We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are superb - cant wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astroea Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Mahebourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff are superb - cant wait to go back”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Astroea Beach is literally paradise. If you're looking for a resort with lots to do, evening entertainment and other Brits to mingle with then you won't find it here. Instead what you get is peace and quiet, which is so rare coming from London, a beautiful beach with no fights for a sun lounger, the best customer service I have experienced (it even tops American customer service), fantastic food and cocktails and the deluxe room with terrace was huge.

The staff are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble at all. My boyfriend and I were slightly concerned with how spicy the food would be. The choice of food some may say is limited, you have two choices of starter, main and dessert but in all honesty if you don't like what's on the menu then just request something you do fancy and we were never refused our choice.

The food is superb. We were looking for classic Mauritian dishes and this is what we got. Also thrown into the mix a spaghetti bolgnese too, which you can never go wrong with. The lunch choice was a lot larger, not sure why, but I loved the classic Mauritian dishes which were also offered here too.

The hotel does offer some activities, including kayaking, pedalo, snorkelling equipment. I think they need to advertise this more. We weren't informed about this upon arrival but noticed after a couple of days the hut on the beach was for us to hire equipment from. We were also not informed about the beach towels that you could collect from reception.

The evenings are very quiet, but if you enjoy the company of your partner then you won't struggle! However perhaps the hotel could provide some board games for guests to play with, good game of scrabble over a rum and coke would prove interesting.

I wanted to say a special thank you to Jessen, Maelly, Vanesha, Alan and Jonathan. They really made our stay and I always looked forward to seeing them in the evening and having a conversation with them. They also helped us with tips of what to see on the island. Rita, was also really helpful and so polite and always with happy. She made great recommendations on what to see on the island.

All in all a fantastic stay. Thank you so much for making us feel welcome! We look forward to coming again in the future and miss the staff, sun, sea and sand already

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    50
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
185
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Astroea Beach is lovely villa with a beachfront position on a fine stretch of sand sloping gently into the sea where swimming is possible even at low tide. The hotel is compact with accommodation in the main house and in bungalows dotted about the gardens. Facilities include a small open sitting area by the reception with a bookshelf of paperbacks, a Spa and a boathouse with equipment for watersports. There is no pool.

We were in a bungalow with a garden view. It looked fresh and clean, was spacious and equipped with a flat screen television. The kingsize bed was comfortable though the mattress was on the firm side. The bathroom was fairly basic and showed signs of being renovated on the cheap with the old wall tiles having been painted over white. The electric Triton shower gave a weak flow of water and we missed a proper mains-fed shower. This indicates the biggest deficiency - no hot water mains supply. With only cold water in the handbasin it makes shaving difficult and few will welcome washing or taking off makeup in cold water. When we queried this we were told that we should boil a kettle of water but the size of the kettle provided meant that two lots of water needed to be boiled to fill the basin half full. We commented on this and were quickly provided with a bigger kettle! However, we have never stayed in any hotel of any category anywhere in the world where there was no hot water feed of any kind to the bathroom basin.

Apart from this, the lighting in the sitting room was rather poor so as to make it difficult to read comfortably at night. After we brought this to the attention of the manager, Nanda Appadoo, we were provided with a side light which made a big difference. There was also no phone or communication to reception so if you had a problem, it would be necessary to walk to the main building at whatever hour come rain or shine.

The ceiling of the bungalow we stayed in was made of cane which harboured small insects. We were not aware of this until the next morning when there were many very small ants squashed on our sheets that had fallen from the ceiling. The management apparently knew of this problem and had remedied it in all but two bungalows.

Some minor quibbles included there being only one waste bin in the bathroom, no provision of tissues, no mat outside the door to the bungalow so grass, dirt and anything else sticking to shoes was easily brought in from the outside (as the stepping stones to several of the bungalows had for some inexplicable reason been laid only part way across the lawns). Again, after mentioning this we got a mat provided.

Another criticism was having to pay the equivalent of £2.50 for 24 hours of WiFi. When most hotels include Internet use, being charged a small sum when we were paying €182/night for half board leaves a poor impression. The fact that the WiFi kept dropping out in our bungalow was an added irritation. We were told it was because of the anticyclone passing by yet the repeater was in our room.

For an hotel that prides itself on the quality of its food, we found it good but nothing special. For those on half board, a choice between two options for each course for dinner should be made at breakfast time. Eating in the dining room overlooking the sea was a memorable experience however.

We had a massage at the Spa. It was excellent. Madeleine, the masseuse, is to be highly recommended.

Our verdict? The lack of hot water is the single biggest issue and seriously detracts from the positive features of the hotel. It is surprising that so few guests have commented on this and other shortcomings preferring instead to highlight Astroea's beautiful beachside location and its friendly and helpful staff (with which we concur). Perhaps the hotel's many Kuoni guests are spared at least some of these problems through preferential room allocation but our experience, by any objective criteria, was not good. We have stayed in a wide variety of hotels in Mauritius and Astroea Beach, despite its beautiful position, has too many deficiencies to ignore for a 3 star hotel. When we raised these deficiencies with Nanda, to his great credit he admitted that he had been aware of some of them and was trying the remedy the situation. He could not have been more helpful. Apart from the hot water problem, making improvements need not cost that much but would make a big difference to the comfort and enjoyment of guests. Currently, there is better value at 3 star level in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Try to be as near to the sea as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a relaxing place to go!. On arrival we had a very freindly welcome from the staff bags were wisked away to our room, and we were settled in within seconds. this hotel is perfect for getting away from it all. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for you.
But because this is a new hotel there are a few things that need attention, firstly we were staying in a comfort room which had fantastic views, and plenty of space in the bedroom, but the bathroom was a little tired looking and may need replacing in the near future. Also this is a suggestion, as the hotel does not have entertainment (which is fine!) there is an area in the gardens that seems to be wasted, it looks like it may have been an outside bar or something, anyway we thought that this area would be great for an outside bbq area and maybe have a cocktail bar or something. All in all though this was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.
Thank you very much to the staff and managment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andysimpson1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I went on our honeymoon and were pretty exhausted (but very happily so!). The staff could nor have been more accommodating and we had, pretty much, a perfect stay. Great for "getting away from it all" without too many frilly extras!

Room Tip: Go for a comfort room if possible - a bit more expensive but overlooks the sea: unforgettable!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Astroea Beach is a nice and small hotel. It's a great place for calm and relaxing holidays! The rooms are neat and good sized. There's a very kind and helpful staff. And the food is very good there! The view on the light house island etc and it's beautiful turquoise sea are just amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-MauritiusIsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed 10 days in mid-late July at this 3* hotel. All the other reviews speak volumes for this place so I won't repeat detail. Here are some comments.

Hotel: Needs to upgrade to 4* (and management are thinking about it). Whilst it is a good hotel things like rooms and choice of cuisine need to be enhanced for 4*. While the Creole architecture is very charming the rooms are too basic for 4*. But oh, the Deluxe room with the massive terrace was really good. The view of the ocean reef will stay with us for a long time.
Occupancy very low. If you like that, come in Winter! We were often the only people there. Wow. All that service just for us ;-). Staff all really nice and the hotel is very well managed indeed. I think one of the waiters was called Jessen? Jessen, London and Paris are calling!

Location: Travelled around the island a bit and am convinced that the Astroea has the best location with its turquoise lagoon and reef on its doorstep. A sublime picture. You can walk along the beach from Astroea to its sister hotel Preskil Beach. It is such a beautiful stretch of turquoise. Preskil is for families so don't touch it with a barge pole if you want peace and tranquility.

Weather: A difficult one! The wind howled a lot as there was an anti-cyclone blowing on arrival. It made swimming. snorkelling and sun-bathing impossible. When those are the activites you have signed up for it was disappointing. But it was not always like this and actually very fickle. Pulses of light rain followed by sunshine. Crashing rain at night sometimes but never persistent. There is pretty much always a breeze blowing off the sea. That is actually nice. You will see on the photos posted by reviewers that the palms and other trees are invariably leaning onshore. June, July, August are winter here so bear that in mind and I would say avoid those times if you are flexible and come Sept-May. It was a shock when pitch darkness fell at 6pm! Got caught out there.

Mauritius: Having got the idyllic stereotype into my mind I was a little surprised to find that the central part of the island is very industrial and as ugly as any other urban development. This is where your sugar comes from folks! And when I unpacked my suitcase I notice that one of my holiday shirts was 'made in Mauritius'. It does pack a punch for scenery with its iconic sharp ridged looking mountains and its endless coastline. It is less windy in the west and north. But, having travelled to the northern and eastern areas for the day I was pleased to get back home to Astroea so taht must say something.

Overall: If you are comfortable doing virtually nothing it's a great place to choose. Just remember the good staff cannot control the weather. You might suffer as a lone traveller unless you are extremely comfortable with your own company. And I wish the staff well at the Astroea because they simply deserve it. Thank you for making us so welcome. BUt for that darn wind it would be peace and tranquility personified!

Room Tip: The Deluxe roooms are biggest and one has a big terrace. Both have a commanding view. Comfort rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesBall59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wonderful holiday stay with exceptional personal service by all staff.
Would like to thank all the staff and management of a surely superior hotel.
You were made to feel very special and nothing was too much for any staff member.
The coral beach with white sands is to die for and you can walk to the other side of the coral to see the fantastic variation of marine life.

Room Tip: No pool at this hotel but non required as it is directly on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiknDor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
1.0 mi away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Mahebourg
2,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
27.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
807 reviews
30.4 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,531 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astroea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astroea Beach Hotel

Property: Astroea Beach Hotel
Address: Coastal road, Pointe d'Esny, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mahebourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astroea Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away and forget everything else in this exclusive boutique hotel, hidden between the powdery white sand and magical turquoise lagoon of Pointe D'Esny, in the south-east of Mauritius. Exclusively for adults, this haven of peace in the evocative charm is ideal for couples on honeymoon to reconnect and escape the pace of modern life. Between idleness, play, pleasure reading, surrounded by staff dedicated to your every single whim and fancy, time stands still, and indulge in all your desires and pleasures without a second thought. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astroea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astroea Beach Hotel Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing