We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical Mauritius”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived in Preskil Beach Resort late on the 6th December this month and the lady who checked us in was so efficient and helpful. We were given a welcome drink and then were shown to our rooms. They were charming, fresh and clean and not too far from the main restaurant and entertainment area. We had a wonderful dinner and as we travelled on the all inclusive package deal were able to enjoy a variety of drinks. This is the only way to travel and we didn't have to worry about food and drinks. Anything with a red asterisk is available to those on the all inclusive deal. We enjoyed wine, champagne and cocktails from 10 in the morning until midnight. The sight that greeted us the next morning was indeed magical There are a number of beaches and it is advisable to collect your towels before breakfast and book your spot under a shaded gazebo. There are loungers to relax on and a flag system attached to the pole of the gazebo. You simply push the green flag up and within a few minutes a lady or gentleman will arrive to take your order. Simply heavenly especially in the blazing heat.
The lady in charge of the towels had a remarkable memory and knew our surname and room number after our first visit. We were able to swim in the azure blue sea and just beyond the rope that encloses the swimming area is the most beautiful coral and fish. it is a very good idea to take your own snorkel and mask, fins are not really necessary.

My son occupied himself with wake boarding and paddling on kayaks which were free activities. My girls loved tanning and swimming in the pool or in the sea. There was also a trip in a glass bottom boat and the snorkeling was amazing!! The highlight of our trip was a magnificent trip on a catamaran to Ile Aux Cerf. The crew were so friendly and helpful and the price included all food and drinks. We stopped after an hour and were able to snorkel far out to sea in 1 m water. What an incredible adventure, the coral was alive with fish of all varieties. We then went to see a waterfall and while taking photographs the crew cooked fish, chicken and sausage on a braai. This was served with delicious salads and lovely drinks. We then went ashore to explore Ile Aux Cerf and buy a few presents. Remember to barter!
What a beautiful day!

The meals were absolutely delicious and every evening had a theme and on a few occasions there was a show. Just remember to take roll on mozzie spray as the mozzies were out in full force. All the rooms have air conditioners so there is no problem with mozzies in them. There was such a variety of food and the waitors were most attentive. It was a holiday of a life time!
It is also a good idea to visit the local town of Mahebourg as we were able to buy many presents there. We also went to Port Louis and we were impressed with the mall with an avenue of colourful umbrellas.

We highly recommend Preskil beach Resort if you are interested in a laid back holiday filled with adventure, delicious food and glorious cocktails.

Room Tip: Included in the all inclusive deal is a meal at Tapas and a meal at Charka Grill. these 2 restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    891
    248
    114
    52
See reviews for
553
1,420
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacoas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Mid size hotel. Very nice and cosy. Clients feel at home. Staffs are very helpful and food is ok. However, organization of restaurants during peak time need to be reviewed as service tends to get a bit slow.

Room Tip: Book the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at Preskil Beach from November 29th until December 13th, 2013. We are a retired couple who have had several previous holidays at this time of the year in the Maldives. Mauritius provided a change, a quite different holiday which we really enjoyed, can't and wouldn't want to pick fault with anything.

The food was excellent, we looked at the a la Carte restaurants ( supplement ) and decided that they were not worth the supplement unless you really wanted a big steak. The bar and 'standard' restaurant are super, always lots of tables to choose, we always ate outside at tables around the pool. Lots of choice with simple things like pasta and pizza always available, we didn't try either, lots of lovely meats and fish and salads and puddings. We got cheese in the Maldives, not at Preskil but we really didn't need any!

We had a Beach Cottage, it was absolutely fine. When we looked at the pictures of Preskil we fancied a cottage on the north beach! We got 333, facing East. Whilst this cottage does not have access directly onto the beach it is nearer to the main beach, pools and restaurants yet far enough away to be quiet and our patio was very private. I would avoid cottages numbered 321to 326 as they did suffer from a distinct bad smell from the creek when the tide was out, not every day though. We see no advantage in paying for the super duper upstairs rooms.

The Logoon rooms looked OK, you could get lucky and get a sea view, you could be looking over a garden and quite close to the pool and you will be close to other rooms. There is no reason to spend time in your room so does it really matter. We did spend time on our patio so its privacy and view suited us well. Most seem to spend their hotel time on the beach or around one of the pools. Room 333 is close to the beach, it's luck.

The beach is coral, slightly gritty sand, I was OK barefoot but a pair of swimming shoes is useful especially for swimming in the sea. There are lots of sun beds and loads of shade. No need to save sun beds with towels as we always found vacant beds, however, there was a very, very few who did the towel trick, they annoy us! The Beach Boys and Girls are very helpful and around all day to help. Swimming in the sea and the two pools is excellent. Snorkelling off the each was poor, the small reef is outside the swimming zone, people, including us, swam over it but the coral is dead, very few fish, go to the Maldives if you want magnificent coral and wonderful snorkelling.

We hired a car on two separate days through Hertz, they were good bringing the car to the hotel on the evening before the hire day. One day we did the Botanical Gardens and Port Louis and the other day we toured the gorges and sights around the Black River. We would recommend this over 'fixed' tours although do take a good map, we finished up downloading maps onto our iPad.

We had just one trip, the morning snorkelling trip on the Glass Bottom boat, it was good. Lots of activities are free.

French is the language so lots and lots of French visitors, Brits, South Africans and a few others!

We travelled on BA using our Avios air miles and booked the Preskil, accommodation only through Thomson. Thomson also arranged private airport transfers, all worked very well. Preskil were offering two free nights from December 1st. If you had flights with your booking then to get the free nights you could not arrive until Dec 1st. However as we booked our own flights we booked a 13 day accommodation only Dec 1 to 13 and a two day accommodation only holiday Nov 29 and 30, we got our free nights! If you did this with flights you would get four flights.

Our Maldives had always been all inclusive. Don't book AI at Preskil unless you want to eat and drink very heavily. We had half board. We quite like a quiet drink on the patio before and after dinner so we walked the mile to the nearest supermarket and bought gin, wine, soft drinks, nibbles, chocolate, tonic etc. at sort of UK prices. We bought enough for a couple of days which we carried back in a backpack then had a real shop the first time we had a hire car. We used the minibar but only for storing our drinks and nibbles!

We did go to the bar, beer 110 rupees, other drinks quite reasonable. We had been told by Thomson that wine in the hotel would be £40 per bottle so we decided to just drink water with our meal and have drinks before and after. We did still just drink water as many did but if you wanted a bottle of wine it was around £15 a bottle, sort of restaurant prices. Of course beer and local wine is included with all inclusive. The list. provided by Preskil to 'sell' all inclusive will convince you.

The difference from HB to AI is 2200 rupee per person, around £45, that's £90 per day for a couple. The hotel say it will cost HB guests the following, see their display board!

Per person.

Bottle of water 75, from the mini bar, OK for bedtime drink but one to share is plenty, so 37.5 per person
Aperitif before lunch 280 each, we had coke and beer from the Supermarket
Lunch 900 each, we could not eat a huge lunch after a huge breakfast and dinner so snack eg pizza if anything so 225, not every day, we went out some days
Bottle of water 75 with lunch, no, so nothing, we had water, tonic, beer, sprite in 'our' minibar
Coffee 90, free in your room, so nothing
Tea 120, do you want coffee and tea? free in room so nothing
Pancakes at 4pm 225, wow you will put on even more weight, not needed so nothing
Aperitif before dinner 280, bar prices and whilst we did drink our own stuff on our patio we did go to the bar several times so 280 tops but average half that
Wine with dinner 1500, we drank water, beers some nights, so average 50
More water with dinner, 75, that's a litre each, we shared so 37.5
Coffee after dinner 90, free in room
Supplement in a la Carte restaurant 750 each, what every night, why do this when Spices Restaurant is no extra.

So the hotel says you will spend 4460 rupees extra per person per day (£88 each per day) and AI is only 2200. In my opinion their example is outrageous! We averaged 440 rupees each per day and we had all we wanted and a supermarket bill of 3500.

And those things that come up in other posts - it is an advantage being just 15 minutes from the airport, you perhaps just hear a plane once or twice a day, it is not an issue.

And really funny, a British couple came to the restaurant every evening at 7pm, she placed a bag and shawl on the table and went to the bar for 45 minutes returning to eat. After three nights several people pointed this out to the staff, they removed the bag and shawl and the table, a nice table by the pool, was soon taken. Their reaction on returning from the bar was classic, well done Preskil staff.

Would we go again, possibly. Would we choose Maldives over Mauritius, yes. Would we choose Maldives costing a lot more than Mauritius, we haven't had that conversation!

Room Tip: See our comments, room 333 was Judy great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GJCutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently celebrated our 29th Wedding Anniversary at the Preskil Beach Resort. Unfortunately there was a lot of rain during the last week in November, however it didn’t really spoil our holiday as we enjoyed a few hours of sunshine every day before it clouded over and the grey skies opened up with a heavy daily downpour.

The hotel was as we remembered it from our last visit 4 years ago, if anything the gardens were much improved with gravel areas and many bright coloured hibiscus flowers. The check-in staff were super friendly and very helpful. We loved our Honeymoon Lagoon room (room 180) overlooking the croquet area with a sea view in the distance. It makes a huge difference to your holiday if you are happy with your hotel room, and we were.

Breakfast and dinner buffet was lovely with a fair amount of choice. We found something we enjoyed every evening, the tasty colourful desserts were my best. My husband put on 6 pounds during our week at Preskil. I have been too scared to weigh myself (in denial). My favourite evening was the Asian Buffet (Saturday) and the Chef’s Buffet (Sunday). I could not resist a slice of the crispy pizza every night either. The dinner staff were also attentive and friendly, we have no complaints.

We booked the full day Catamaran trip in advance (via email) with the hotel for Thursday 28th Nov - what a pity about the rain! It rained when we left the jetty, and it rained on Ile aux Cerfs so we only stayed on the island for about half an hour sheltering in the thatched shopping area during the heavy downpour before running back to the catamaran. Once all were on board we set sail again. A delicious lunch consisted of salad and bbq’d chicken pieces, beef sausage and fish, fresh pineapple for dessert. Drinks were included in the price. The jungle juice (rum) and pine-apple drink was a real knock out! As we sailed home the sun came out, the catamaran stopped for a while at a shallow spot so that we could snorkel in the crystal clear turquoise water of the lagoon.

I read previous reviews about the closest supermarket London Way being a ‘20 min walk from the hotel’. I thought it was too far to walk there, it would be easier to cycle or even take a local bus if you have to do some shopping at London Way. Local buses stop right outside the hotel, going in the both directions of Mahebourg (bus fare only Rs23) and Blue Bay. We took a local bus to visit the market in Mahebourg on Monday afternoon as it was cloudy and grey (not good beach weather) and walked around for a while, I bought a few sarongs and straw placemats. I didn’t see any supermarkets close to the bus-stop and market area in Mahebourg. (By the way, I bought a sarong at one of the stalls allowed to sell product in the hotel reception area in the evenings for Rs300, the exact same sarong in the market was only Rs100).

To sum up - we enjoyed our week at Preskil! We loved the extra treats offered by the hotel as part of our honeymoon package to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I will not mention what these were as I don’t want to spoil it for other honeymoon couples.....

Room Tip: Honeymoon Lagoon Room 180 was close to the beach area and hotel dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just returned from Preskil Beach. Highly recommend a Prestige Cottage on the beachfront. Lovely room, amazing views. We booked All Inclusive which I would suggest is the best option. Staff were excellent, very friendly always with a smile. Everything was very clean, gardens well maintained. We ate mainly in the beach bar restaurant or Charka grill.Could not fault the food. Okay it is not Michelin Star, but that is not what you should be expecting. A couple of nights we ate in Spices which is buffet. I am not a lover of buffet food but the quality and choice was very good. Breakfast is in Spices restaurant. The choice and quality was brilliant. Water sports were good and the water sport guys were great. Could not fault anything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Spent three relaxing days at Le Preskil. Excellent service, incredible views from our room, beautiful manicured gardens. The snorkelling trips are really good and the marine life was incredible compared to other areas in Mauritius. Beach never felt over crowded although the hotel was very full. Food was varied and good quality.

Room Tip: Deluxe Penthouse rooms are very spacious, stunning views especially those to the left of the hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charmaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We got married here in July of this year. Best place to pick it wasn't to hot wasn't to overcrowded. We stay in the penthouse suite oh my days the view every morning was bliss... Staff work there backsides off to please you and help you. Water sports were brill we cannoned and all so got a pedal boat out daily. But we got married and this was just perfect Linda the wedding co- ordinator was Amazing so helpful just a beautiful lady she made our day special she went out of her way for us and we thank her her for this.... For me this is the perfect place to get married..


Thank you to Linda and all the staff we met at preskil we will be back in the next year or so but we are defiantly coming back

Thanks again Cheryl and Ant Chadwick xxx

Room Tip: We had the pent house suite right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
2.1 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
29.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,425 reviews
26.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,331 reviews
26.9 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,251 reviews
15.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Property: Preskil Beach Resort
Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing