We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lynbrook
Ranked #1 of 2 Lynbrook B&B and Inns
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad breakfast”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

This hotel is very nicely appointed. The rooms are spacious and newly renovated with taste. Hallways are the same. However, the hotel is located in an area close to a railway track...(early morning noises), there is no restaurant within walking distance (problem of you don,t have a car).
The breakfast, usually fresh at other HIExpress... was recycled from the previous day: eggs and cinnamon buns were dried by being re-heated.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank josee19963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
64
28
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed here for four nights in Nov of 2008. Nice, very clean, good service. They even let us check in early since we came in on a red-eye flight and arrived many hours before the normal check in time.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Please get some catsup at the breakfast bar. My ONLY complaint.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jtroiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

The Holiday Inn Express-Lynbrook is a excellent addition to the South Shore of Long Island, an area that up until recently, hasn't had many good hotels. The property has been totally renovated from when it was the Sunrise Executive Inn. The rooms and facilities are all excellent. My only quibble is the variety offered for breakfast. I think there could be more cereals offered.
The location is excellent, being an easy train ride into NYC and easy to drive to, being right on Sunrise Hwy.
Would highly recommend to travelers looking for lodgings Nassau or Queens. The location is also convenient to Kennedy Airport, although those with early flights may want to stay closer to the airport.

  • Liked — newness or rooms & facilities
  • Disliked — noting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John_CNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The rooms and the hotel are very nice and clean. We stayed for 6 nights, and as Priority Club Members we were able to stay and book our Club nights and used AAA for the remaining nights. The beds are very comfy and the place is almost brand new. You will not go wrong here and the rates are very reasonable compared to other Hotels I checked before booking.
I am a very picky person and believe me I do not hesiate to walk into a room and walk back and cancel, you will not have to worry here.
Lisa at the front desk was very delightful and helpful. She helped us with info on the train station. She was the nicest of all the staff I dealt with.
My one complaint was with the breakfast area, the replenishment of Bagels and English Muffins was tight. I had to ask if they were going to put out anymore muffins ect and being that it was only 9:45 and the breakfast area was open till 11 that seems pretty early to stop replenishment. A breakfast bar should have fresh items and people should not have to ask since the cost is part of your nightly fee.
This is a CLEAN nice place to stay if you want easy access to the train into NYC. Also close to Jones Beach.

  • Liked — Spotlessly Cl;ean
  • Disliked — Breakfast Bar need work
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PatAlphaBeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

For some odd reason, Long Island is not busting with hotels - although there is some recent construction. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while visiting family in Rockville Centre, NY. The hotel is way more thn than you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

- The room was nice and the bathroom was very nice, with tile shower and granite counter-top on the vanity.
- There was a hairdryer and all of the things you'd expect from higher level hotels.
- Wireless nternet access was complimentary and reliable
- Free Am breakfast in large lounge. We actually used the lounge in the evening for takeout food with our local relatives
- Two blocks from annual fireworks show the 2nd weekend in July - great show!

Only negative is that because this is an older hotel they refurbished the elevators are slow and the service staff share the elevator with you. That said, it's only 3 stories tall and it's a tiny issue in comparison to the features.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dagsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

We stayed at the newly-opened (4 months) Holiday Inn Express while visiting family in Rockville Centre, NY. The hotel is very nicely appointed, and appears much more plush than you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Apparently, it is owned by the same group that manages the Rockville Centre Inn, but as a franchise for ICH group of hotels.

We'd had a less than optimal experience at the Rockville Centre Inn (lost reservation) in the past, but were pleased with the reception staff and the reservation system of the Holiday Inn Express.

The room was well-appointed, and the bathroom was very nice, with tile shower and granite counter-top on the vanity. There was a hairdryer and all of the things you'd expect from higher level hotels.

Internet access was complimentary, and was much appreciated. It was wireless as well, which was very convenient!

Nightly rates include free breakfast in the AM, with a reasonable selection of both hot and cold food. The highlights: good bagels, great cinnamon buns, wide selection of yogurt and cereal. The low-points: The hot sausage and hot "omelettes" were edible, but only so-so. The coffee was VERY watered down.

Overall, we were pleased, and will likely be staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Lynbrook again in the future.

  • Liked — Very "upscale" for a Holiday Inn Express
  • Disliked — "Wimpy" Coffee (but it was free!!)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank voorheesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynbrook
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
554 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rockville Centre Inn
Rockville Centre Inn
#3 of 4 in Rockville Centre
62 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Five Towns Inn
The Five Towns Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrence
85 reviews
5.9 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lynbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lynbrook

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lynbrook
Address: 1 Sunrise Hwy, Lynbrook, NY 11563-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Lynbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lynbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lynbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Lynbrook - Rockville Centre hotel is near New York City, JFK and LaGuardia Airports Our hotel, situated on the border of Lynbrook and Rockville Centre, New York, offers a relaxed, suburban setting along Long Island's south shore that is a short train ride away from the excitement of New York City. Guests who stay at our Rockville Centre hotel can take advantage of New York City and other nearby attractions such as Jones Beach and Long Beach, Jones Beach Theater, Belmont Park, Shea Stadium, the Freeport Nautical Mile and Bethpage State Park. Each is within easy driving distance of our Lynbrook, NY hotel. Corporate guests will appreciate that JFK Airport is seven miles away, and LaGuardia Airport is twelve miles from our Lynbrook hotel. The Lynbrook and Rockville Centre business districts, Molloy College, Hofstra University, Rexcorp Plaza and Doar Litigation Consulting are all within six miles of our choice hotel in Lynbrook-Rockville Centre, NY. Business travelers can also take advantage of the 24-hour business center with copy, mail and fax services. During your Lynbrook vacation or business trip, we encourage you to try our complimentary hot breakfast bar. We are also proud to offer complimentary access to the Bally Total Fitness Center while you stay at our Rockville Centre hotel. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our excellent Lynbrook hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lynbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lynbrook Hotel Lynbrook
Holiday Inn Lynbrook
Lynbrook Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing