We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Sledding Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Certificate of Excellence
New York Mills, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Sledding Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

First Time overnight. Arrived in the dark. Easy to find on SR12; lighted entrance from hwy, large sign. Actual coords of the parking lot N43deg37.313min W075deg22.265min. HUGE parking lot for your truck n trailer. Or just pull up with your sled. Groomed trail leads from trail by road direclty to the parking lot. Super friendly staff, super clean large rooms (by North American Standards). Firm mattress. Good continental breakfast area. Little gift shop. Very accommodating. Due to the incoming storm we elected to not stay second night. Got refund no problem and permitted to leave truck/trailer in parking lot while we went out on the trails. Boondocks restaurant next door (excellent food/service). Definitely a great staging area if you wish to explore the trails in that area. Will stay here again in the future for sled staging area.

Room Tip: Had 103 (lower floor facing parking lot). If you don't like the sound of sledz starting up, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slednutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    72
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
117
57
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Made several trips upstate this past Fall and stayed here on multiple occasions. On initial inspection, the room is rather simple. You have the basic bed and bathroom set-up. What makes this place above average is that the rooms are exceptionally clean and the staff is incredibly friendly. They were always willing to help with questions or things needed. I actually looked forward to seeing the staff during my various visits. The cleaning staff was also extremely kind. Winters are hard, since you need to book at least 2 nights - but this is their busy time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We've been staying at the Edge at least once every winter for snowmobiling since it was built. It has retained the new look, the rooms and Great Room entrance are spotless and beautiful. So much so that we tend to spend more time in the hotel than we planned! The breakfast is a real attraction, and now even includes eggs/sausage to the make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, etc that is all included. The owners seem to improve something each time we visit. Great staff!

Room Tip: Choose the first floor if you don't want to lug your luggage up stairs to the second floor. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I was here with my daughter for a ski race at a local mountain . I was warned that you everyone who calls is told that "all of our regular rooms are booked but we have a jacuzzi suite available for $190 night". Sure enough, that's exactly what happened to me. Jacuzzi suite consists of a poorly decorated room with a jacuzzi in the middle of the floor . Snow mobiles sounding all night. This place is really for hard cite snow mobileers. I should have stayed in Utica and driven the extra miles .

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Edge from January 17 thru 19 for a snowmobiling outing. The service at the front desk was wonderful! They were informative and helpful. My 13 yr of daughter was also told that she should should try French Vanilla creamer in her hot chocolate, which is available along with coffee 24 hours a day. Needless to say she's hooked! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant, Boondocks, that sits at the entrance to the Edge parking lot. Boondocks was both fun and delicious. The snowmobile trails were accessible without trailering. Great place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessie526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We just got back from a ski package weekend. Nice lobby with a cozy gas fireplace and comfortable seating. Kudos to the housekeeping girls! The rooms were squeaky clean, towels plentiful, beds made, all without intruding. Desk staff seemed ill informed upon arrival when asked basic questions (knowing package details, or seeking answers). They neglected to inform us that reservations were needed for the package dinner certificate for Steak and Brew. Hotel wifi went down with no apparent follow up to repair. Breakfast bar was very popular. We enjoyed the waffles and all day coffee/tea/cocoa. Overall a good experience and we would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bennington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife has stayed here many times and I have joined her on several of these trips. The rooms are clean with all the amenities. The Breakfast buffet is well stocked. Everyone is friendly. A great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons Falls
9.3 mi away
The Lodge at Headwaters
The Lodge at Headwaters
#1 of 1 in Boonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
21.0 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
19.7 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices

Been to The Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge Hotel

Property: The Edge Hotel
Address: 3952 State Route 12, Lyons Falls, NY 13368-1919
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lyons Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beautiful Adirondack and Tug Hill regions is The Edge Hotel, one of Lewis County’s greatest treasures.Whether you are looking for an exciting weekend with the family or just a simple getaway for you and that special someone, this one of a kind retreat offers many unique characteristics that are sure to provide you with an experience unlike anything you have ever encountered. The charming Adirondack décor enhances the inviting atmosphere that instantly imparts a feeling of rest and relaxation, while the endless amenities and services offered put your mind at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Hotel Lyons Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing