We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adirondack Hotel on Long Lake
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Sedona AZ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Old”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last weekendin the apartment, was not expecting much from the lack of website pictures and for a very good reason. The place is old and so are all the fixtures broken mirrors, lack of lighting fea ridden stuffed black bear in lobby! Old is the best way to describe it and don't sit on the stuffed chairs they have loose covers on them to hide what's underneath. Couldn't see out of one window for the spider web. I think this is just a place people stop at on their way through!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhodesianridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
15
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have eaten at the hotel many times over the years when visiting Long Lake at least once a year. But never stayed there.
They do have a noisy bar and I think many of the complaints I have read from other members here on trip advisor are probably on point. It would be awfully hot without a/c on the upper floors.

The food is always good. I had the pork medallions. Very nicely done. Friends had scallops, fish sandwich, and burger. Everyone was fine with their food. Service was very good. waiter did a nice job, pleasant and attentive. They do give a full glass of wine ( most restaurants only fill the glass half full!)

I would love to see the hotel improved upon and updated a bit. Looking a bit worn for wear in the lobby area.

Long Lake is a lovely little town and the views are gorgeous. there are other places to stay that would be better. Don't let your experience staying in the hotel reflect upon Long lake as a whole.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northernnellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked a last minute trip over the 4th of July. We needed to be in the Long Lake area and this was all that was available to us. Even with the holiday period, I'm shocked at what they charge for the miserable accommodations you get $95/night). The only room left for us was a closet sized room with 2 twin beds and a shared bath in the hall. It is on the 3rd floor and no air conditioning so you can imagine how hot it was given that they were experiencing warmer (and muggier) than usual temps. There is a ceiling fan but it is not adequate. The second night we had to request a box fan that we put into the open window for some relief and, while effective, it was like sleeping right next to a jet engine. However, this is probably beneficial for drowning out the noise of the rowdy clientele they seem to attract. We were out early on the 5th (4am) for a hiking trip and we actually encountered several people literally staggering up the steps having just come in from their night of drinking. Apparently, that's all there is to do in this place! Each night it was rowdy drunkards hanging out and each morning we awoke to find empty beer bottles, cans, glasses, etc. strewn all over the first and second floor porches. The hotel staff must retire to their own homes pretty early because there is no one around to rein any of these people in! You have no choice but to leave your window open at night but you can't sleep because of all the outside noise. The food in the restaurant is marginal at best and they need to get a handle on the bug situation! Much of the staff acts as if they're doing you a favor when you ask for help, like getting the WiFi to work and answering questions. I've heard the hotel is for sale and I hope someone buys it and puts some $$$ into it. This place deserves better than the disrepair and neglect it's fallen into.

Room Tip: Here's a tip for a good room: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvMyVespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We ended up at the Hotel unexpectedly after we we needed a rest from camping. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and a good price. Be warned some rooms have a shared bath and the noise from the bar and restaurant make it hard to get to sleep early. That said, the location is absolutely perfect being across the street from an amazing public beach on the lake, a well-stocked grocery store where you can buy lunch, a small breakfast stand, and next door to a canoe/kayak rental. We would definitely return again and bring earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've wanted to stay here for so long and got the chance when relatives visited from the UK. We had the apartment! It was perfect for the six of us. (Four adults, two children). We brought our own breakfast foods and were able to enjoy a relaxing morning.

This hotel is not for those looking for spas and high end finishes. This is a basic hotel. What is fantastic is the view! We sat on the second story veranda and enjoyed the sun set. Even though this hotel is right on the road, it was very quiet.

As for dinner, we had the BBQ which is on offer Wednesdays and Saturdays in the summer. It was delish! My boys had a pizza which they enjoyed! And you should try the garlic fries! YUMMY!

The hotel was spotless! From the windows to the baseboards, it was clean! The porch was mopped in the morning! A perfect place to have some coffee!!!!

All in all, if you like quirky, interesting places with history, this is a great place!

Room Tip: There is no pool, but the beach and air service are across the street with a grocery store nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyto2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Luzerne, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first time at the Adirondack Hotel we sat down to eat dinner. As we looked over the menu, my boyfriend decided to order the Grilled Seafood Salad and I ordered the Short Rib entree. When our waiter came to take our order our waiter returned to let us know that they were out of scallops so my b/f decided to order what I had... wrong choice! It was not what we had expected. The short ribs were just shredded meat over risotto which was mush. Our meal was ready in 5 minutes (which we thought was odd) and after taking a bite of it, it was lukewarm. We prob. should have sent it back but were were hungry after a long ride on the motorcycle! We were quite disappointed or maybe it was just a bad menu choice. Maybe this item should be removed from the menu BUT we will give this restaurant another try when we are back in the area.. maybe just stick to burgers!

Room Tip: we did not stay in a room.. just passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFlower12846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We normally camp while in the Adirondacks but since we are not winter campers we decided to stay here this past Saturday night. Please check with the staff prior to booking your room as too wether not not they have a band. While our dinner was really good (we had a Cobb salad and pizza) our room was not. We stayed in the suite on the second floor (at $125 for the night) but could not get to sleep until after 2am. This suite is located directly above the bar and the band played until 2am. I would never have booked this room had I known this beforehand. We felt ripped off due to this and I cannot in good faith make a recommendation for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robinwsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Lake
24.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
40 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
161 reviews
24.2 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adirondack Hotel on Long Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adirondack Hotel on Long Lake

Property: Adirondack Hotel on Long Lake
Address: 1245 Main St, PO Box 355, Long Lake, NY 12847-2201
Location: United States > New York > Long Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing