We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Pizza... Best in Mamaroneck ”
Review of Sal's Pizzeria

Sal's Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 96 Restaurants in Mamaroneck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

I have family in Larchmont and whenever we come to visit we drive over to Sal’s. The pizza is delicious, no matter how you slice it. The Ny style is great, but the Sicilian is their speciality. The crust is perfect and the ingredients are all seemingly fresh. You can’t go wrong if you go to Sal’s!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jteswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Hi I'll have been going tv o this place for 33years and it has the best siciliano pizza and white. This pizza place also has a kitchen in case you don't want pizza or if you are in a group and others choose something other then pizza. Plenty of seating and a gelato place right next store for dessert I highly reccomend.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank yankee4642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Sal’s is always consistent and tasty. Good local pizza and classic menu items. Old school pizza place that wont let you down.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank DodgersRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Sal's is a place Mamaroneck is known for. Hear anyone lives or goes here and Sal's is like our Empire State building. No doubt the very best feature is the Sicilian slice or pie. Regular pizza is good but kinda ordinary, salad slice is simple with just romaine and tomato and dressing but when it's fresh it's very good. They don't take credit cards but have an ATM inside. Added a gelato dessert and extra seating by taking the space next to it which is a great way to end the meal. Aside from the sicilian you'll probably find better here or there and credit cards and even friendlier folks but there's a good reason when there's been 3 or 4 pizza joints on the same block only one has had a line out the door for the last 30 years...and you can regularly find me on it.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TFtraveltrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Growing up in Larchmont, Sal's was the place to go. In the 1970's a slice, fresh from the oven, was worth injuring the roof of your mouth for. That crisp underside, the glutenous chew of the bread, perfect the smear of sauce rich with garlic, and the squeaky texture of perfectly browned mozzarella was the stuff of dreams following track practice. And dreams are hard to let go of... So it is that even today, despite numerous disappointments, I will return to Sal's, every couple of years, usually with my sister or brother, for a corner slice of Sicilian or regular slice of plain and maybe–to complete the illusion of time travel–even a grape soda. My wife cannot understand it and who can blame her? The Sal's of today serves mediocre pizza with very little flavor and no longevity. It is edible hunched over a grease tinged booth right out of the oven, but hardly so from the box a half-hour later if you choose to do take out instead. In its context (the place has not changed much in the 50 or so years since its inception) it still makes sense to me to show up albeit with ever decreasing frequency and sit and hunch and eat while looking around at the new characters who prowl the Avenue today. It invites one to reminisce. To tell the old stories. But that's really all there is to Sal's now. N.Y. pizza is still the best I have ever had. Better than the trendy Neapolitan original version, the Chicago deep dish thing, or the New Haven business with clams. Better than the California personal pizzas on whole wheat crust or even the stuff they serve in Napoli. But Sal's, if it is in the family of N.Y.-style pizza, is the Fredo. A deficient, disappointing, paradoxically arrogant fellow who, but for his legacy, would not register even as a blip on the food scene.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank GregoryBerkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Pizzeria also viewed

New Rochelle, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
Mamaroneck, Westchester County
 

Been to Sal's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing