We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much $$ for poor quality”
Review of The Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I was here with my daughter for a ski race at a local mountain . I was warned that you everyone who calls is told that "all of our regular rooms are booked but we have a jacuzzi suite available for $190 night". Sure enough, that's exactly what happened to me. Jacuzzi suite consists of a poorly decorated room with a jacuzzi in the middle of the floor . Snow mobiles sounding all night. This place is really for hard cite snow mobileers. I should have stayed in Utica and driven the extra miles .

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Edge from January 17 thru 19 for a snowmobiling outing. The service at the front desk was wonderful! They were informative and helpful. My 13 yr of daughter was also told that she should should try French Vanilla creamer in her hot chocolate, which is available along with coffee 24 hours a day. Needless to say she's hooked! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant, Boondocks, that sits at the entrance to the Edge parking lot. Boondocks was both fun and delicious. The snowmobile trails were accessible without trailering. Great place to stay!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jessie526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We just got back from a ski package weekend. Nice lobby with a cozy gas fireplace and comfortable seating. Kudos to the housekeeping girls! The rooms were squeaky clean, towels plentiful, beds made, all without intruding. Desk staff seemed ill informed upon arrival when asked basic questions (knowing package details, or seeking answers). They neglected to inform us that reservations were needed for the package dinner certificate for Steak and Brew. Hotel wifi went down with no apparent follow up to repair. Breakfast bar was very popular. We enjoyed the waffles and all day coffee/tea/cocoa. Overall a good experience and we would return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife has stayed here many times and I have joined her on several of these trips. The rooms are clean with all the amenities. The Breakfast buffet is well stocked. Everyone is friendly. A great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place is always great. The people who work there are always friendly, the boondocks restaurant is right up the hill which has great prime rib on Saturday night. My only complaint from this weekend was an odd humidity in the room that we couldn't get rid of. Other than that, stellar weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Can M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Simply put, What a Great Place. This gem is right in the middle of nowhere. Very clean and well appointed motel. As you enter you are met with a nice cozy rustic interior. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The continental breakfast is above most name hotels. Any of those offer Cinnamon Raisin toast? The lobby even has a small gift shop with many handmade crafts for sale. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend The Edge and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senchey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed while visiting family in the area and were pleased with the Edge. The atmosphere in the lobby and breakfast area is excellent - fireplace and a wooden beamed ceiling. Breakfast area (included) was excellent - self-serve waffles, eggs, sausage, etc... The rooms were standard fare, nothing special, but no complaints. The beds were firm for our taste, but everything was clean and basically comfortable. Free wi-fi is always a plus. It is a favorite spot for snowmobiling in the winter - it has easy access to the trails, but noise was not an issue in any way. Our car was literally the only vehicle in the parking lot that wasn't pulling a snowmobile trailer. Boondocks bar and restaurant next door is a good and convenient place to eat as well.

The only hesitation I have about The Edge is the deposit and cancellation policy seems harsh - there is a 5% fee for cancelling regardless of how much advance notice, and you lose a full nights deposit if you cancel within 48 hours of the stay. Rates are competitive for the area and quality of the facility.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons Falls
9.3 mi away
The Lodge at Headwaters
The Lodge at Headwaters
#1 of 1 in Boonville
186 reviews
19.7 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
203 reviews
21 mi away
Clarks Beach Motel
Clarks Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices

Been to The Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge Hotel

Address: 3952 State Route 12, Lyons Falls, NY 13368-1919
Location: United States > New York > Lyons Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lyons Falls
Price Range: $110 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the beautiful Adirondack and Tug Hill regions is The Edge Hotel, one of Lewis County’s greatest treasures.Whether you are looking for an exciting weekend with the family or just a simple getaway for you and that special someone, this one of a kind retreat offers many unique characteristics that are sure to provide you with an experience unlike anything you have ever encountered. The charming Adirondack décor enhances the inviting atmosphere that instantly imparts a feeling of rest and relaxation, while the endless amenities and services offered put your mind at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edge Hotel Lyons Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing