We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey lunch”
Review of Stillwater Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stillwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowville
n,y,
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“pricey lunch”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

we stopped in one afternoon for lunch in our travels,the steak sandwich was filling and good , the ham & cheese sandwich was ok, I had a soft drink and my husband had a ice tea , the service wasn"t that great and there was only one other couple there. Should this have added up to a forty dollar lunch, probably not.....lesson learned, there was a bright spot, nice sceneary

Room Tip: Don't Order Lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CAVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I were on out way to Prince Edward county in Canada from New York City. As usual, we hadn't made reservations for where we would stay overnight to break up the seemingly endless drive. It was getting dark and we were extremely hungry and tired.

I got on Google and saw great reviews for the Stillwater, As soon as Marion got on the phone I knew we were going to have fun. She's got a great personality, and is an attraction in herself. It was quite late but I asked if she could put together some cold cuts, or anything. She ended up serving us a wonderful dinner, all homemade to boot.

Our room was very comfortable. In fact I slept better than I usually do.

I would absolutely visit again, but maybe I'll make a reservation next time. We've recommended Stillwater motel to lots of our friend. I can recommend it to you as we'll.

Deborah Berk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Love this place. The owners are wonderful and they will treat you like family . Beautiful setting, good people. Reasonable room rates. You cant ask for more. Stillwater lake is peaceful and quiet and teaming with wildlife. Bring your boat or kayak to launch or just hang out on the deck. Ive stayed two years in a row now. And plan on going back many more times.

Room Tip: rooms are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodman, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visit Stillwater Restaurant a couple of times during the summer months. The food is always very good and the owners very personable. We enjoy the humming birds that feed on feeders that are attached to the windows and on the deck. The atmosphere is very relaxing overlooking the water and watching the boats. They have a very good wine list and unlike other restaurants you can get any wine they have by the glass. I especially enjoy the Petite Petit. I ordered the pecan crusted salmon with maple syrup and my husband ordered the roast duck. We had homemade corn bread just out of the oven and many extras that you would not get just anywhere. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our group was chased from the Adirondack's Red Horse Trail due to incredible rainfall. Marian and Joe at the Stillwater took pity upon us and put us up in their wonderful establishment. The food is fantastic, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and reasonable. This incredible spot makes a great base camp to explore all the Stillwater Reservoir has to offer. Please go, and make sure you schedule time to hang out in the bar area and relax with Marian and Whitney. I'm going back again this fall and bringing my entire family. Can't wait.

Thanks Marian for taking care of "the boys".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMorenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Started our kayak camping trip from the Stillwater Hotel. You couldn't find better hosts than Marian and Joe. They made you feel you were visiting old friends, and were a wealth of information about the area. The food was excellent, the views, fantastic. I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tadam74811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland , NY USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife had visited the restaurant and bar at The Stillwater Hotel quite a few years ago, but it was my first time. We stayed overnight on 9/14 before going kayaking & camping on the lake. Accomodations were quite nice. Bar & restaurant also great. The best part, however, were Marian & Joe Romano , the owners and hosts. Great personalities, and a knack for making everyone feel at home. We'll be back !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowville
25.0 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
259 reviews
12.7 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
12.8 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stillwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stillwater Hotel

Property: Stillwater Hotel
Address: 2591 Stillwater Rd, Lowville, NY 13367
Location: United States > New York > Lowville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing