We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meatiocre in Malta”

Cliffs Country Inn Malta New York
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meatiocre in Malta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Huge portions of steak, prime rib, and filet mignon dinners. The meat was bland - very simple plain cooking that could be done at home with little effort or creativity.

Easy to find many better choices if you're looking for steak or beef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lefty12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Serving sizes over the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

When you think of big servings...think even bigger for Cliff's. We have been finishing our Father's Day dinners for two days! The prime rib portions are massive. We were disappointed in that all three were over done. Had it not been a family celebration and we did not want to be too picky and take much more time (we had a toddler with us) we would have sent them back. The son in law's beef stroganoff was superb. We ate on the deck and enjoyed the atmosphere. Will certainly return, but will be pickier on making sure that our beef is prepared and served to order.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Neighborhood bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Cliff's is a local watering hole that is known for comfort food in enormous portions. Service is ok. Atmosphere is fine if you don't mind seeing a TV everywhere you look. (in the bar, there is a TV in each booth!)

Cliff's is one of the very few remaining restaurants on Saratoga Lake, and like all the others, there really isn't a view (other than of a TV).

The food is ordinary - comfort food, and portions are large. That tells you something about the clientele that Cliff's targets.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“place for prime rib?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

cliffs is an old restaurant that could use a little moderizing. people rave about the meat. i would to if it had flavour.they give very generous portions of a prime rib but it isn't real tastey. if you go by portion size alone they get 5 stars but the meal is generic. they need some updating in the kitchen and decor.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nice atmosphere, and the food is excellent! The portions are much BIGGER than they state in the menu too.When toy order the 8 oz. strip steak, you will get at least a 14 oz! Very nice place to go!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliffs Country Inn Malta New York also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing