We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice in Every Way”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Everything about this bed and breakfast was wonderful. Your pretty much at the top of a mountain. The property is well taken care of and quite pretty, and if you want to see a sunrise, you will have that chance, as you have a clear view to the mountains in the East. You enter the home from a lovely wraparound porch. The place is quiet, clean and the breakfast was great. We stayed in the Emerald room by the way, which I was very happy with, and I believe is the larger of the available rooms. Carol, the owner, was very friendly and everyone enjoyed a nice conversation with her during breakfast. I have only nice things to say about this place and I would gladly stay here again. If you are on the fence about it then have no fears.

As for where to eat, I would tell you to go to Summerfields at the bottom of the hill. Food was FABULOUS, the atmosphere is fun and happy, and it is 2 minutes from the Inn. If your the stuffy kind, then the Peekamoose (about 15 minutes away) certainly has a more elegant atmosphere, but I felt the food was a big let down. It does have a lounge area though, which also looked quite nice.

Room Tip: Emerald Room was largest of the rooms, but all rooms looked satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    17
    5
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

got the livingsocial voucher for this stay. Carol and Peter are wonderful and very accommodating. At first I was totally scared of Bear which is a huge dog so I rang the doorbell a couple of times upon arrival thinking Bear might attack. Carol was very nice and checked us in before 4pm. Bear is super friendly, cute and quiet. We became friends even with my one night of stay. Breakfast was wonderful and talked with other friendly travellers. The town is very quiet, but it's a cute little town where you can still get food @ 10pm. The B&B is wonderful and on top of the mountain where you can see stars at night. The picnic lunch I got was really good too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotterworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

First of all, Peter was too nice. I mean, coming from NYC, I'm not used to people being so down to Earth and friendly. It was way too welcoming. He was way too hospitable from the moment we met him. We couldn't help but smile and feel at ease, unlike our usual scowling and rushing city-selves.

Then, once we got into the room, we were shocked at how cute it was. I mean, how can such a warm B&B also have such great aesthetics? Our bathroom was a great size (for two people) and the attention to detail was wonderful. The linens and the towels were great quality. But here are the complaints. First, the towels were too big and luxurious, the robes were too warm, the water pressure was too perfect, and the bed was far too comfortable. So comfortable, in fact, that we overslept the breakfast, which, I also must complain, was too good. I mean sinful. The french toast really was just too decadent. So was the gorgeous dining room. Tsk tsk.

Finally, in addition to Killer Bear being the sweetest dog in the world, the front porch was just too relaxing. I didn't know what to do with myself without my work computer or deadlines buzzing at me from my phone. It was just too calm. Too peaceful. Too chill as we sat and played old-school Battleship on the porch.

So don't come here unless you really want to relax in ultimate comfort. You'll come back home to reality too refreshed to accomplish anything. You'll talk about the B&B for weeks after. You'll want to immediately start planning another trip to Margaretville Mountain Inn. You'll never want to stay anywhere else but here next time you leave town for the weekend.

Thank you so much Peter and Carol. We had a great time!
-Amy and Andrew

Room Tip: We had the Birch room, perfect location away from the other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Margaretville Mountain Inn with its elegant dining room, spacious porch offering a beautful view of the mountains, and cozy and pleasing bedroom was a peaceful sanctuary for us during a busy weekend....Our hosts and the owners of this beautiful Inn, Peter and Carol, were most gracious and willing to help us with all of our needs over the long Labor Day weekend...we look forward to returning in the future!
Dr and Mrs Khalsa

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Khalsa1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The Margaretville Moutain Inn is a beautiful bed & breakfast. The owners, Carol and Peter, are charming and made us feel so comfortable. They made us feel at home away from our own home... The Margaretville Moutain Inn is the consummate of a charming bed & breakfast and our experience exceeded all of our expectations!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Owner at Margaretville Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you. You are such a wonderful couple, please come back and visit us again, bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2011

As one of the ten guests stranded by hurricane Irene in devasted Margaretville,N.Y.,I just have to let your readers know how the owners of this B&B rose to the occasion .Not only did they manage to feed us in sumptuous style under hardship conditions,but they kept us abreast of travel conditions enabling us to return to our homes safely.Carol,Peter,and their girls went out of their way to cope with a very difficult situation demonstrating just what the responsibility of hosts can be.
Anna,and Lee Rizzo

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starchest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

During an impromptu visit to the area over "hurricane Irene weekend," visited MM Inn without a reservation. Peter met us at the door and proceeded to check us into a very comfortable room on the first floor. Turned out that when the storm hit, we thought it best to remain an extra night (as did the other 8 guests) and were treated very well. Had a little hurricane party in the parlour with the rest of the guests and had a wonderful time! Thanks to Peter, Carol and the girls for their gracious hospitality and for taking care of us so well considering the circumstances. Was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bideauxwines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
12.6 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
83 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
1.7 mi away
Margaretville Suites on Main
Margaretville Suites on Main
#1 of 1 in Margaretville
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
120 reviews
11.1 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
213 reviews
2.2 mi away
Margaretville Motel
Margaretville Motel
#2 of 2 in Margaretville
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaretville Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaretville Mountain Inn

Property: Margaretville Mountain Inn
Address: 1478 Margaretville Mountain Rd, Margaretville, NY 12455-2309
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Margaretville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaretville Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Queen Anne Victorian with spectacular views. Superbly preserved this wonderful house is further complemented by fine antiques and period interior design. Recipient of DISTINGUISHED PROPERTY AWARD by InnKeeper.com. Only 9 miles to Belleayre Mtn & 10 miles to Ski Plattekill. Listed on National Register of Historic Places. Rates include gourmet breakfasts served in formal dining room. Jacuzzi hot tub on site. All guest rooms have flat screen TV's and private baths. Free Wi-Fi on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Margaretville Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaretville Mountain Hotel Margaretville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing