We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerfields

Summerfields
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hicksville, New York
1 review
“Delicious Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I stopped in on a Thursday night hoping for burgers. We were greeted by the waitress offering us a pizza buffet. We were hungry so we decided to stay not really knowing what to expect. The pizza was delicious and included soup and a salad bar. They had several different flavored pizzas and even offered to make us whatever we wanted if it wasn't on the buffet. Great place to eat and cozy dining experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    11
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ugh, don't go here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Besides the poor service, the snarly hostess, the bait and switch descriptions of the food, and having to send my food back to be cooked properly, the prices are outrageous for such a dump. Much better choices in the area so bypass this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DirtyMartiniShaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious high-end fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Great food, but wasn't expecting the high price tag by the look of the place from outside. It looks like a local family restaurant, but entrees are $20-30. They do include salad bar.

Trout and duck were both perfectly tender and well-seasoned. Beware that the "salt potatoes" is actually just an over-cooked baked potato.

Great food overall, but wasn't expecting to spend over $30 apiece.

Helpful?
Thank rainking61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All around great family meal on the patio...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Okay, so the high review is part "we loved it" and part "there are so few great family restaurants in the area that this one is no brainer!" Our family of four dined here twice during our time in nearby Pine Hill in August. Both times we sat outside and the kids (10 & 12) could run around along the adjacent stream well within ear shot. We loved sitting in the swinging picnic table, and everyone had plenty of great, hot food of their choice; kids menu great, and kids went away happy both times. As for my hubby, once steak (loved it) and once lobster (loved it more than steak). Roast chicken for me, which was fab. Small build your own salad bar make for nice touch, too and comes with most meals. Waitresses both times were so friendly...attentive but not hovering. Hope they get the pool table back on line for next year - we'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenl372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“You won't walk out hungry!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you get the chance make the effort to visit this unusual, quirky, relaxed but cool restaurant don't miss your chance. During warmer months, check out the outdoor area around the back which you won't notice from the road side. There is a collection of quirky artefacts from various beech related places and a dinner table and chairs that rock on rails!

The special events sound interesting and include live music but it was quiet when we visited.

Be careful what you order. All the food we ordered was excellent. But the portion sizes were HUGE. The mixed grill was the largest single plate of food I have ever been served in a restaurant. The kids aged 9 and 10 who usually order adult portions actually ordered from the kids menu and were perfectly happy with their portion.

Our waitress 'Shannon' was a diamond and so friendly. The chef and the owner took time to speak with us and we really enjoyed our visit to Summerfield's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summerfields also viewed

Margaretville, Catskill Region
 
Margaretville, Catskill Region
 
Margaretville, Catskill Region
 

Been to Summerfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing