We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn, Friendly Hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaretville Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, Friendly Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a recent ski trip to Belleayre and spent two nights at the Margaretville Mountain Inn. It was just myself and my two children ages 7 and 10. We had a beautiful room and the kids were in love with both the friendly dog "Bear" and the most delicious breakfasts. They could not stop talking about the french toast and the maple syrup that was fresh from the trees. We had a private bath that was very clean. We didn't use the hot tub located out by the barn, but instead went to the nearby Hanah country club and purchased very reasonable day passes to the pool. Overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nekothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi glad you enjoyed your stay with your family. The French Toast and Bear will be awaiting your next visit, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    5
    9
    9
See reviews for
28
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My partner surprised me with a weekend getaway to Margaretville, and I couldnt have asked for a better surprise. The house was beautiful and very homey. The Inn Keepers were very accomodating and sweet, and gave us a tour of the house, which included two parlor areas with game boards, books and even a fire place. We were even greeted by their big,sweet dog Bear! Our room was quaint but very comfortable, and the bathroom was very nice as well. Because it was so cold outside, they had the house heat turned up, and it can get a little too warm, but our room had a radiator that we could turn down to adjust it. The breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend their French Toast. We ended up going to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, just over an hour away, and then back into town for dinner at Peekamoose, in Big Indian, not far from Margaretsville. I also Highly recommend eating there if you're in town. The views from Sunrise to Sunset are magnificent and we will definitely be coming back for more relaxation! (PS they have a jacuzzi in the back, but we didnt get a chance to use it. Looking forward to trying it out next time )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dginicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review of us and the area, I'm glad your getaway worked out well. See you folks soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fallsburg, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

enjoyed the inn very much . The hosts where great. They went above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic, I highly recommend it . Dont forget to bring the kids . Close to all ski centers. . ask for the french toast the best I have ever had
Bring your snowmobile close to 36 mile trail system . A nice weekend getaway. The rooms where clean and cozy . The kids stayed in connecting rooms to ours with a shared bath. If was warm and cozy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi guys, thanks, got some new snow, come on back, the French toast and maple syrup are waiting for you! Cheers, Peter and Carol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We reached the inn at 4 pm in the afternoon to be greeted by the resident watchdog who promptly led us to the front door which had a prominent sign informing us where our room was. We were the first guests to arrive and it was somewhat creepy entering the house with nobody there. Nevertheless we did manage to find our room and turned in for an early night as a snow flurry had descended upon the inn with vengeance. Our room was a little cramped for style but it was cozy and warm with the hot water radiator doing it's job. The next morning we were woken by a loud scraping sound from outside and being from Africa this was totally foreign to us to discover that the noise was from a snowplow scraping the road. When we went for breakfast we were pleasantly surprised to see the setting in the breakfast room and true to our expectations the breakfasts were great, with enough tasty dishes to satisfy most palates.
This Inn was a good choice and most certainly we will stay there again in the future should we be in the area ( and of course the snow was just great)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I arrived at 9:30 on Tuesday night (they had asked when I would arrive, and I had told them between 9 and 10). I walk up to the door and knock and ring the doorbell numerous times, no one comes to the door. So I decide to call them on my cell- turns out to be no service. A sign says if no one answers to drive down to the other motel they own- so I drive down there and the office is closed and no one is there. So I drove to the local pub and ask to use their phone, luckily they have no problem with it, but unfortunately either the B&Bs phone is disconnected or they have dial-up internet... Once again I drove up the hill to the B&B and after another 10-15 minutes of knocking he finally comes to the door and says they had no idea the doorbell was broken... So after an hour or more of this pain in the buns, he asks for me to pay and I oblige with cash. He shows me to my room, and I begin to unpack some stuff and finally get to wind down from a 4 hour drive and an hour of nonsense, with little or no apology. About ten minutes later he comes back up to my room and tells me that he miscalculated what I owe, and that he needs two more dollars. Really?! Two dollars after the whole hassle, what nerve...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear readers: We would like to clear up a few points in this misguided review. We did apologize profusely for the doorbell not working (it was fixed the very next day). The house is big and we did not hear the knock on the door even though the front entrance was open and he could walk right in. He accepted our apology and said it was no problem, he was glad he got a great room at a great price through a special we were running ,$47.50 a weekday night double ocuupancy, full breakfast, free WIFI and free use of the hot tub .Yes we made an error on the bill and yes at this price point $2.00 makes a difference. The ironic part of this all is that the guest remarked that he enjoyed his two night stay and wanted to come back again, that is why this review is such a shock and definetly not deserving of the quality of service and amenities we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We actually were in May of 2011, so my memory is a bit sketchy. I do remember that we were very lucky to get the last room here because we cancelled our original reservations with a place that misrepresented themselves very badly. This apparently was the only room that did not have a connected bathroom but were were just very happy to have found this place and that they had a room available, plus I believe every other room has their own connected bathroom. Very old, very lovely well-kept building. Nice family, nice pets (HUGE gentle Great Pyrenees dog and a cute guinea pig), excellent food and pleasant conversations with the other guests. Some of our best moments were spent lounging on the large porch gazing at the hillside. It's only a couple miles from the center of Margaretsville, and I believe may be the nicest place to stay in that immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJHeart2Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monongahela, Pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to attend a wedding in nearby Roxbury. Peter and Carol were great hosts--accomodating and helpful. A plus for me was they did not "intrude" by asking questions, forever asking if you need anything, etc. In fact, they were virtually invisible( although they live in the house-a beautiful and well furnished victorian by the way--and spotless ! )
I had read some reviews before making the reservation and most people raved about Carol's breakfasts--they were right ! ( I embarrassed myself by asking for eggs benedict thinking it was a specialty-it was not but Carol delivered anyway--and they were great)
I highly recommend for a visit to the Catskills..and give their big old dog named Bear a friendly pat--a great and kindly guy !

Room Tip: A couple of rooms have private baths and a couple do not. Read the room descriptions to decide--the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easyed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Hi folks, we are glad you really enjoyed your stay with us, and that the eggs benedict were a hit. We try to make everyone feel welcomed and their stay enjoyable. Please come back and join us at another time for pure relaxation. Oh, and by the way, all the bedrooms have private bathrooms, its that just some are not en suite they are detached and are private for your own use. Thanks, Carol and Peter Bear too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
12.6 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Margaretville Motel
Margaretville Motel
#2 of 2 in Margaretville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
16.9 mi away
Stamford Gables
Stamford Gables
#1 of 4 in Stamford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaretville Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaretville Mountain Inn

Property: Margaretville Mountain Inn
Address: 1478 Margaretville Mountain Rd, Margaretville, NY 12455-2309
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Margaretville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaretville Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Queen Anne Victorian with spectacular views. Superbly preserved this wonderful house is further complemented by fine antiques and period interior design. Recipient of DISTINGUISHED PROPERTY AWARD by InnKeeper.com. Only 9 miles to Belleayre Mtn & 10 miles to Ski Plattekill. Listed on National Register of Historic Places. Rates include gourmet breakfasts served in formal dining room. Jacuzzi hot tub on site. All guest rooms have flat screen TV's and private baths. Free Wi-Fi on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Margaretville Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaretville Mountain Hotel Margaretville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing