We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight at the end of the road . . .”
Review of Stillwater Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lowville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stillwater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delight at the end of the road . . .”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

For years I have been taking my son to a camp off of Stillwater Rd., and I always wondered what was at the end of it. Well, this year I found out. The Romanos, the people who run the place, are great hosts and the food is excellent. You definitely want to try the steak sandwich. In warm weather the deck is fun to eat on because there are lots of hummingbirds to keep you company. When eating on the inside, the table settings are quaint. I will leave it at that and let you be surprised. I ate lunch, dinner and breakfast there, in that order and enjoyed every meal. The hotel boasts modern accommodations, and for the Adirondacks they are. There is also wireless available in the common areas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MzVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tully, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A while back Adirondack Life magazine described Stillwater as the place in the Adirondacks that feels most like Land's End. Anyone who's ever been there should be able to relate to that statement. Whenever I visit there what impresses me most after the pavement ends as I travel that last 10 miles is how few signs of humanity there are. The woods are deep and they crowd the twisty dirt road that leads to Stillwater as if to say it doesn't belong there.

The little burg of Stillwater is literally at the end of the road. It's not even a full fledged burg really. Right smack in the center of things there is a big dirt parking lot - the defacto town square. It's the dropping off place for those traveling Stillwater reservoir by boat in the warmer months and by snowmobile during the winter which in those parts seems like most of the year. The reservoir overpowers everything else in the scene, but then there isn't much to overpower. There's a ranger station and a small general store that sells staples like bread and milk and beer, and ice cream and gas for $5.49 a gallon. There are a few camps. And, there's the Stillwater Hotel.

If the parking lot is Stillwater's town square, then surely the Stillwater Hotel situated on it's edge is the town hall. Folks gather here, and both locals and visitors mix and mix well thanks largely to the hospitality of innkeepers Marian and Joe Romano who couldn't be friendlier if they tried. It just comes naturally to them and in short order they make you feel as though you are rekindling an old friendship after being apart for years.

They have a few rooms, not at all fancy by today's standards, but they are well appointed and spotlessly clean, well kept and fairly priced. There is a bar with a game room and a juke box and there is a restaurant - a really good restaurant. Again, not too fancy, but more than fancy enough in decor and cuisine for those parts and the food is good, exceptionally good. In fact I had the best prime rib I've ever had anywhere, on a recent visit.

The best thing about the Stillwater Hotel is that it is there at the end of the road just as it has been since 1894. It's real Adirondack and although Marian and Joe are transplants they are as real Adirondack as Adirondack gets. Really good people, working really hard, but still enjoying life and it's simple pleasures like the fine art of conversation. For a lot of us wannabes Adirondack is a state of mind that tugs at us, calling us back year after year. Undoubtedly, there are those who visit Stillwater and wonder why they bothered to drive that 10 miles of dirt road; but there are others who like me, will drive that same 10 miles and realize they are right where they want to be, understanding they have discovered a uniquely special place at the end of the road in the wilderness. I've been returning to Stillwater since I was just a kid and no doubt I'll continue to return periodically, and to look forward to my next dose of Marian and Joe's hospitality at the Stillwater Hotel .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TLHLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We recently stayed in Stillwater and ate dinner two nights at the Hotel. Marian and Joe are great hosts and the food is excellent. We were seated immediately and chose to stay inside by a window where the view was good and it was fun to watch the hummingbirds. The first night we went for a full dinner and the second we just had sandwiches as we had a big lunch we were treated great for both dinners. We did not sample the desserts as we were filled with the meals. We shall return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Located on a quiet cove on the Stillwater Reservoir is a wonderful Hotel and restaurant owned and operated by Marian and Joe Romano. It is a place where locals and travelers come to get the latest news about what is going on in the area. The cuisine is extrordinary including the Best Prime Rib I ever had as well as fresh fish, steaks, pasta and for a lighter fare great burgers and sandwiches. They have a wonderful selection of wines and beers and a full bar serving cocktails. Their daily specials and soups realy tempt your tongue and tummy. The rooms are clean and comfortable and you can come and go to all the area attractions with ease. It is a place for all seasons with something to do for every age group. I find it is the perfect place for me to unwind and get away from my everyday cares amongst people who will soon become your friends

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank captainjoeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We love Stillwater! We usually visit a couple times a year (more if we could!) The accommodations are clean and comfortable, the food is delicious, too! Hanging out for a cocktail or two at the bar is the perfect way to cap off a glorious day in the Adirondacks.

Check out Stillwater on MartiniHunter.com, too.

Room Tip: Just talk to Marion, she'll hook you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

When we are snowmobiling in Old Forge we always look forward to making a trip to Stillwater Hotel. Marian and Joe a great hosts. Their homemade food is topshelf. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Four couples got to enjoy a wonderful weekend at Stillwater Motel in August of 2011. We've been here many times and will aways go back. Lots of upgrades have been made and all wonderful. Love the new beds. Great food our entire weekend. Can't wait to go back. Everyone needs to experience at least a weekend here at the Stillwater Motel. This is the only way to really experience the Adirondacks.

C. Fox from Oswego, NY

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowville
12.7 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
25.0 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
259 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
12.8 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stillwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stillwater Hotel

Property: Stillwater Hotel
Address: 2591 Stillwater Rd, Lowville, NY 13367
Location: United States > New York > Lowville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing