We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star lodging” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Sussex County, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“3 star lodging”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

If you are looking for 4 or 5 star accomodations, then this is NOT the place for you. We booked a Friday & Saturday night to go skiing. They have an indoor pool (the kids do enjoy it but is a bit cool for the adults) and an outdoor hot tub (not warm enough - temperature was set for 97 degrees (faren). The rooms are a typical hotel/motel type room. 2 queen beds and a more than enough elbow room bathroom. Although the rooms are kept clean, they don't pay enough attention to what they are doing.

We ate breakfast on Sat & Sun mornings...although called continental, it does consist of warming dishes of pancakes, oatmeal & scrambled eggs, 3 types of cold cereals, english muffins, rye bread, bagels, white bread, some type of a coffee cake, fresh fruits (oranges, apples...), juices and of course milk, coffee & tea. we also had dinner there Sat night. we had met a couple in one of the Margaretville eateries and they told us of their not so up to par dinners they had on Friday night, so we knew what NOT to order. although they said the steak was "just ok" and an extra $5, the pork chops were quite "different". we both ordered the chicken picatta. it was fine and yes "different". this was the first time we had even gotten a picatta with mushrooms and grape tomatoes in the dish. we knew not to expect anything great (this is definitely a middle of the road restaurant: not great, not disgusting) and we were not disappointed. we did inquire about bringing our own bottle of wine with us, but when the said they would charge us a $25 (yes that is twenty five dollars) corking fee, we both settled for a single glass of house wine with dinner.

the staff we pleasant and the place had MANY families staying there.

we would consider staying there again, but not with the meal plan. Margaretville is 3 minutes down the road and has the Binnekill Square restaurant that has awesome schnitzel! and there is Margo's on 28 (although i have not been there in over 10 years) had/has really good german food.

  • Liked — indoor pool for after skiing, rooms are pretty clean
  • Disliked — not cleaned as thoroughly as i would have liked!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reallyobnoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    20
    14
    15
See reviews for
44
21
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new york state
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

This hotel needs a manager!!!
The good news is that the rooms were spacious and accept for the poor lighting and skimpy bath towels were well appointed
The bad news was the dining room
We were a family group of eleven that the hotel knew well in advance yet on a slow evening they were not able to serve us :it took over an hour to get any food and after an hour and a half two of us were not served because they had run out of food There was only one waitress who was new and incompetent. The next evening was hardly any better:they ran out of deserts.We had to initially serve ourselves since no waitress came over:we got our own bread and water.The Sunday night Buffet basically consisted of all the dishes on the menu from the two previous nights,
The main lodge which is attractive is poorly heated and dimly lighted making it difficult to read.The dual gas fireplace only worked on one side,
The breakfast buffet was the best meal yet there was only one waitress

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkStateCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margaretville hotels

Md
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

We just returned from two nights at the Hannah. We stayed in the new lodge - very clean, though I am not certain why it is called a resort (other than the golf)???? This seems to be an overused term. Even the new part seems more "motel" than resort. The property is nice and the views are good. It is very much out of the way and not convenient to much. The hot tub was okay (could be hotter) and the pool was nice. There was no fitness equipment that we found (there was a ping pong table and a fooseball table).

Overall, the hotel staff (front desk) was not friendly. We arrived late - after a long drive - front desk staff was not inviting - and no one was tending the bar - arghh!! Can't speak to the quality of the golf course - we didn't play.

We ended up cutting our stay short and had to speak with the manager in order to get our money back for the two nights we decided to skip.

  • Liked — newness
  • Disliked — remote location and desk help staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Goatguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2007

I just got back from a weekend at Hanah; we stayed in the Hanah House, an off-site house you can rent instead of staying up at the lodge.

The house is HUGE and can sleep three couples individually in bedrooms, plus up to 10 or 15 additional people in twin beds that are lined up dorm style on the ground floor of the house (it's a little creepy, actually). The house is a bit run-down, and the interior is definitely worn. The 'master' bedroom has a big Jacuzzi tub, but no shower, and the other two bedrooms share a small, dingy bathroom. The water pressure was amazing though! The kitchen/living room is spacious with a working fireplace and cathedral ceilings, but all the furniture was stained and smelly, and the kitchen was pretty gross--mismatched utensils in poor condition, and generally disappointing. The major problem was the lack of privacy overall—the walls of the rooms do not go all the way up to the ceilings, so every single sound made in the house is heard EVERYWHERE. People staying here should make sure they are all going to be on the same schedule, and that everyone is close-knit and not shy! Overall, I would say that a stay at the Hanah house is best for large parties looking for a common space to share where they can cook and hang out away from other guests. Since the price wasn’t that cheap considering the level of cleanliness ($250 a person for 2 nights), you might be better off staying at the lodge if you don’t need a living room and kitchen.

The main Lodge: Breakfast buffet was not very good, but we were very pleasantly surprised by dinner - a wide range of offerings that span multiple types of cuisine, all of which were incredibly good. The service in the restaurant was also exceptionally attentive.

We had a little problem coming down the LONG, STEEP driveway, and actually slid off the road and had to be towed (it was snowing), so be VERY careful when the weather is bad - salting and plowing are not done as regularly as one might hope. A four-wheel drive vehicle is definitely a valuable asset in bad weather - the lodge is up a huge windy hill and a steep driveway. Also, the brochure is misleading – there is a pool, but the fitness center no longer exists due to a guest injury. You can buy discounted lift tickets at the front desk - $10 cheaper than at the mountain.

Overall, not an awful experience, but not an especially good one. I would probably try another place if I went again.

  • Liked — Good dinner
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greentea822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

we booked at the Hanah and the desk service was very pleasant, and we love the area in this part of the catskills. The views and surroundings are beautiful. we were so disappointed when we checked into this lovely hotel, the lobby is grand, but the reception we recieved was very rude, and the rooms were very dirty, our bathroom it seemed had not even been wiped down, i was so disgusted i showered with a towel on the tub floor. there was no one to contact,as the lobby closes at 9.00 pm, and we left as early as possible, and the lobby was still closed at 8.30 am....what a disappointment for such a large new hotel on such a beautiful mountain.... it is just a shame..

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karenmoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

Well, how do i start this? I enjoy golf! I also enjoy new places to play golf and a friend has a home on this property.
The Golf course is gorgeous! The views are Spectacular! The ride to the Club is breathtaking and truly shows off the real NY Catskills!
However, this place is run by a person who is absolutely CLUELESS. At times I felt terrible for the staff. Everyone seemed so eager to help but everyone was very thinly spread. Management needs to be replaced!

Don't take ANY rooms that are not at the top of moutain unless they are offering you the Hanah House. The ones at the top are new and nice and normal......the ones at the bottom are well........at the bottom.

GREAT place to GOLF!
Great place to stay to ski!
Eat some where else...........there are alot of places to do so in the many charming towns tht surround the club.

  • Liked — the golf
  • Disliked — the lack of management and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go on a holiday weekend
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NJout&about!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2006

Just returned from a weekend at Hanah. We had a blast. Three days of unlimited golf & carts, 2 meals, nice double room, a golf appreciation tournament for $229 + tax (and incidentals)

We went up for a final golf outing with some 10-12 handicapers. The rooms were fine, not the Ritz but clean & comfortable. The food was great, breakfast & dinner buffets.

The course is chalenging, difficult, interesting. The area is beautiful. The view is gourgeous. The new owners are trying hard to please. They are gracious.

I think it's hard to beat. My guess is some of these reviews were while the place was being rebuilt. There is still some work to do but we had a great time and would go back again.

  • Liked — Golf
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
11.0 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
22.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
16.2 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Property: Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Address: 576 W Hubbell Hill Rd, Off Route 30, Margaretville, NY 12455-2438
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanah Mountain Resort And Country Club Hotel Margaretville
Hanah Mountain Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing