We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Queens - Maspeth
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maspeth
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was too far from anywhere for us to really be able to relax and enjoy our stay in New York. We booked here and thought it would be a good base for getting in and out of New York. The reality is you have to brave cabs to get anywhere as it's two miles to the subway and they all claim not to know where the hotel is and try to fleece you by driving around the longest possible routes. (It cost us $80 a day in cab fares ...plus $140 to get from Newark to the hotel.

The hotel was clean and the room spacious, however the racing of cars outside was a real issue and in my four night stay I only slept once past three a.m.

Breakfast was nice, although one morning my step-daughter and I had to share it with a prostitute who was dressed in red mini dress and fishnets..... and seemed to be piling food into a bag! She told me loudly about her occupation and what she'd been doing in the hotel......

Finally there wasn't much to do in the evenings as we were too far to go back into town and it was a 20-5 minute walk to the sports bar in Maspeth and the restaurants. It is a bit like living on an industrial estate near the freeway. The staff at Reception were helpful, but I wish I'd not fallen for the sales pitch that this was a good base for visiting New York, as it left us all feeling fed up and disappointed, which I wouldn't had I stayed closer to Manhatten.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have to say I was very skeptical about staying at the Holiday Inn Express Maspeth after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleasantly surprised. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fresh and more than sufficient in quality, variety and quantity.

This is a Holiday Inn Express! And it is an excellent Holiday Inn Express, to the Trip Advisor contributors who try and measure it against a 5* resort in Vegas, you are a bunch of idiots!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the holiday inn. Our flight was delayed due to the hurricane. Delta airlines put us up here for free. Room was clsen, bed and shower clean also. Room had a huge tv, wifi and breakfast was nice. There's no restaurant there however there's a McDonalds next door, petrol station across the road and there's an extensive take out menu in the room for take aways close by.Only downfall is hotel not close to JFK airport but very convenient foe LGA airport. The hotel has a shuttle bus for LGA airport. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa11yMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great place to not get sleep. They race cars in the street behind the hotel and party
And it seems to be allowed. If you like drag racing you should check it out if not avoid thus place
The rooms are newer and clean

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchVegasManch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice size room with comfortable bed with fresh, plump bedding and pillows. Room had a comfortable chair plus a large desk and chair and window seat. Large flat screen with wide range of channels. Bathroom was a very nice size and best of all -- no tub -- just a large shower which is my preference. Room was well maintained by the housekeeping staff. Closet has a safe and an ironing board and iron. Lighting throughout was very good. Heat/AC unit is quiet and the room was always a comfortable temperature. Breakfast area in lobby is large and has a very good array of food available. The hotel is next to a McDonald's and a there is a gas station within walking distance. Parking area behind hotel is fenced and the room was quiet even though the hotel is right off the LIE. This was a great location as we drove into Manhattan the three days that we stayed and this was very convenient for that purpose.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a room at the back of building, facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veneto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stay at this hotel quite often while I am visiting Brooklyn, where my daughter goes to school. It is generally more reasonable than Brooklyn hotels. It is very close to drive and/or take taxi into city. There is always parking...in their lot...not on a street. I travel alone, some of the time, and feel the neighborhood is safe. Conveniently located right off freeway. Accommodations are comfortable and as expected. Breakfast is fine. Front desk staff always friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misseuclid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel had to be the worst place I have ever stayed. The front desk help was rude and the bathroom in the room smelled so awful we could not stand it. We were afraid to sleep in the beds and actually saw an ant crawling on the floor. We arrived to late to get a room somewhere else, but at first daylight we checked out and they had the nerve too charge us a penalty, they should have paid us to stay. I will never stay there again and will be skeptical of holiday inn expresses from here on out. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Revdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maspeth
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Queens New York City
La Quinta Inn Queens New York Ci...
#30 of 33 in Long Island City
850 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Hilton Garden Inn Long Island Ci...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,078 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#31 of 33 in Long Island City
566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus La Guardia Airport Hotel Queens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Queens - Maspeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Queens - Maspeth

Address: 5940 55th Rd, Maspeth, NY 11378
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Maspeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maspeth
Price Range: $184 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Queens - Maspeth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Enjoy comfort at Holiday Inn Express - Maspeth located in Queens. Our hotel is located only 5 miles from Manhattan and LaGuardia Airport, and 11 miles from JFK International Airport. Your family will enjoy staying at our hotel, located just off I-495, with fast access to the endless attractions of New York City that include the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Empire State Building, Times Square, Central Park and the Statue of Liberty. Also nearby are the American Museum of Natural History, Shea Stadium and Ripley's Believe It or Not. Situated within minutes of both airports and close to most major NYC expressways, our New York City hotel provides close proximity to many of the business and transportation hubs of the area. Some nearby corporate headquarters include Coca Cola, Chase Bank, McGraw-Hill, Merrill Lynch and Group Health, Inc. With our convenient location, you can make it to your meeting on time. During your visit to our New York City hotel, enjoy amenities that include fitness center, high-speed Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast bar with our signature cinnamon rolls. Business travelers can take advantage of our business center that offers copying and fax services. Book your hotel reservations now and take advantage of our great New York City hotel deals and rates. Make the smart choice - choose the Holiday Inn Express Maspeth and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Queens - Maspeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Maspeth, Queen New York Hotel Maspeth
Holiday Inn Maspeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing