We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Overcharging”
Review of Manchester Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beware of Overcharging”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We found an $80 room in the Manchester Inn online and when we couldn't find the motel, we went into the nearby Scottish Inn and enquired about a double room. It was late, so we reluctantly took the $100 room (+ tax) , only to discover it was the same motel and room as the $80 room we had found online - the inn name had changed. After payment we were told it included a continental breakfast, which we would not have voluntarily accepted since I am on a medical diet which excludes most of the usual breakfast foods. The owner kept trying to 'upsize' the sale. The room itself was ok but overpriced, however there was a dangerous broken light switch in the bathroom, and the internet didn't work in the room. I would have been happy to overlook the flaws if the price had been cheaper, but as it was we felt we were taken advantage of.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    12
    9
    14
See reviews for
26
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a Motel so please expect a Motel and not 5 star Hotel. If that premise is understood then everything else will fall in place. It is a Good convenient Motel. Before booking I read in the online reviews that it has new owners, that are working hard to improve the property. I can certify this is true. And by the way the place is now known as “ Manchester Inn” although they have not changed the sign yet. What I liked most was the spanking new linen in bedroom and bath. Means more to me than other items like carpet etc. Room was clean. Although the bath does need some work but it works. Breakfast was simple but ample and had all basic essentials and most importantly FRESH. There is a fuel pump and McDonald s right across the road. Very convenient for people driving by like us. All in all we got good value.

We were touring The Finger lake District which is one awesome place. Wineries are aplenty. Every bit of the stretch is picture postcard stuff. But whatever happens do not miss taking the "Skyline Drive" on Keuka Lake. It is indeed a "top of the world experience'. You really get the feeling of driving in the sky. NOT TO BE MISSED.

Room Tip: Most rooms can be accessed through At door parking from outside as well as indoor corridor that lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi_GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for 1 night and kept getting woken up by rude neighbors having car problems it was more than once. Started at 12 and kept goin all night long. Called front desk did nothing. Also got very sick off of what ever they use to clean the rooms with horrible stay will never stay there EVER AGIAN

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiny1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Cooperstown
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here because of location, location, location. The price was reasonable, even inexpensive by the competition prices (there is no nearby competition). It was what we thought and exactly what we expected. Rooms are sparse, furniture is worn but clean. Rooms were small and a bit noisy. Early in the morning we were awakened by an inconsiderate neighbor who was having trouble starting his diesel truck and then left it running right outside our door. The next night I requested a different room. Danielle the desk clerk was very accommodating and moved us to the inside away from the traffic.

Room Tip: I recommend that you ask for a room in the back it seems like it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hjnicols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvon Pa
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night...normally stay with family. However having a surprise party for Grandma, therefore entire family visiting at the same time.
Room is clean. Bedspreads clean, just old. Room is painted cinder blocks, this is ok as well. Afterall, you get what you pay for, $76.00.
Bathroom: tub specifically would not step into without flipflops on. Even my brother, who will do anything, would not take a shower here. Definitely in need of updating. Tub was probably clean, although who would know with all the stains from years worth of who knows what. Don't know if all the tubs are like this one, room 140 has a bad tub.
Scoring terrible for cleanliness due to bath tub situation. The room itself is clean. Has a nice fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlms71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I book rooms for our corporation and booked a room for an employee with a CLC Card. When employee arrived Front desk man was rude and wanted to see the guys drivers license to make a copy and to get his address off it which the employee told him not to copy it for security reasons and told him his address was different now cause he had moved but in Oklahoma you are not required to get a new one just because you moved into a different house. Desk Clerk told him to get out he could not stay there. The employee was willing to show him his driver’s license because CLC requires the hotel match the DL to the CLC card but not to copy it. Our employee talked him into letting him stay cause it was late and he needed sleep but saw a drug deal go down later that night outside the hotel. When I made the reservations the hotel guy was rude but he had a foreign accent so I ignored it but will not be booking employees at this location again. Employee said place was old but linens were clean but he never wanted to stay there again and didn't feel safe even though there was like only 3 cars in the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is not the Ritz, but it's convenient, clean, and as pleasant as it can be for a place with cinder-block walls. Our room had a microwave oven and a refrigerator with a freezer, an old-style CRT TV that we didn't watch and A/C that we didn't need. It was quiet enough and the beds were soft but I slept soundly. This place is all about thrift, and it does a good job of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
6.9 mi away
Finger Lakes Hotel
Finger Lakes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Farmington
268 reviews
8.3 mi away
Newark Garden Hotel
Newark Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newark
76 reviews
11.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Victor/Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Farmington - Victor
6.4 mi away
Budget Inn Farmington
Budget Inn Farmington
#2 of 4 in Farmington
41 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Inn

Property: Manchester Inn
Address: 4078 State Route 96, Manchester, NY 14504-9729 (Formerly Scottish Inns Manchester)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manchester Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inns Manchester Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing