We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, efficient, friendly service.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Malone
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at Malone Econo Lodge. Everyone, Mr. and Mrs. Patel, Susan and the rest of the staff, are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and quiet . . . breakfast is always ready on time. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I base allot on what I think about a nights stay by sensory interpretation. I have stayed here several times in different rooms in the last 6 months. I'm biggest on smell. It has always smelled clean, not covered up but clean. That had been a turnoff in other hotels. Management has always been helpful and friendly. I get the distinct impression that the owner takes pride in how the experience is and continues to work toward improving it. Its more than just the bottom line. I will always stay here when I'm in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSpringer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good last stop before Canadian border enroute to Cornwall crossing. Rear building is recommended for quiet experience. Have stayed on several occasions and never disappointed, even though arrivals have always been late, reception has been friendly and courteous as opposed to other establishments that we have used in Malone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My teenage daughter and I spent a night here on a recent trip to NY. The reception staff/proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Because the property is in three units, a map would have been useful. As it was, we only went to the wrong building once before sorting things out. The non-smoking double bed room was clean, and comfortable, and well-stocked with coffee, bathroom amenities etc. The property is somewhat dated (mid 80's?). but well maintained.

Continental breakfast, was barely adequate, with some fresh fruit, toast, juice coffee etc.

Overall, good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiggs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Malone Econo Lodge several times in the past few months, its always clean,comfortable and quiet. I also pay a very fair price, the prices for the rooms do not seem to go up and down depending on the day of the week, a holiday, or if there is something going on in the area. I cannot understand why travelers in the area would stay any other place.I consider this Econo Lodge to be my home away from home when I travel to Malone. The owner is always pleasant and always available to answer any questions, and greets everyone as they enter his Econo Lodge.
I would strongly suggest that if you are in the area, stay at this Econo Lodge, you will be back.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several of the rooms and i like the rooms that do not face the road, the rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Considering that this is an Econolodge, they scored top notch in my book. I was greeted at reception by the owner with a hearty HELLO and right away I was made to feel welcome. The Reception area is small almost tiny with the breakfast area in the same area...but you don't have to be big to be good.

VERY ample parking and we were given a room in building 3. We (Wife and 2 children) were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. I stayed at a Fairmont in Toronto that was the same size. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were VERY comfortable. No dipping or bad springs...my wife had a bad back and can smell a poor mattress at 10 meters and she slept sound and awoke without any pain!

Bathroom was clean, large and well lit.

The room had a fridge and a Mircowave that proved very practical.

Continental Breakfast is included. It is a small selection or breads, cereal, fruits and juices. Could it have been bigger/better? Sure it could have, but it is included in the price and we all left bellies full and satisfied.

All the staff were exceptional, good natured and friendly. I would have liked to have stayed longer than just one night. Should I return to Malone, I would not hesitate in reserving this property.

FYI, some of the rooms are Motel style and I am sure were smaller. We have a standard room with 2 double beds.

Congrats guys, your hotel could compete with a Holiday Inn or any 3 star and hold it's own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_the_travel_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We made a trip to the north country and decided to stay at the EconoLodge after pricing the other area hotels.For the price it was very surprising how nice and clean the rooms were and how spacious also. For an older hotel it is well maintained,the staff was very pleasant,courteous.and helpful with many suggestions on where to eat and shop while we were here for 4 days.I would recommend giving this hotel a second look and be a return guest like we plan on being.

Room Tip: Either the building down in the back or the building with the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malone
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#5 of 5 in Malone
33 reviews
18.5 mi away
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Malone
2.8 mi away
Dreamland Motel
Dreamland Motel
#3 of 5 in Malone
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 227 W Main St, Malone, NY 12953-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Malone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Malone
Price Range: $47 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is an economy motel chain based in the United States and Canada. Econo Lodge is the second-largest brand in the Choice Hotels system. It aims to provide affordable rooms to budget travelers. The properties contain a minimum of 40 guest rooms and are often located near highways or highway access. The Econo Lodge brand provides the hotel experience that simplifies travel—an easy stop on the road where you can find a great place to stay. And all at a great rate, too. We know you want a clean, comfortable room and a good night’s rest with a well-known brand you can trust. And that’s what Econo Lodge hotels deliver. We hope you enjoy your stay with us :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malone
Econo Lodge Malone
Malone Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing