We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Malone
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Spent May 27 and 28 at this outstanding hotel. We discovered it last year on a golf trip to the outstanding Malone Golf Course. We had gone to Malone regularly in the past but had stopped due to the lack of quality accommodation in the area. The Holiday Inn is exactly what the area needed. The quality of the room and customer service are top notch. We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express and the complimentary breakfast offered here is by far the best we've had. Monday night there was a manager's reception in the lobby which was a great idea. Some nice snacks and finger food was offered and we got to shoot the breeze with the hotel GM. Was a nice way to be greeted.

Moe's restaurant across the parking lot is ideal as you don't need to worry about driving if you have had a drink. They had some nice dinners specials that some of our group ordered and they were quite happy with them.

If you are heading to Malone to golf in summer or ski in winter this is the place to stay. If you are a golfer and have not yet played the Malone course you should try to get there. The hotel also has golf packages available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the facility away from the elevators and ice machines are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roaming_gnome999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! Our staff is very pleased that your stay was positive & glad you enjoyed your Golfing at the Malone Golf Club. It was very nice getting to know you & many of our guests through the Manager Reception we held in our lobby. We have scheduled a few more coming soon as an ongoing monthly event. Thanks again for sharing your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to serving you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
27
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I travel here often on business. This trip, I discovered a new "favorite" room! It's spacious and the layout is perfect--a king-sized bed with a comfy chair placed where it's easy to see the TV, and a desk. Although there aren't pay movies available, there is a nice selection of HD channels plus HBO. You have to be sure to request a microwave and refrigerator when you make your reservation (too bad they're not available in every room). The rooms are always clean and the staff could not be more helpful. The pool area also has a large hot tub. There is a family-friendly pub-type restaurant next door. I won't stay anywhere else in Malone!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post reviews of our property! We enjoy guest feedback. Thanks for sharing such positive comments. Your satisfaction continues to be our priority! There is Exciting news to share with you also. Coming within the next few weeks - Refrigerators will be standard in all of our Queen rooms in addition to our current units in our Suites. We have added these 34 refrigerator units in response to requests from our guests! Thanks for choosing us ! If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here while on a mini-vacation to the Adirondack State Park. The hotel is new with the same layout as other Holiday Inn Express properties we have used in New York State. Located on Route 11 just up the hill from the main Malone intersection, it is close to local malls, the small Malone-Dufort Airport and a large Wal-Mart. Mo’s Pub & Grill is out front. We walked over and ate there (taco salad and rib eye steak) and tasted some local beers. Good eats at reasonable prices. Also shopped at a recreation supply outlet called International Border Company (on the other side of that main Malone intersection) where they have a big selection of seasonal sports and work gear -- Columbia, North Face, Carhart, Woolrich clothing (on sale) plus footwear, accessories and even kayaks.
We stayed in room 217 which faced the rear of the hotel and overlooked farm fields. Very quiet. Slept well. The room was clean with a brown and beige color scheme and white linens/towels. Each queen bed had four pillows – two firm and two soft. The hotel has a row of parking out front plus lots more spaces in the back. The included hot breakfast buffet off the lobby offered cheese omelette, sausage, biscuits & gravy, pancakes, yogurt, juices, coffee and wonderful warm, gooey cinnamon buns. The local paper was free at Reception along with some fresh chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon. We were expecting a pleasant stay and that is what we got. No complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your very detailed review of our property & area attractions! The Malone area definately has many activities to explore, both in Winter(from Skiing@ Titus Mtn, & the Casino) to summer(Excellent Golfing, & more)! We're glad that you stayed with us & have enjoyed our hotel! We look forward to seeing you again soon - thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently stayed in HI Express Malone for business and appreciated the service & convenience to other work places/clients in the North Country. Staff is very diligent to respond, particularly late night requests. Especially like the adjacent restaurant - Mo's, again convenient (great for meetings). I'll be back for pleasure as there is great skiing in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy all of the things the hotel and the area has to offer. We did just finish a great ski season so I hope you are able to come next year and enjoy Titus Mountain. We offer great ski packages that you can call us about when you are ready to come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly when on business. This is the first time that there were some glitches. I have a favorite room on the 4th floor. This time, I lugged some of my bags up there, only to find that the elevator was broken. As the hotel staff could not guarantee that it would be fixed by the next day, I was offered a room on the first floor, which I took. The staff did offer to help me with my bags. I didn't like the layout of this room. The flat screen TV doesn't turn towards the table and chairs in the corner of the room, so one can only view the television from the beds. A light bulb was burned out in the bathroom (i reported it, and it was fixed the following day). At breakfast the first day, there were no little milk cartons left, and none would be available until the next day. So, I hope this doesn't portend that this little gem of a hotel is starting its decline. We will see!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Nancy for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry that this past stay did not live up to the previous stays as well as the level of service that the entire team works daily on providing. The elevator was down and it was frustrating for all of us, we tried our best to work with the situation as well as get the elevators fixed as quickly as possible. The elevator is all repaired now thankfully. I will look into your comments about the TV not being able to be viewed from the seating area to see what we can do to make that comfortable to future guests in the room. I am also sorry we were out of the 1/2 pints of milk, we do an order twice a week and rarely run out of things, I will look at our inventory levels to see if we need to increase them or if this was just a one time occurance after a busy event. We do appreciate your honest feedback and will take all of it to better serve our guests in the future. We look forward to your next visit to Malone and trust all will be as you have always experienced it to be and more !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an up-to-date hotel with clean, comfortable rooms that are relatively spacious. Check-in was quick and easy. The elevator is a bit slow, but it's a minor issue. One of our key cards did not function, resulting in a lock-out and a trip to the front desk. The bathroom was spotless and had good water pressure, even on the fourth floor. The king size bed was firm and quite comfortable. In-room wi-fi worked but the signal was marginal. The television was a 32 inch flat screen that operates from a cable box. There are a lot of channels, including all the HBO east coast feeds, with many in HD. The guide, however, can be a challenge and takes a bit of effort to figure out. The pool area is exceptional, and there is a very large hot tub. The fitness room is typically small but well equipped. The breakfast room is relatively spacious and has the usual motel fare - cereal, yogurt, fruit, assorted danish, and toast/bagels. There is a pancake machine and hot scrambled eggs & bacon, though they are likely pre-packaged. All-in-all a decent breakfast, though not great. This is probably the most expensive hotel in Malone, but it's actually a very reasonable rate, all things considered. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like to keep an eye on your car, get a room on the back side and park out back. Front parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgrchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you BGRCHIP for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It was very detailed and extremely helpful to all who will read it. Our entire staff enjoys reading the feedback on the hotel that our guests leave. We look forward to your next stay at the hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a night here, very CLEAN and the kids loved the pool. The breakfast was very good and a lot to choose from. My kids loved the Pancake machine. Comfortable beds, only thing is there was not a crib available , the place was very busy. My key cards wouldn't work for anything bu my door, which wasn't that big of a deal overall very nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry_Hammond12953, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you LOVEBALANCE for leaving a review on our hotel. I am glad that your family enjoyed the pancake maker and the pool. We are very proud of our large spacious pool house and it gets alot of use and praise from our guests. I am sorry that we were not able to provide a crib during your stay. The next time you are traveling to the area please feel free to contact the hotel directly in advance to reserve that. We rarely have all of our cribs in use at one time, but obviously this did occur during your stay at the hotel. I am sorry we were unable to accomidate your request. We looking forward to serving you and your family on your next visit to Malone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malone
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#5 of 5 in Malone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
18.2 mi away
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
18.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hogansburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Malone
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Malone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
Address: 3351 State Route 11, Malone, NY 12953-4713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Malone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Malone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Malone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing