as lately is a recurring issue with Holiday Inns. I wonder if it is a money saving ploy? TV was pretty poor but don't watch much. Internet service moderately weak.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimmJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I travel a lot for business and find this location convenient to all Burroughs of NYC. This hotel was completely redone a couple of years back and I have never had a bad stay. One of the things I like the most is the rooms are clean, new and updated. For dinner I love the Chinese place (Super Bowl) right behind it. There are also some great Pizza Places, a gas station/variety store right out front and tons of delivery options. This comes in handy after a long day in the city and sometimes not having transportation. The staff here is always very accomidating...just a great place to stay. Only thing preventing me from giving 5 stars is that the rates fluctuate so much...sometimes reasonable, sometimes too high.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NEFANMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

All the recent comments are very accurate. The hotel is perfect for those who are driving as you have on site parking available. The location doesn't suit a pleasant 2.7 mile stroll to the train station. The web site clearly states there is a shuttle every hour Monday to Friday to the train station which is right beside a large mall (JC Penneys etc) with two other malls within easy walking distance. My favourite stores Marshalls and Best Buy were only a 10 minute walk from the station (In opposite directions)
The hotel staff are very efficient and helpful, including organising a taxi drop off since I had arrived on the weekend.
Taxi into Manhatten without tolls was quoted as $34.00.

If you are flying into Newark, as i did, there are two shuttle services which deliver door to door to the hotel and the charge is $50 not $140 as mentioned in a previous review. Go to the Transportation Desk on the Ground Floor, not the one as you come through arrivals on the first floor.

Only negative comments is I don't recommend the pancakes from the machine. This is one item that still needs to be hand made. The issue with the televisions is being addressed every day as the hotel as just upgraded the entire infrastructure and networking which seems to have created more problems than it solved.

Room Tip: Chose fifth floor, in the centre away from ice and vending machine machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wajela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was too far from anywhere for us to really be able to relax and enjoy our stay in New York. We booked here and thought it would be a good base for getting in and out of New York. The reality is you have to brave cabs to get anywhere as it's two miles to the subway and they all claim not to know where the hotel is and try to fleece you by driving around the longest possible routes. (It cost us $80 a day in cab fares ...plus $140 to get from Newark to the hotel.

The hotel was clean and the room spacious, however the racing of cars outside was a real issue and in my four night stay I only slept once past three a.m.

Breakfast was nice, although one morning my step-daughter and I had to share it with a prostitute who was dressed in red mini dress and fishnets..... and seemed to be piling food into a bag! She told me loudly about her occupation and what she'd been doing in the hotel......

Finally there wasn't much to do in the evenings as we were too far to go back into town and it was a 20-5 minute walk to the sports bar in Maspeth and the restaurants. It is a bit like living on an industrial estate near the freeway. The staff at Reception were helpful, but I wish I'd not fallen for the sales pitch that this was a good base for visiting New York, as it left us all feeling fed up and disappointed, which I wouldn't had I stayed closer to Manhatten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have to say I was very skeptical about staying at the Holiday Inn Express Maspeth after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleasantly surprised. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fresh and more than sufficient in quality, variety and quantity.

This is a Holiday Inn Express! And it is an excellent Holiday Inn Express, to the Trip Advisor contributors who try and measure it against a 5* resort in Vegas, you are a bunch of idiots!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the holiday inn. Our flight was delayed due to the hurricane. Delta airlines put us up here for free. Room was clsen, bed and shower clean also. Room had a huge tv, wifi and breakfast was nice. There's no restaurant there however there's a McDonalds next door, petrol station across the road and there's an extensive take out menu in the room for take aways close by.Only downfall is hotel not close to JFK airport but very convenient foe LGA airport. The hotel has a shuttle bus for LGA airport. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sa11yMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspeth
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Woodside
Quality Inn Woodside
#1 of 3 in Woodside
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Queens
Red Roof Inn Queens
#24 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
2.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 28 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#23 of 28 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York

Property: Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York
Address: 59-40 55th Road, Maspeth, NY 11378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Maspeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maspeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Enjoy comfort at Holiday Inn Express - Maspeth located in Queens. Our hotel is located only 5 miles from Manhattan and LaGuardia Airport, and 11 miles from JFK International Airport. Your family will enjoy staying at our hotel, located just off I-495, with fast access to the endless attractions of New York City that include the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Empire State Building, Times Square, Central Park and the Statue of Liberty. Also nearby are the American Museum of Natural History, Shea Stadium and Ripley's Believe It or Not. Situated within minutes of both airports and close to most major NYC expressways, our New York City hotel provides close proximity to many of the business and transportation hubs of the area. Some nearby corporate headquarters include Coca Cola, Chase Bank, McGraw-Hill, Merrill Lynch and Group Health, Inc. With our convenient location, you can make it to your meeting on time. During your visit to our New York City hotel, enjoy amenities that include fitness center, high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar with our signature cinnamon rolls. Business travelers can take advantage of our business center that offers copying and fax services. Book your hotel reservations now and take advantage of our great New York City hotel deals and rates. Make the smart choice - choose the Holiday Inn Express Maspeth and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York Hotel Maspeth
Holiday Inn Maspeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing