We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldfashioned time for family and friends”

Malta Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Malta
Attraction details
Albany, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Oldfashioned time for family and friends”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A nice way to spend a summer evening. Recommend going early if you plan to eat. Wish they had a better set up to get food as you are covered in smokey grease when you go into the building to order the food (and wait in line). That said - the movies are current and the kids enjoy doing something different.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
watervliet, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome place for the entire family.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We go here multiple times each year. Each time the entire family has enjoyed themselves. They normally have an area up in front of the big screen that has bouncy bounce rides, a Frisbee area and a place for the kids to run around and enjoy themselves.

Prices are more then reasonable and well worth your time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jfredettejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This used to be one of maybe 20 drive ins in the area, Only a couple remain, and they try to make it family-friendly and fun. Cheap way to see a double-feature, and the snack bar is well-stocked.

Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great Value”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have a two year old and a five year old, which get in for free so we pay only $18 to see not one, but two movies in the comfort of our own vehicle.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lhaun1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I just wish I had brought my pajamas!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Got half price admission via a special offer. It was the first time I'd been to a drive-in in 40 years, (and the first time for my wife, period.) I actually thought we were gonna have to take a speaker off the pole and hang it in the side window !!
I was worried about the negative reviews here, but I guess it's just a matter of luck whether the people around you are inconsiderate jerks or not, and in this case, we lucked out. The ticket girl and the refreshment stand guy were both polite & helpful. AND, we managed to snag a spot in the first row, which was cool. I really liked the nostalgic public service announcements before the movie started. The only thing missing were Bugs Bunny cartoons...
I understand that starting next year, Hollywood is no longer distributing movies in reel format, and will go all-digital from now on. Which sucks for many drive-ins who can't afford the equipment upgrades, and may therefore be forced to close. Hope that doesn't happen to this place. Anyway, we had a great time. If they're open next summer, I look forward to coming back. And maybe I'll wear my PJ's next time :-D

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malta Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Malta Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing