We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Point is a GEM!!!”
Review of Sandy Point Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Long Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Point Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Manlius, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sandy Point is a GEM!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have been staying at the Sandy Point Motel for a number of years. It is the only motel I choose when traveling to the Long Lake area. When it was sold to the new owner Dave, I wondered if it would be the same fantastic place I'd always visited...It is even better!! The rooms are inviting and the view of the lake from your screened porch cannot be beat. Dave has been making improvements to the motel and his attention to detail is superb. No doubt about it...The Sandy Point Motel is THE place to stay in Long Lake!
Leigh Ann T. Manlius, NY

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyPointMotel, Owner at Sandy Point Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Leigh Ann, Always great to have you and your mom staying with us for your visits to the Adirondacks, have some plans for some additional updates this coming spring and hope to see you next spring. Enjoy your holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
44
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is by far, the cleanest Motel I have ever stayed in. The Beach and Boat Dock are spotless. Great access to all that the Long Lake area has to offer. The view is breathtaking. Very quiet at night even though they were completely booked when we stayed. Owner and staff go above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect. This attitude seems to be contagious and overflows to all who stay there. Everyone is very friendly and considerate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyPointMotel, Owner at Sandy Point Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and the great review! We have a great team at "Sandy Point" that do an outstanding job and reviews like yours encourage each one of us to strive to improve the experience for all of guest but those that return year after year as well as the first time visitor. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Adirondacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed three very pleasant nights at the Sandy Point Motel. My husband and I own a B&B in the Cooperstown area and "escaped" our own tourists to become tourists in Long Lake at the end of our busy season. Our room was clean, had all the amenities we needed and best of all, had it's own private screened in porch that overlooked the lake. The perfect place to relax with a glass of wine and listen for the Loons. David was a welcoming, gracious and informative host. We will definitely return which to us is the highest compliment.

Room Tip: There is no cell service for Verizon. We were able to pick it up in Blue Mountain Lake and Indian L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySaraCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyPointMotel, Owner at Sandy Point Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello to the Gates family. A bit tardy in my responses this fall I do apologize but projects and season closing has kept me more than busy. Your review and comment with interest to return certainly is the highest compliment and hope to see you next season. note: Verizon was working on the cell tower this fall and is promising service in Long Lake very soon which will compliment the great service we currently have from AT&T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-mond
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having just returned from a three-week vacation across New England and the Adirondacks, this motel and its surroundings have definitely made one of our best memories ever. The superb views over the lake, the cleanliness of the room, the nice private beach and the hospitality of the owner are all outstanding. Thank you David for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabi_travel_tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyPointMotel, Owner at Sandy Point Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are glad you and your entire family enjoyed your brief stay this past summer in Long Lake and at "Sandy Point". If you visit the Adirondacks again please pay us a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our first stay at Sandy Point Motel and we stayed 4 nights in an efficiency unit on the second floor. Please note I am rating this 5 stars for a motel expectancy, and not a resort expectancy. As motels go, you really can't expect anything more from this establishment.
Views are wonderful. After a busy day sight seeing or hiking, coming home to the enclosed porch to sip a glass of wine and look over the lake is ideal. The front of your unit faces the highway, but this gets very quiet overnight with just the occasional noisy truck. Not bothersome. The lake is busy with boats at times, not for serious swimmers but great for paddling. Private beach/shallow swimming area is roped off.
Internet access is 100% dependable. Two refrigerators in our efficiency unit very useful. One for cold drinks and another for food/ milk, etc. Loads of space.
The beds are okay. A little small, but in the efficiency unit you get two beds, so a couple can separate into two separate beds if required for comfortable sleeping.
The location is not easy walking distance to town for restaurants, although manageable, but the setting of this charming motel trumps this inconvenience. We have stayed at Motel Long Lake in the past and would choose Sandy Point for the view on porch, space in the unit and privacy.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have great views and request one at either end of the motel so that you are neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADK_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyPointMotel, Owner at Sandy Point Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We appreciate your stay with us this past summer and your thorough review. As an FYI all rooms have refrigerators and a few of our larger rooms have been upgraded with new beds either 1-Queen or 1-Queen & 1 Double bed. We hope to have you visit with us on one of future trips to Long Lake and the Adirondacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our second time here. There were some updates, queen bed and better access to in room Internet which made it even more enjoyable. Owner is very friendly and helpful. It is a great location in the mountains without getting wet during inevitable ADK weather! Easy to get to the museum in Blue Mountain and hiking trails. Lovely beach access for swimming and boating. Another wonderful visit. Looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: We like the upstairs for the view and enclosed prch. Ave not stayed downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainewny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyPointMotel, Owner at Sandy Point Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for visiting with us this past summer and feedback on some of the updates We strive to continually improve the customer experience and have plans for some additional improvements this coming spring. We hope to have visit with us again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have been staying at this place for many years now. It was always very clean and comfortable with the screened porches. We are going again soon and will meet the new owners. Hope they keep it as nice as the old ones did. We really love the view and the beach.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyPointMotel, Owner at Sandy Point Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and I do hope we met up your expectations. We have many long standing guests that return year after year, and not only do we appreciate them choosing "Sandy Point" but we feel as though they are part of the extended "Sandy Point" family, and hope to see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Lake
23.7 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.9 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Point Motel

Property: Sandy Point Motel
Address: 865 Deerland Rd, Route 30, Long Lake, NY 12847-2309
Location: United States > New York > Long Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Sandy Point Hotel Long Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing