We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mahebourg

“Nice seafood, nice pineapple flambé”
Review of La Vielle Rouge

La Vielle Rouge
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for a nice seafood platter, this restaurant is totally recommended. In addition, the pineapple flambé is delicious.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 501 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2019

Located down a side street with some partial views of the water, it is a popular tourist stop as there were several tables of us. We had the octopus curry with white rice & chicken brochettes/garlic sauce with saffron rice which we both enjoyed very much. The prices were reasonable, better than the other place on waterfront & other restos we checked. Service was good & we'd go back again if in the area.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2019 via mobile

First of all food is great, that's for sure. HOWEVER , you have to be a really patient person to enjoy your night here. Patient as in, 30-40 minutes of waiting to give order, 20-30 minutes of waiting to ask for check. Not to mention more than an hour of cooking, which I don't even mind. There were around 50 people in the restaurant and only ONE waiter trying to serve everyone. He was trying his best so much, I felt bad for the guy and didn't complain to him. I hope business owner cares what people think and hire at least 1 more waiter.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank thisistomhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019 via mobile

Delicious seafood, reasonable prices. Clean and well maintained restaurant, friéndly staff. I really recommend to visit !

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank tom_wZ1426NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

We went for dinner last night and had a fabulous meal with efficient and helpful, friendly staff who also offered advice on local attractions to see. Grt value for money. Would highly recommend the fish dishes.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank TheresaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vielle Rouge also viewed

Mahebourg, Grand Port District
Mahebourg, Grand Port District
 
Mahebourg, Grand Port District
Mahebourg, Grand Port District
 
Pointe d'Esny, Grand Port District
Mahebourg, Grand Port District
 

Been to La Vielle Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing