We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough cots or blankets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Malone
Certificate of Excellence
Malone, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not enough cots or blankets”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in a king executive suit during Presidents weekend. The room was very nice, fairly clean and had a good amount of space for 5 of us who stayed. The breakfast was also really good, plenty of food, it was hot and fresh and had a good variety. However there were several issues with our stay: When we booked we had asked for a cot only to find on check in that they may not have enough cots available. In the end we got a blow up mattress and later found out that they had such a demand for cots this weekend that they went out and bought 10 blow up mattresses. We also found out that the hotel usually only has 2 cots for the whole place and that the owners will not spend the money to buy anymore. Must be the same thing applies to blankets because we were given 2 blankets for our room, when we asked for another for the extra bed that we finally got we were told there were no extras and were given one of the decorative ones. Needless to say we had some very cold nights. The garbage in our room hadn't been emptied from the previous guest and the worker in the breakfast room sprayed windex on the table right next to us while we were eating. Most of the workers were friendly but you could tell the ones at the front desk were frustrated by the problems with the rooms that they could not change because of the poor management. My recommendation is to only stay here during quiet times of the year, they cannot handle a full house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time in providing a TripAdvisor review of our hotel. I am sorry to see that you had a few bad experiences and appreciate the chance to address your concerns. President’s day weekend was a very busy weekend that our hotel team will definitely learn from. Unfortunately, we could not accommodate the huge demand for cots – under normal circumstances we have 3 available and a fair number of air mattresses. As you noted we did purchase additional Air mattresses as the ability to get a few more cots locally on short notice is very limited. I can understand how getting an air mattress vs a cot may have been a poor start to your experience. Please accept my apology as it was simply a matter of circumstance that I take full responsibility for. We do truly want to exceed our guests expectations.

I am glad that you found your room nice and big enough to accommodate your party. Also, that the breakfast was really good and plentiful. Our staff loves to hear good things as well as receive constructive feedback. I will take each of your additional comments and address them with our staff to make sure that in the future we have a game plan to take better care of our guests and exceed expectations especially on busy weekends. Thank you for your feedback.

Take care,

Michael Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    43
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
30
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

What's not to like. This is a newer HIE. It's exceptionally clean and rooms were big and comfortable. The wifi was fast. We were on the 3rd floor with a room facing the back and it was very quiet thankfully. There is a restaurant in front which we received 10% off coupon at check in. They had a few good microbrews but the food was just mediocre. Breakfast was good with lots of choices and plenty stocked. If in the area we will stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohiojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks OhioJo for your review! We really appreciate your comments! Also it was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your quiet room, complimentary wifi service & time at Mo's. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Take care,

-Michael Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Only place to stay in Malone, great room and friendly staff. Here skiing at Titus for three days. Had a great time and the hotel was excellent, clean and modern. We will be back. They package skiing and hotel as well the pub is great too

Room Tip: Ask for the suites 203,303 and so on. Very large and roomy and very quiet. Well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioSkifreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks OntarioSkifreak for you excellent review! We really appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you soon. The 2013-3014 Ski season at Titus Mountain has been awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. The hot tub and pool were very welcoming - especially considering it was a frosty 9 degrees,

The foyer area is open and has the breakfast area attached. The rooms were clean - and as most holiday inn's had the standard bedding. Clean linens and standard toiletries.

The wi-fi could have been a bit faster - but as every frequent traveler knows - you never know what you will get with wifi.

I have been looking at the tv's now - as I travel with an Apple TV. It needs a hdmi connection available on the tv to use it. I was a bit nervous, but to my enjoyment the flat screen tv did have one, and it worked well.

I would return.

The rates were a little high for a gold ihg member - but this is close to a ski mountain, and I was here during peak ski time, so they could probably charge what they want.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you Michael W. for your TripAdvisor review! I appreciate your thorough depiction of our hotel - it should prove extremely helpful for other readers. Also, glad that you were able to use your Apple TV while staying with us! As an added benefit, we have plans to upgrade our wireless service throughout the hotel to provide an increase in bandwidth for our guests. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

-Michael Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bells rapids
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is our third year in a row that we stay at the hotel during Christmas week and we love it! Friendly staff, nice amenities - it feels like a home-away-from-home! Thanks to Michael and all the staff. To the owners - Monette family and others - I know great service starts at the top, so thank you for showing the way. Aleks Gusev, Avantura Group Leader, Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleks g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you Aleks G. for your Tripadvisor review! We are very happy to have hosted the Avantura Ski group and look forward to your next stay with us. Thanks for the kind words as it really means a lot to our management & ownership team to be able to share your sentiments with our staff both here and at Titus Mountain. We will see you soon!

Take care,

-Michael Doran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel was very central and close to Titus Mountain. It is also very well maintained & clean. Highly recommend staying at this hotel. They have a great pool and hot tub area as well. I also recommend going to the Akwesasne casino which is only 30 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are glad that you enjoyed our local area attractions and Pool/Hot Tub area. In addition to our Titus Mountain Ski packages, we also have excellent golf packages for the summer. Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Have stayed in multiple motels in Malone and this seems to be the newest and nicest one in the area. The good thing about this hotel is that being part of a chain, you know what to expect and the hotel delivers and meets those expectations, Rooms were clean, kids really enjoyed the pool area and would say that this is geared to families as there were lots of kids and no one seemed to mind the increased activity level from the kids. Some of the other motels in the area are more hit or miss and this location provided good value and amenities for the price we paid. Staff was helpful and provided lots of suggestions for things to do in the area. Would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it if you are in the Malone area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malone
18.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Hogansburg
130 reviews
18.1 mi away
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
24.4 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#4 of 5 in Malone
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Malone
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 5 in Malone
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
Address: 3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953-4713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Malone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Malone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Malone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing