We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent 7 days at the resort could not fault the staff ,hotel or food.
Beach has lots of coral so beware.
Weather was just coming into the summer period so there was a slight chill at night, days were warm with a slight wind. Facilities at hotel were very good only disappointment was the pools were being refurbished but the beach made up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for room over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

we thoroughly enjoyed this resort on the south of the island. we were greeted like royalty, and throughout our stay we had a pleasant experience with the resort personnel. we especially enjoyed the boathouse personnel who always had a joke ready to entertain us. the part which we did not enjoyed were the negative effect of the South African / Mauritian currency rate. not favourable at all, which makes everything not included in package extremely expensive. the taxi's are all over the island, and very annoying, however very welcome when in need of one. overall, we would retun anytime as we really enjoyed our stay at Preskil.

Room Tip: handy to upgrade to a bigger lagoon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for 10 days last week in September first week of October. Going to this part of the island, my main concern was the weather, but I needn't worried it was good. Either end of our stay was windy, but the middle was hot and a lot calmer. We did see some expected rain but it certainly didn't spoil our enjoyment. I would recommend this time of year.

What was great about the location was that it was quiet and only a 15 minutes transfer from the airport after a long flight. You certainly don't notice the plane noise because of the prevailing wind. There are plenty of things to do if you want to get active and a lovely beach and pool area with plenty of sun beds available if you want to relax.

We went on the trip to the lie Aux Aigrettes from the hotel, which was very interesting and I did a tour with a driver while Mr J was fishing.

After contacting the hotel directly to enquire about fishing and check what the HB option covered I changed our booking with Kuoni to AI, because I have yet to rate a buffet restaurant as good. Maybe my expectations are too high, but by adding the AI option meant we also used Tapas Grill and Charka's, both of which are worth the extra payment. Service and food in both of these was excellent and met my expectations for a 4 star hotel. Spices food didn't, and service was no more than average and if we had stuck to half board I would have been dissapointed. Evening entertainment was very hit and miss, but given the multiple nationalities and ages of the residents, it will be difficult for any hotel to cater for all.

Minibar included soft drinks, using the rum was extra which was strange when you are on AI I thought...not a problem though we bought some lovely vanilla rum from the local supermarket which became our sundowner.

Our room was good, and faced the beach with the Tapas bar very close to the right. Very handy. The housekeepers were all lovely and very obliging. I rate them highly for service and cleanliness.

The brochure says the hotel does deep sea fishing, which they don't, but the hotel can arrange it for you. However when we enquired they suggested we ask our Kuoni representative, Brinda, who happily arranged this for us with a company an hours drive away. A hotel we have stayed at before, who advertised Deep sea fishing, had their own boats so in this case my expectations were not met, but the fishing was excellent so well worth the drive. See my review on Hookers.

Every one wants different things from a holiday but in my view, Half Board would not have suited us because we holiday to rest, eat good food and minimal "play". ie we don't go out every day. We don't drink much alcohol in the day (we do with dinner) but I think that AI worked for us financially.

To sum it up it was a good place to stay and would recommend.


Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Juboash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were four ladies travelling with 2 elderly parents and enjoyed wonderful service all the way. The staff were friendly and attentive - anything we requested was no problem. We requested a downstairs room for my parents, as my mom cannot handle stairs, and they placed them on a very level lawned area that faced the beach. It was so easy for them to walk to the beach.
Rooms were clean, comfortable and we had amazing views of the lagoon. The gardens were beautiful and very well kept.
The resort offered a wide range of activities, and there was a lot to enjoy for everyone.
We were on half board basis as we wanted to be out some days on the tours out of the resort to either Port Louis or the Rum factory etc, so, we were able to get something to eat wherever we were for lunch. The dinners were fabulous, I enjoyed the Themed Evenings as well as the evening entertainment. As we were six adults, we used the taxi's that the hotel called for us, and it worked out very reasonable for six people to share. The taxi's were the seven seater vehicles, or a mini-bus that was very comfortable. The drivers were very knowledgeable regarding the area and about the places we visited. My best was that, on departure, we needed to be at the airport quite early in the morning. Our transport was to arrive at 6.00am in the morning. I was amazed to find that there was someone to provide breakfast for us at 5.00am in the morning. I had travelled before to other countries - where I had to leave very early in the morning to board an early morning flight, but had never been able to get breakfast so early. We were all very impressed. We had a lovely stay and will definitly return to Preskil Beach Resort. Very happy, thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a lovely view of the lagoon and the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is great and I would encourage anyone to visit this hotel. We had an awesome time. The all-inclusive package is definitely the way to go if i can give anyone advice going there. The area is fairly windy but not too much of a problem as the temperatures are high in the area. The service of the Preskil staff crew is top class and guests are treated with ad most respect and care. The day trip with the Catamaran is something not to miss (cost a little bit extra but is worth every cent).

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are very nice with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Preskil Beach Resort

We stayed for 21 nights between 2nd and 23rd September 2013 on a trip organised by Kuoni in the UK. We took the advice of earlier reports and changed GBP to Rupees at the airport and got a much better rate than the hotel was offering.

The room was quite big, with en-suite facilities, complimentary toiletries, kettle, tea & coffee, mini-bar,, air conditioning and impressive view over the lagoon from the balcony. We asked for a floor standing fan as well, which was provided the same day.

The room was serviced every day by Ummah – a very friendly lady with good English (and French) who keyed into our preferences in the room. The room was kept spotlessly clean. An evening ‘turn down’ service is provided which we only wanted a couple of times.

The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained by what looks like a small army of gardeners. The beach is sandy, wide, and has ample sun loungers . What looks like the open sea is, in fact a very large but shallow lagoon with a fringing coral reef protecting the lagoon almost on the horizon. The hotel is essentially on a peninsular in the lagoon. You will need to wear footwear in the lagoon because of urchins etc. and there is a small current when the tides change.

The on site dive school, Coral Divers, is a well run outfit with what looked like new equipment, and knowledgeable staff. Discounts are available if you take your own dive gear. Water temperatures were 23 deg C at below 20m and 24deg C above.

We were on a half-board basis. The breakfasts were buffet style, with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, cold cuts, bacon and eggs etc. to suit most tastes. Evening meals were also buffet style, with ‘themed’ evenings, but still a wide choice of alternatives , There is a supermarket (London Way) about 20minutes walk away from the hotel. The supermarket sells SIM cards for mobiles for around £4 which proved very useful for cheap calls back to the UK.

Bottled water is expensive in the hotelat about £3 per bottle so we boiled the tap water and were absolutely fine!

We ran into a local taxi driver/ tour guide who showed us all his licences, insurances and permits, so we used him for a number of guided tours around the island. . Contact me for details if you want them.

The staff and local people are very friendly – even people passing on bicycles would say good morning, Beach hawkers are all licenced by the authorities, and must not harass tourists, so a polite refusal is all you need. Other reviewers say they were harassed, but this was not our experience.

Buses run past the hotel every 15 mins or so to Blue Bay (fare about 50p) and Mahebourg but local taxi drivers sometimes offer to take you for the bus fare if they are going your way.

WiFi is available free in the Reception area, but not in the rooms.

Overall, the Preskil Beach is a very nice hotel, located in a quiet part of Mauritius on what could be one of the most stunning lagoons on the island.

Faultless, really.

Room Tip: the rooms at the far end of the complex are away from the bar and watersports and are very quiet. Up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geordiediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

There was a great atmosphere at Preskil Beach Resort and some of the most attentive service I have ever received. There was good entertainment every night and plenty of activities throughout the resort. We also made great use of the spam getting massages, using the sauna and the steam room. The staff were always very friendly and the rooms were kept very clean. The beach was also decorated beautifully and the security made me feel safe. The food was good but could be improved. The food in the Charka steak restaurant wasn't as good as expected. The lunch menu at the Indigo bar was good but a little expensive and needed less carby food options. Dinner was good but could be overall a more spectacular experience. For example, a place we went some years ago decorated with spun sugar. Overall though the food was perfectly good and so was my experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the trees at the back of peninsula might be advisable to light sleepers as the birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
27.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,158 reviews
9.9 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
29.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,817 reviews
30.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range: $177 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing