We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”

Le Provencal Bistro
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Mamaroneck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mt Pleasant Ave
Transit: We are diagonally across the street from the Mamaroneck Train Station, Metro North New Haven Line.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Always very good no matter what you order.We had ceasar salad(excellent)soft shell crabs and steak au poivre.The "frites" are terrific and the sauces are delicious.we have never had bad meal there and the people we've been there with have always enjoyed it


  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hsiegel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely French bistro”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My mother-n-law loves everything French. So for Mother's Day, I made a reservation at Le Provencal Restaurant through Open Table. We arrived about 1/2 hour early for our 12:30 reservation, but the host promptly seated us without any problems. For the $55 prix fixe menu, there were plenty of choices for our appetizers, entrees and desserts. We had crab cakes, smoked salmon and musclun salad for our appetizers. Everything was freshly prepared and delicious. After our appetizers, there was a 40 minute wait before our entrees arrived. We had steak au poivre, lobster salad and grilled scallops. The food was tasty and we forgot about the slow service. The steak was tender and cooked to perfection. My mother-in-law enjoyed the grilled scallops and left nothing on her plate. The only complaint is that there was only one claw in the lobster salad, and not worth the additional charge of $8. For dessert, we had apple pie, creme brulee and profiteroles. The profiteroles were two giant biscuits filled with ice cream and covered with chocolate sauce The portions were more than generous. Overall, we enjoyed our meal and will definitely go back. The service was proficient and friendly. The slow service might have been due to Mother's Day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxed, fine dinner”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Although this bistro has some Italian influenced dishes on the menu, they also have the classic French foods. The kids were able to find foods they enjoyed, and all the adults were pleased with the appetizers, salads, and main courses. The monk fish in a saffron curry was both unique delicious! Make a reservation if you ppla on eating after 6:30 PM on the weekend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiniShepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relatively french”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have eaten several times and we were not disappointed. The food is good and the service is prompt and correct. It is a nice restaurant, but it misses the charm of the French cuisine. It doesn’t stand up with a particular dish or arrangement. If in the area it worth a try, expensive though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, NY, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not To be Missed”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Delicious food, no matter what is ordered but that New York Black Angus Peppercorn steak with pommes frites is to die for. Service is good from a very pleasant group of young men and women and the owners hover over the restaurant bringing it to perfection. One of the best all around in Westchester!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Provencal Bistro also viewed

Rye, Westchester County
Larchmont, Westchester County
 
Larchmont, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 

Been to Le Provencal Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing