We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food but pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rick Seafood

Rick Seafood
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Mahopac
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clark Place
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

enjoy the atmosphere and the food is delicious and the take out has some very interesting choices, different than the usual take out but expect to pay a little more

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank gerrykron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, N.Y., United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Seafood!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The seafood is very fresh and you can select your own sauce for any of the fish dishes! Large selection and reasonably priced! Casual setting..can bring your own wine and there's NO corking fee!!!! And it's close by ourt home..maybe a 12 minute trip!!! Doesn't get much better than this!!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Seek it out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've eaten at Rick's MANY times and have never been disappointed. Most often, I try to do a tapas type of thing and order several appetizers. The fish is fresh, as Rick's is also a fish market and you can see the selections in the refrigerated cases in the store. Prices are very reasonable. It is a BYOB place and there is a liquor store RIGHT NEXT TO IT, so that is never a problem. I've never been charged corkage, so i don't know if one applies. I seem to recall a mention of it on the menu. Le Bernadin it's not, but in the area, you won't find a place with fresher fish.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 65Pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Casual dining in a cosy environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Party of four that enjoyed starters of New England clam chowder,escargots, mushrooms stuffed with crab & clams. Mains of scallops, cajun salmon, seafood pasta & trout stuffed with crab (trout cooked a tad too much and therefore a liitle dry but still very tasty).
Total bill including tax & tip $156.00 which is very reasonable for 4 people and a great bonus that you can bring your own wine. (Check your bill carefully as we were charged for 2 coffees & 3 beers that we did not have, we considered it an honest mistake as they were quite busy)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenGrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't let the casual look fool you...Best seafood around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Almost hidden in a small strip mall, Rick's Seafood doubles as a casual restaurant and fish market. It offeres several tables for service in its small and casual restaurant. The seafood is fresh and incredibly prepared. I have had the escargot - outside of NYC, it is the best I've eaten. It is a great place for a summer-time meal after spending the day on the beach.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rick Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing