We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be Back for Seconds”

The Olde Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Will be Back for Seconds”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Heard about this place so much by the locals,thought we'd give it a try. You get in the BBQ spirit as soon as you drive up to the place, as the SMOKERS can be seen from the parking lot,and the scent of BBQ gets to you as soon as you get out of your car. The Brisket-Pulled Pork BBQ combo sandwich is well worth the money. Food is priced fairly and portions are not skimpy.
We went for lunch but will return for Supper which starts at 4:00 as the luncheon menu is quite abit smaller than the later menu. If you want RIBS etc. Then you have to go after 4:00 .
We were also told that they have entertainment on Friday Nights. See you there !!!
Great for couples,family,friends,busioness,solo

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massena
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Olde Smokehouse great place”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I went to The Olde Smokehouse with a group from work last week and had a great BBQ dinner. I ordered the baby back ribs and they were GREAT. There was more meat on the ribs than I had ever seen at a BBQ resturant. The meat just about fell off the bones and was great tasting. The sauce was mild and very very savory. I would highly recommend this resturant, reservations are needed on weekends as the word is out as to how good the place is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is about the best BBQ'd pulled pork that I have ever had. The BBQ'd brisket was outstanding as well. The house BBQ sauce is fantastic. This place is very clean and has a great atmosphere. A little small but that adds to the uniqueness of it. Prices are reasonable. Service was great. I would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“love the barbecued pork”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Real barbecue and smoked meats. I personally like the chicken and biscuits and the best corn bread I have ever had. Glad to hear they got rid of the picnic tables cause they were hard to sit at.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelcrazy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food good, service incredibly slow.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Olde Smokehouse offers up some level of authentic BBQ that is un-common in the North Country and the atmosphere is fun. The acoustics are difficult for the hearing impaired, due to the open floor plan, but mostly this average rating which was generous based on our last 3 experiences is due to the extremely slow service and seeming disregard for the possibility of repeat business. We had reservations for 6:30pm for 8 people for dinner. Not a group comfortable waiting at the bar with hungry children among us. We were finally seated at 9pm after having been told our table would be ready in "just a few" multiple times (we had no idea they meant hours rather than minutes). We were finally served at nearly 10pm; too tired to eat. It was our last visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Smokehouse also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Canton, St. Lawrence County
 
Madrid, St. Lawrence County
Madrid, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to The Olde Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing