We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected!”

Margaretville Suites on Main
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margaretville Suites on Main
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than Expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to get away for the weekend to the Catskills. Margaretville Suites on Main was reasonably priced and available. Though, we were driving it was a great to be located right on the main strip in town. Based on the reviews we had low expectations but as long as it was clean, we would be okay. Well, we were surprised!! We checked in at the Motel and they gave us the suite key (we stayed in suite #2). We opened the door and was shocked to see if renovated. Very cute kitchen, new furniture and spotless clean!! We were so excited. It was a little chilly so we turned on the heat and in 15 minutes, we were cozy! The bathroom was redone, but there seemed to be a slash on the outside of the base of the tub but we could easily ignore this because the pressure was great in the shower. The bed was super comfortable so much so, we missed our first nights dinner reservation. All in all, the location was great, the inside of our room was nice and we were happy. the WIFI was great, I think we had fast service since our room was next to the router but internet was a breeze. A few things that kept this from being a 5 was that the locks on the door didn't seem to be secure. We are NYC'ers and we love deadbolts and the latches that you normally put on hotel doors were not installed (easy fix!) Also, the tv was outdated (an inexpensive flat screen would add some class). Also, our in-room phone didn't work, so we had to skype to talk to everyone, which cost pennies and was reliable again because of the stellar internet service. Overall, I think value for money was still great! If we are ever in Margaretville again, we will stay here!

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the Arkville Bed and Breakfast (PHENOMENAL) and have dinner at Peekamoose!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyctraveldiva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked "Suite # 5" for a Ski outing. Not told Building was under renovations until we checked in (at the Margaretville Motel) The smell of Turpentine brought tears to our eyes. The kitchen was outdated and nothing worked. Signs saying "OUT OF ORDER" on dishwasher & oven. The living room furniture looked very old with a small 19 in TV. Everything dated. Public Parking a block away. Went back and stayed at Motel (not much better)

Room Tip: wait til renovations are completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Margaretville hotels

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed in suite number 2 with one bedroom. If you come during the summer, don't expect any natural light or fresh air. Storefront-type windows face right onto the sidewalk, so they are kept closed and covered. The unit is very tacky with flea market furnishings that feature stains. The kitchenette sports a four-burner stove and full-sized refrigerator, but you definitely won't do much cooking with the minimal number of dishes and cookware. If you are concerned about security, you won't like the glass door into the suite, but maybe Margaretville doesn't have any crime. And wait until you see the torn venetian blind in the front door patched with duct tape. I found this unit to be overpriced for what you get, but maybe all of this region is overpriced. I would recommend this place only if you are on a tight budget, are not fussy, and need the extra space for a family or friends traveling together. Restaurants are within walking distance -- a plus. During the summer you can park on the street in front.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldlyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is an ok place to stay, very basic. The apartment we stayed at was not very clean, stains on kicthen cabinets, stove not very clean, crumbs in the toaster.

They have a folder with rules and regulations, which has an inventory list of things in the apt. like spoons (8), when there were only 2. Either you keep your inventory up to date or do not keep a folder. The remote did not work with the TV, they said we would have to program it. There was other people's hair on the couch.

All in all old stuff in the apt, very basic and not very welcome feeling. They also do not tell you at the time of booking that there is NO parking available by the mgmt. if you are in the suites on main, you have to park in a public lot 1 block away.

Location is good, staff is quite friendly and helpful. They just need to spend some money and make it nicer and tell people about breakfast, parking etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chabli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cauliflower_queen, Manager at Margaretville Suites on Main, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
This review is NOT for a stay at the Margaretville Motel. There are no suites at the motel. This reviewer is mistaken in posting this review for the Margaretville Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
11.0 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
8.9 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Margaretville Motel
Margaretville Motel
#2 of 2 in Margaretville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
5.2 mi away
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Spillian: A Place to Revel
#1 of 3 in Fleischmanns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaretville Suites on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaretville Suites on Main

Property: Margaretville Suites on Main
Address: Main Street, Margaretville, NY 12455
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Margaretville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaretville Suites on Main 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Margaretville Suites on Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing