We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent a long weekend with 27 other golfers. The golf was excellent, the course was in great shape. The room was large and well appointed. We had a microwave and refrigerator in the room along with a single cup coffee maker. The location is beautiful.

Breakfast was very good, eggs, meat and potatoes. The fruit was limited to a fruit cocktail mix which was ok. The breads were good.

Dinner was sub par. This is not a four star or three star restaurant. The food was either over salted or over seasoned. Selection was very limited. A friend had the fish and chips and it was over cooked. I had chicken one night and it was over cooked and dry.

On the plus side the bar prices were very reasonable and because we were staying in a package we got 25% off everything we purchased so the made the bar even a better buy.

You will have a good time if you are golfing but don't expect great food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seniorih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this resort as a family on July 4th weekend. The staff is very fiendly, the view from their deck is beautiful, and it is very clean. We had dinner only at the resort and it was delicious. The lemonade and snacks in the lobby are a nice touch. I would definately come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my friend from the 23rd -25st July 2013 and we could have a fantastic time! The room was large, spacious and clean. Moreover, we had a beautiful forest view from the large balcony!

The staff was super pleasant and caring.
The food is outstanding here. I loved the Steak preparation with the mash potato and decent drink selections.
A great golf course HANAH has. We could enjoy playing the well managed course.

Overall, I had a fantastic and relaxed time, so I would like to return as soon as possible. I strongly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiroki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfersworld, Guest Relations Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give Hanah Mountain Resort and very positive review. We are happy that you were satisfied with your Hanah-experience and hope to see you again in the future. Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have stayed at this resort, twice. Both times were golf/room/meals package deals. I must say that the price is right and the course is kept in very good condition. Meal choice is adequate and the quality of the food is again, good. The rooms are spacious and relatively up to date with cable TV and telephone. No wireless internet or HD TV, but we are there to golf, not watch TV. Most of the staff are professional and helpful. However, there is one Ranger on the golf course who is very rude and should not be working in a customer service industry. How he manages to stay employed is beyond me. We would have complained to management, but management was absent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great value resort for golfers
Not many services for non golfers
Breakfast is buffet and ample, lunch only at small cafe/grill on course, very good dinner, indoor pool, outdoor jacuzzi, small exercise/ spa room
Thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisgabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at in the Hanah House at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club last weekend (6/7 - 6/9/2013).

When we checked in the club house looked very nice and the woman at the front desk was professional and courteous. We signed a bunch of release forms for the pool and house and got our keys and made our way to Hanah House.

They gave us the most useless "map" I have ever seen. I don't even want to call it a map because it was just a bunch of pictures of buildings on a sheet of paper connected with clip art arrows. We eventually found the house and went inside. It was cool and rainy and we were excited to get a fire going in the fireplace.

The layout was good - 3 bedrooms upstairs on the same level with the kitchen/living room and 1 bed room downstairs. The downstairs "bunk room" would be good for kids. The kitchen isn't great but it's fine. We loaded the groceries we brought and my husband and friend went to the store to get the rest of the stuff we needed including firewood.

We made dinner and the rest of our friends arrived. I gave our son a bath in the master bathroom which has a deep tub with jets but no plug so I stuffed a washcloth in the drain and it worked fine. It also had a shower wand but it didn't work. While I was putting our toddler to bed (on the small futon in the master bedroom which was perfect) our friends made a fire in the fireplace.

We noticed about an hour later that it was very smokey in the living room. We thought we forgot to open the flue but it was open. We opened all the windows and disabled the smoke alarm after it went off. The fire died down and the place aired out but it could have been a big problem.

The next day when we returned from the pool (which was great!) there was a note written in crayon from the housekeeper. It said "please do not use the fireplace. Very unsafe" A little late. The housekeeper also did not make the beds downstairs, vacuum or replace any towels.

There was no iron or ironing board and we had to go to the club house to get one (no one offered to bring one to us).

The front of a drawer in the kitchen fell off and hit our toddler in the head. He was fine but still.

Overall, the most disappointing thing was how management dealt with the complaints. No one really apologized or offered to compensate us. My husband is in the hospitality industry and I work in customer service and I couldn't believe how basically mean the people who run this place are. More or less we were told they didn't care.

We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfersworld, Public Relations Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest, We are very sorry that your stay with us was less than you expected since our guests' safety, comfort and enjoyment are most important to us.
We are most concerned that your child suffered a bump on the head from a ‘falling’ front of a kitchen drawer, and are very happy to learn that he was uninjured. As you know, we immediately apologized for this accident when you informed us of it on check-out.
Days after your departure, we responded to your telephone calls and further apologized. We take pride in our customer service, and because of your suggestions during these calls, we are doing our utmost to improve our service and facilities.
With regard to the other points you make in this review:
We will work to improve our map.
The fireplace in the Hanah House, is currently not useable and we always leave a sign on it to prevent our guests from trying to use it.
We have asked our housekeepers to be careful about replacing used towels; but with regard to the unmade beds, whenever stay-over guests leave expensive electronic devices on their beds, our housekeepers are trained to leave the beds as they find them. They always vacuum.
When asked, we provide ironing boards and irons to our guests.
Again, we apologize for any shortcomings on our part, and thank you for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second stay here, for overnight golf package. We stayed here last year for our anniversary, and this time to celebrate a birthday. We enjoyed both stays, and had no issues with the room, bar, or restaurant. Mother Nature was not as kind to us on both occasions though, getting us rained out 1 of the 2 golf days each time. We made the best of it and looped around holes 15-18 (19!!) a few times to get 18 holes in.

The room is standard, and nice. Beds comfy and the place is clean. I liked having the mini-fridge. :)

The burgers we had at dinner were outstanding. We couldn't stop commenting on them all through dinner! We ate out on the porch to enjoy the beautiful evening and the thunderstorms that rolled in.

We love the game room and took advantage of it both times we stayed: pool, ping pong, air hockey (last year), darts. The bar is really nice to hang out at ... really welcoming.

We found the staff to be very pleasant to deal with, from check in/out to golf to dining, whatever ... everyone was great!

The golf course is in great shape (except for the day of rain we got!). The greens were fantastic and the wildflowers all around were beautiful. The course is challenging, and fair. We hate hole 13 though and donated a number of balls to the pond. :)

We will come back again and again for any stay-and-play package that Hanah will offer. This deal was fantastic, and is better than ANY deal we could find elsewhere in Catskills or Poconos. We shop around for these, and found a winner with Hanah!

One thing I would love for them to do is a bit of work on the hiking trails. They are a bit overgrown. Otherwise, I can't wait for our next visit!

(PS to the review below about the cancellation policy: management are VERY clear about the 2-week cancellation policy from the first phone call to the confirmation notices. It doesn't hurt to ask for a refund, but no sense posting unfair messages about the policy when they are very clear about it at the time you make a reservation. I'm not thrilled with the long cancellation policy either, but we chose to take the risk when we reserved.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank turtle2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfersworld, Guest Relations Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We appreciate your spending your vacation at Hanah and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
22.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
22.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
506 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
116 reviews
9.0 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Address: 576 W Hubbell Hill Rd, Off Route 30, Margaretville, NY 12455-2438
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Price Range: $158 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanah Mountain Resort And Country Club Hotel Margaretville
Hanah Mountain Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing